We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel Experience of My Life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe

Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1135 East Main Street, US 23 & US 50, Chillicothe, OH 45601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chillicothe
Rochester, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Worst Hotel Experience of My Life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Unfortunately the only choice was a smoking room as my visit was during a holiday weekend, and non-smoking rooms were unavailable. I am looking beyond the smoke stench of the room and how it permeated all the contents however, to give this review. The whole place was obviously decades old. Doors/walls had been painted many times. The carpeting was so sticky I dared not walk barefoot. The 'dresser' was made of the cheapest particle board possible, and was of course many years old as well - and ready to fall apart. Nothing appeared really clean, although there was no obvious signs of recent dirt. No hair in the sink or tub. I guess a good description would be 'dingy'. No blow dryer in room. Had to go to the front desk to borrow theirs. (Also I was given the room's TV remote at check in - sticky and old, jut like the TV and everything else.) Anyway, after about 5 minutes of blow drying, it overheated. Couldn't even finish drying my hair! Also, their internet access was very poor in the rooms and I kept losing my connection.At checkout, my bill was totally screwed up. They tried to charge me for an extra day. They even charged my account more than my signed receipt! After calling them on their attempts to rip me off, they managed to miscalculate (in their favor, of course!) how much they owed me for the overcharging they had done. Had to watch them like a hawk at checkout. Do not waste a moment of your time here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
8
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We were passing through Chillicothe on a one tank trip out of our home town for a weekend getaway, so we had no formal hotel reservations. Upon arrival in the town, it seemed like a good place to pull off for the night and I have stayed with this chain before. The front desk clerk, albeit extremely fatigued, was pleasant enough as she handed the key under a presumably bullet-resistant barricade (standard, I presume, for this style of hotel). We parked outside our room, two doors down from the office, and went in. The accommodations were quite comfortable, with a small TV that featured free HBO and a rather modern climate control system considering the rate we were given. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that the rate included a free continental breakfast (although there were also several chain restaurants within walking distance). Overall it was a convenient place to stay over especially if you are visiting the small town of Chillicothe. Be advised, NOTHING in this town opens before NOON on Sunday! :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

Ratings:

Room ** (2 stars - Furnishings old but functional. Beds were comfortable. TV worked good)

Bathroom ** (2 stars - Clean and functional. Rust stains on toilet)

Continental Breakfast ** (2 stars - Donuts, plain bagels, cereal, milk, juice)

Staff **** (4 stars - Courteous and helpful. We had a dead battery in the car when we were ready to leave. I asked the front desk for help, and they sent someone back with some jumper cables to give us a jump.)

Note: This motel has two buildings. We stayed in the back one away from the office - which may be newer or less heavily-used than the building in which the office resides. That may explain some of the less positive reviews posted here.

  • Liked — Inexpensive, and location near the freeway.
  • Disliked — Bedding and carpeting somewhat worn, but not bad.
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2005

This hotel is the worst experience we have ever encountered. We choose this hotel for it was very late at night and we were tired from traveling from Virginia and the Holiday Inn Express next door appeared full.

The rooms are very, very outdated and dirty. A recliner in the room was stained on the seat area and the head rest area of the recliner was soiled with body oil. The shower tile was also covered of body oil.

We did not discover until the morning that our A/C was not cooling. Had to get ready with sweat rolling off our face and back.

The room had a urine odor in the morning.

The bedspread and blanket was very old, worn, and dirty.

The toliet would not flush properly and was very loud.

The front desk employee did not care that we were very unhappy about our stay.

I wished I would of checked TripAdvisor first. From now on, we will check the room first or get a refund and leave before we ever get in this situation again.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, OH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2004

Moldy, dirty, rundown... Be afraid - be very afraid!

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe

Address: 1135 East Main Street, US 23 & US 50, Chillicothe, OH 45601
Location: United States > Ohio > Chillicothe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chillicothe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.