We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adena

Adena
Adena Road, Chillicothe, OH 45601
740-772-1500
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Chillicothe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
COLUMBUS
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“much history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This is the home of Thomas Worthington, Who was once Governor of Ohio and a well traveled representative of the Ohio territory. The home and most of the furniture is original and there are hourly tours. Nice visit to get away. No fees

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Polar Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The museum entertained the children with reading the Polar Express and allowing a visit with Santa. We had a great breakfast and made keepsake ornaments and iced Christmas cookies. What a great time. The fellow that played the conductor looked just like Tom Hanks from the movie. He was great! No downside to this event.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff and polices ruin local treasure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Adena truly is a local treasure; however, when attempting to visit the grounds and take some photos, my friends/family and I were accosted by both a maintenance worker and an office staff member. They literally chased us down on a golf cart and berated us because we had not checked in at the visitor's center and because we did not pay a $50 photographer's fee. We explained that I was not a professional photographer and that we were simply walking the grounds to take pictures of the kids, but it didn't matter. These employees were extremely rude. One of our group even had a membership to the Ohio Historical Society which allows her into any Ohio historical attraction. We left the grounds of Adena and won't return. As a native of Chillicothe, I was both embarrassed and upset that we were treated so poorly. One does not have to pay an admission to simply enjoy the view or look at the grounds, yet if you take a camera out to snap some pictures, you are committing a horrible offense. I have paid to visit Adena, and as a local like to show off our history. I won't ever make the mistake of doing so at Adena again.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Adena a Local Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Adena Mansion is a very peaceful place to spend an afternoon. It is located high above the city of Chillicothe on a beautiful hill that has been very well preserved. I grew up visiting Adena on school field trips and now visit each year with my elementary students. In recent years, many new and exciting updates have been added to the grounds. The main house has been beautifully preserved and the grounds are very well maintained. The guides are helpful and will answer all of your questions without making you feel rushed. Your tour will include all of the rooms in the home. The buildings on the grounds can be explored and the old barn is beautiful. There are farm animals on the grounds that you can pet. Visitors can tour the garden area located right outside the main house. There is an area that looks out over the Scioto Valley and Mt. Logan. History states that this is the view that influenced the Great Seal of Ohio. There are many shady areas on the grounds to relax under and a large picnic shelter for you to enjoy a picnic lunch. The visitor center is home to the new interactive museum and there are friendly volunteers who will discuss the attractions with you. You will be able to view pictures of the Worthington family in this area. There is also a gift shop in this building that is nice. There are plenty of restrooms and a vending area with drinks. The staff is helpful and will refer you to other historical sites and restaurants in Chillicothe. They also hold weddings on the grounds and in the old barn. It is a nice place for families to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Seasoned UK National Trust members very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding our way, trying to find the turning out of Chillcothe, driving in a circle around the area, then finally, more by luck than judgement, arriving at the entrance gate.

We were fortunate deciding on the 2.30pm tour as there were only 4 in the group and our guide was excellent - morning tours may be larger. We had an hour's tour of the rooms given by a knowledgeable young lady in period dress and the history was very well explained so that by the end, we were au fait with what had taken place. Some of the original family items are still in the house, and the hands of the Worthington family in the decor is still very evident. Ancient wallpapers in the rather gaudy style favoured by Mrs W have been faithfully reproduced as have typical floor oilcloths of the time. The kitchen, unusually for the time, was within the house as it was deemed fire safe because of the stone building. It must have been unbearably hot in summer in that kitchen. We loved the study.

We still wonder where they did the dishes and where the ice came from in summer. We wondered if it was transported overland from Lake Erie. The guide thought that the winters may have been too mild for the construction of an ice house with ice cut from a lake.

This was essentially a typical Virginia home of the time translated into the Ohio countryside. The grounds were lovely and there was much to see. You could spend hours walking and exploring. The garden by the house was a bit past its best in September, but it demonstrated how the 3 terraces were planned and managed.

Why oh why don't such places have tearooms and restaurants as in the UK where folks like us (a bit on the senior side) could refresh, regroup and explore further? We see plenty of USA tourists enjoying National Trust stately home restaurants on their visits.

As for those who complain about the timing of the last tour, which was missed, if the house closes at 5.00pm, the 3.30pm tour just has to be the last. Not rocket science. There are no self-guided tours because of the value of the contents of the rooms and the lack of available stewards to watch the them, I would guess. We were treated with great politeness and had phoned beforehand as well as checking on the internet about timing and any special events.

We loved it and were glad we'd made the effort to drive from Mason, OH.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.