We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good History Lesson” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gangster Museum of America

Gangster Museum of America
510 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501-318-1717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 31 Attractions in Hot Springs
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Cadiz, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good History Lesson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a nice history lesson. The guide was super knowledgeable and friendly. Not a lot of memorabilia. More of a walking tour of gangster history for Hot Springs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    59
    40
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin City, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are interested in gangster history, you will probably enjoy this attraction. It is more like a walking History Channel episode than an actual tour, as the guide leaves you to watch a recording on TV in each room of the museum. Still, the memorabilia was interesting to see and the videos were good as well. Overpriced for what you get in my opinion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip It, You can watch TV at home!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hot Springs has a lot of great things to offer. This isn't one of them. Sorry folks, I was really excited about doing the tour of the museum. We began the tour with a group of about 8 - 9 people which was perfect considering the size of the rooms. The guide introduced herself, promised to give us a great tour full of laughs and spoke for about 5 minutes, turned on a video and left the room. The video played for about 12 or so minutes - it was very boring - and before it finished she came back in with an additional 16 - 18 people to join the tour! This brought the group size up to about 27 people - way to large for the rooms in the museum. Basically we went from room to room with her speaking about 3 to 5 minutes in each room and the she would turn on a history channel type video and leave. The group was to large to see any of the items displayed in the rooms, just wall to wall people. The videos were boring. We "toured" (and I use the term VERY loosely) about 4 rooms and when the 4th video ended - NO guide! I am assuming many people were as disappointed as we were, when she didn't return and we were all just stuffed into this room where there were to many people to see the items on display, people began to try and figure out how to leave, which wasn't easy since every time you changed rooms, the lights were turned off and the door was shut to the previous room. She ran back into the room (maybe about 7 minutes after the video ended) Apologized, but at this point we had enough. I think if the group had stayed at 12 or so people this could have been at least a decent experience. We would have been able to ask questions and see the articles displayed. The playing of the video in each room is just a bad idea, none of them were the least bit exciting, just elderly people talking - neither the guide or anyone on the video said anything humorous or anything that would really peak your curiosity. Sort of just , Yeah, a bunch of gangsters used to hang out in Hot Springs to relax, but no tales of excitement. The items displayed did seem like they would have been interesting, if we had a guide that was more animated to share the stories with the group. I didn't see one single person smile during the entire tour, that should tell you something!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Boring is an understatement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I can find the same info on history channel and cheaper this place is a joke!!! Plus you have to go in groups. They wont let you explore on your own. The old man on the video was so boring we left early! And the the man giving the looked like a dirty skater slash wanna be gangster and rude!Not worth a dime!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lot of cool information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was one of the first things we did on our trip to Hot Springs this past weekend, and we were not disappointed! Would've liked to see more actual pieces (it is mostly pictures and news clippings) but was still very informative nonetheless. Would recommend it to a friend who dabbles in history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gangster Museum of America also viewed

 

Been to Gangster Museum of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gangster Museum of America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.