We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOOOG WAIT....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pancake Shop

The Pancake Shop
216 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR 71901
+1 501-624-5720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 235 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Family owned and operated since 1940, and serving breakfast exclusively, including pancakes, omelets, home-made sausage, hickory-smoked ham, French Toast, and fresh-squeezed orange juice, among other offerings. Featured in The New York Times , Southern Living, and Food Network Magazine. Historic Downtown Hot Springs, Arkansas.
De Witt, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOOOOG WAIT....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were looking for a place downtown to eat breakfast and wasn't sure where to go. Ashed a local shop keeper and she recommended The Pancake Shop. By the time we located the shop it was 10:30. They took our name at the door and told us we would have a 40 minute wait...closer to an hour. Noon by the time we got our bacon cheese omelet. The food and service were average. Not worth an hour wait. They open 6:00 to 12:45. Get there early if you have something planned to do before noon.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    90
    56
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Get there early to beat the lines.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

Food was good, but I wouldn't wait 20 min again. A little over priced, but the service was great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Big pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The pancakes hang off the side so they tell you to punch a hole in the midde so the syrup will go there instead of off the plate. Ha!

Everything was pretty standard but good.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good for Pancakes not for French toast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

It has the charm of small town diner, but does not deliver in food quality, price, or service. We ordered the French toast, ham steak, and buckwheat banana pancakes. The French toast was paper thin and the edges were hard. The ham steak was a nice thick cut but very salty and fatty. The buckwheat banana pancakes were very good. The pancakes hung off the side of the plate. My tip would be to eat the center of the pancakes first so that the syrup does not run all over the table. Service was ok. There is another pancake and waffle place across and up the street that just won a Southern Living Award. Next time, I would skip this pancake house and eat over there. FYI: They serve coke products from a can and take cash only.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, MS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We eat breakfast here whenever we are in town. Love the small town atmosphere and wonderful home cooked food! So good!! You have to try it! The ONLY downfall is the wait but you can't really say it is a downfall as you can put your name on the list and go into a few of the shops while you wait. Definitely worth the wait!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pancake Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Pancake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pancake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.