We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pancake Shop

The Pancake Shop
216 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR 71901
+1 501-624-5720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 243 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Family Fare, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Family owned and operated since 1940, and serving breakfast exclusively, including pancakes, omelets, home-made sausage, hickory-smoked ham, French Toast, and fresh-squeezed orange juice, among other offerings. Featured in The New York Times , Southern Living, and Food Network Magazine. Historic Downtown Hot Springs, Arkansas.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The place is tiny, the furniture is old, but the food is in huge portions and so are the personalities who work there! My boyfriend and I loved our breakfast here, well worth the wait (which you can do in the shop next door, free coffee!) AND SOOOO GOOOOOD. Yes, go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pancakeshotsprings, General Manager at The Pancake Shop, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about your Pancake Shop dining experience. Come back and see us soon!!
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    101
    62
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very good food and great service. Lots of choices. Staff was nice and friendly, great location and cute diner experience. I had the apple pancakes and they were amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pancakeshotsprings, General Manager at The Pancake Shop, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Kristi, thanks for your kind words regarding your Pancake Shop experience. Come see us again next time in Hot Springs!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This little spot was unique to Hot Springs. Breakfast food was good with entrees of sausage & cheese omlet with a garnish of one sausage crumble on top. Cute!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pancakeshotsprings, General Manager at The Pancake Shop, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Gaye, thanks for your kind words regarding your Pancake Shop experience. Come back to see us again soon. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Your Ordinary Flapjacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

With a line out the door and down the street on any given morning, it's apparent that The Pancake Shop is going to be a great spot for breakfast.

There are no disappointments there. The servings are generous and delicious. The pancakes fill the plates and one can choose from an order of two or three. The eggs are cooked to perfection! Not an overcooked omlet in the house ... and the scrambled eggs are light, fluffy and very tasty, especially the ones made with onions.

If you are looking for lighter fare, the selections include fruits, juices, and cereal.

Not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pancakeshotsprings, General Manager at The Pancake Shop, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Patricia, thanks for your kind words in your review of the Pancake Shop. My husband and I have just moved back from NYC to our native state of AR. In Manhattan, try Comfort Diner at East 45th St bet 3rd and 2nd Ave. Our favorite. Intro yourself to Ira, the owner. And, intro to me next time at the Pancake Shop here in Hot Springs. I hope it's soon !!
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Historical restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a pancake restaurant, the do them fairly well. Eggs and such are secondary. The portions of ham are legendary. Hashbrowns, I said this was a pancake restaurant. No hash browns.

Place is very busy, but they get it done. I couldn't recommend eating breakfast here everyday while in town but if you are a fan of pancakes do yourself a favor and give it a try at least once.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pancakeshotsprings, General Manager at The Pancake Shop, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Andy & Sally - thanks for a couple of things - one, for coming to the Pancake Shop for breakfast. But, also for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate it and we use it to improve our business. Hope to see you guys again soon!!
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pancake Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Pancake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pancake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.