We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''Great hottel,a verry nice stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
Alpine Hotel
4 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“''Great hottel,a verry nice stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed tow night at this hotel where the the staff was very helpful and understanding and always on point. Room was very nicely cleaned and this has been with a very elegant decor. The deluxe room was spacious and very well equipped - room service was prompt and friendly.
I greatly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling Colombo if they are looking for a nice, comfortable and well located hotel as an alternative to the big brands.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    13
    19
    12
See reviews for
14
21
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Clair
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Alpine. Classical English architecture enables Alpine to stand out amongst best Hotels in the Central Hilly terrains of Sri Lanka. The Manager is a character to reckon with, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. He arranged tours for us while discussing philosophy & Quantum Mechanics.
Alpine Hotel is preparing to celebrate its Centenary Year next year 2014. We found the rooms spacious & comfortable although they were dated. Views of the Mountains, Lake Gregory and the Racecourse make it have an edge over Grand & St. Andrew's Hotel where we stayed the last time.
The Pool table and Bar is a great place to relax after a tiring hike around the Mountains and on a rainy day. The restaurant served fresh salads and veggies with our western, Sri Lankan and Chinese cuisine.
The staff were much more friendly and helpful compared to the staff of other hotels in Sri Lanka. The versatile Manager arranged bicycle and 4X4 tours of uncanny terrain into Horton Plains and the Mountains.
It was a great experience we had at Alpine ..... I'd recommend any traveler to check it out for a couple of nights to taste a glimpse of paradise ...... real value for money ....

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this place. Yes, it needs a serious renovation but the service was pretty good. We spoke to the manager for ages while we were booking and he was really friendly, as were the other staff.
It is built to look European and it had a bit of a friendly feel to it.
The room was what we wanted. Comfortable bed, good shower, TV, heater. We feel we got what we paid for.
We didn't eat dinner there so can't rate the food but had breakfast and that was nothing to rave about. Cereal, fruit, toast, bacon and eggs.
It is not in the centre of town but it is near the lake. The town isn't that big so the location didn't matter to us. And of course there were tuk tuks everywhere.
If you want something for a night or two and don't care about modern refurbishment then this place is quite good. It was clean, quiet and comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel very loooong ago ,it was brilliant back then now i dont know the status of this hotel as i heard and known from the rest ,its doing pretty good ,yet improvments to be done i am sure ..but it is always worth the money .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The property has a rather high price (compared to other tourist locales in country) for what it offers. Rooms old with old furniture and outdated ambience, 4 flights of stairs to characterless corridors. Do not recommend, however there did not seem to be an abundance of good fair-priced options in town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is not located in the centre of the town. Probably this option allows the hotel to keep the high level I have found during my staying.

My room was very clean, even if without a room bar where I could have put my bottle of water..
The bathroom was clean, but very small and the water in the shower was not easy to become warm.

The dinner was much appreciated; eating rice and chicken in a different way was great!
Breakfast had a lot of selection in terms of food: typical sri lankan food as well as european breakfast was available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed last summer and thought from the outside was a nice hotel. The room was dump, dirty and the bathroom quite old. There was a smell of old in the room. Also the manager said to us a price and then when we had to pay put the price up for 50% more.

At the end we had to pay too much for this place, it is not worth it!

The only good thing is that you can wak up to the guesthouses on the left and look for an excellent guided tour to the manager of the guesthouse. The best driver/guide is called Sumathi, a real gem!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hotel

Address: 4 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Hotel is situated in the cool misty hill country of Sri Lanka. It's the greenest part of the country, flourishing in flora & fauna. It's lush green tea hills gives it a distinctive mark of its own.Exploring ecology sites you will find this and so much more at this Super Luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.