We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gecko

Gecko
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pottuvil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gecko
Save
You added Gecko to your Saves list
located between #39 Hillton and #42 Deens, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We arrived at Gecko thinking we'd stay for a night or two and move on. I think we decided within 5 minutes of being there that we'd stay for much longer. It's a brilliant place run by the lovely Liz and Ramesh who do their utmost to look after you in every way possible. Liz cooked great food and always helped with our questions, and Ramesh was an absolute gentleman, who did everything from building a wooden structure to give us some shade, to getting us to where we wanted to go, to coming running with water and a smile when all the G+Ts made us sick... They're doing a fantastic job.

They've created a lovely and safe haven and you'll have a great time. Say hello to Jay and Millie too when you're there!

Love, the noisy english girls

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    4
    0
    9
See reviews for
2
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Gecko- really relaxed and homely and they went out of their way to accommodate us in every way, making recommendations of things to do, organising transport, delicious food, even building us a lovely shaded area on the beach when we couldn't handle the blazing heat! Ramesh and Liz are really lovely. We really enjoyed our stay there and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabana which was great for a bigger group but other rooms for smaller groups seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Whilst we have had super food experiences at Gecko's in the past, this time it was more than disappointing. The burgers we ordered were dry, and the Greek salad ordered did not contain any olive oil. On requesting for olive oil to add to the Greek salad, we were brought a bottle of 'olive oil' which in actual fact was VEGETABLE OIL. The staff insisted that it was olive oil even though we knew very well the flavor and taste of olive oil and were one hundred percent sure that what they brought to the table was in fact vegetable oil.

Overall, a very disappointing experience. I hope the management takes appropriate measures to correct the situation with the food.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Although I didn't stay at the Gecko when asking around for somewhere good to eat everyone said I had to try the Gecko, especially their famous ice cream.
After 3 weeks of curry and rice (which I love) it was a treat to have a homemade hamburger - they make their own bread on the premises, the other ingredients Liz (chef by trade) sources from Kandy or they grow themselves .... and the ice cream ... you definitely have to leave room for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hmm where to start.
The surf boy staff who leered at our partners...
The water and toilet that didnt work...
the dirty floors in our room.

There are so many good places to stay in the Bay, it is simply not worth staying here.

There were 4 of us travelling together and we wanted accomodation we could share which is why we initially stayed there even after they were rude to our driver who was a real champ and one of nature's gentlemen.

After we were rudely informed at 10.30 one night that we had to be out early the next morning (After being told we could stay as long as we liked) we couldnt wait to get out of this dump.

I am glad others had good experiences here, and I agree that some of the food is great but there are major problems with service here.

The owners arent there during the week and the place is run by young guys. I would really not recomend that young females stay here alone or if your partner is going to be away surfing all day you are likely to be rather uncomfortable with their 'attention.'

The owners were arrogant and emotional and seemingly incapable of understanding that they had left us in an invidious position- nowhere to sleep the next night. No offer of assistance to find another place and absolutely no apology.

Kudos to the manager of Hideaway who was the most lovely person in the Bay (there are so many reasons that they seem to be the best) who offered to rearrange a whole room so 4 of us could bunk in.

In the end though we slept in the restaurant at Sababa which had to be one of the best experiences of the trip! The guys there were lifesavers and cooked us some of the best meals we had in Sri Lanka.

So all up avoid this place like the plague, although you could do worse for lunch.

Room Tip: hmm look elsewhere and definately dont accept the leaky shed that they tried to rent to our driver f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have been meaning to write a review for Gecko since we came back from Sri Lanka but only just got round to it (sorry Liz!!).

We were planning on staying at the Gecko rooms and restaurant for a few nights....ended up staying nearly two weeks! It is a fantastic little place with clean rooms and lovely staff. The business is family run and staffed with high standards of service and, importantly, food hygiene!
Liz, the English wife of local Ramesh has brought in western standards to a traditional Sri Lankan guest house and the food is amazing...you can choose from traditional Sri Lankan dishes or more Western options with even porridge on the menu!! When we were staying the guys at Gecko were in the process of developing their own little farm to grow everything they needed to put in their dishes which is a great idea!

The guest house is well located in Arugam...many are to the extreme ends of the village and a bit of a walk but not here.
They are a small outfit with limited numbers of rooms (which I liked about it) so the experience is very personal we made great friends. If you want to surf hook up with Sassi and Silva (great guys) and there is only one tuk tuk driver you will ever need...his name is JK and he is always at Gecko!

My only word of advice to those with familys is that the 2 larger cabinas are right by the restaurant so have the potential to be noisy at night, though there is a big family apartment upstairs which is nice and quiet and when we were there it was always a chilled affair!

If I were ever to go to Arugam again, I would stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattegoda, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Didn’t try out the food as it was bit over my price (local backpacker here :-) but my room was awesome. It was basic but comfy and the price was very reasonable

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko

Address: located between #39 Hillton and #42 Deens, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gecko Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gecko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.