We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time's the charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pancake Shop

The Pancake Shop
216 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR 71901
+1 501-624-5720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 228 restaurants in Hot Springs
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Family owned and operated since 1940, and serving breakfast exclusively, including pancakes, omelets, home-made sausage, hickory-smoked ham, French Toast, and fresh-squeezed orange juice, among other offerings. Featured in The New York Times , Southern Living, and Food Network Magazine. Historic Downtown Hot Springs, Arkansas.
houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“2nd time's the charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

First visit was on a Sunday--bad idea and not worth the 90 min. wait. The next day's visit was a totally different experience; no wait and our order arrived promptly. Pancakes, ham, bacon, all delicious. My over-easy eggs were too runny with uncooked egg whites. If I ever return to Hot Springs, I'll be back.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    92
    73
    47
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Wow, what a find--10 years ago. We LOVE eating here and make it a point to eat at least 1x when in Hot Springs. The pancakes are BIG and I mean BIG. The fill the whole plate, so PLEASE, eat from the middle part 1st. Slice a little hole to add syrup, or otherwise, the maple syrup will go in lap. (ha ha--speaking from experience).
I love the blueberry and the pecan pancakes---a need to try! The homemade sausage is like I remember as a kid.
They are open early and close by at least 11, so go down and enjoy a REAL breakfast.
We have even drove to Hot Springs --for pancakes--yes we drove 2 hrs to eat here--does that tell ya'll something?
Enjoy----

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So - So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were referred here as it was to have the best breakfast in town. It was mediocre. I always hate it when places who serve coffee don't serve real creamer - or have more options other than white sugar and splenda. I ordered the peach pancakes thinking the peaches would be cooked into the waffles - no, instead I was served a waffle with a little bowl of 3 peaches from a can. The turkey sausage however was quite good.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Loved this great little place. Sorry that we waited the last day of our trip to eat here. Very yummy!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - good food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

There is nothing to complain about this place. The interior is neat and clean. We had a wonderful scrambled egg. The toasts were excellent. They served apple jam and apple spread which were fresh. I'm sure they use good quality butter and syrup for the pancakes. I really enjoyed all the food from this restaurant. The only issue was that this restaurant does not accept credit cards.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pancake Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Pancake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pancake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.