We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing St. Andrew’s to your Saves list
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a great inclusion into our trip. Felt like we were in an old hotel somewhere in the highlands of the UK. A sort of Fawlty Towers where everything ran smoothly. It seemed like there were a few places like this in Nuwara Eliya with the same feel. We didn't get to check out any others.
We were fortunate to be here on NYE and wow what a buffet. Have never had such good suckling pig and BBQ leg of lamb. Was a perfect place to spend a few nights and certainly something out of the ordinary. Would highly recommend it for a couple of nights.
The next part of this is a message to management.
Dear Sir/Madam
Whomever recommended you convert part of the lovely bar area to a 'graffiti bar' is still dining out on this story and getting massive laughs from it. I cannot recall something so bizarre. You may wish to observe the look on people's faces when (after not being able to get a seat in the main lovely, charming delightful bar) they first go in to try and find somewhere to sit. It seems they almost all retreat double time to go to the other sitting area with the fire (which is also delightful). If it is all part of a Sri Lankan Candid Camera prank - well I guess you got me. Otherwise I highly recommend you preserve and honour the history of the hotel and revert it back to a lovely old bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed our pleasure to hear that you had an unforgettable stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and your words motivate our associates to do better. We are pleased to inform you that during our refurbishment program we will consider your remarks for the bar area.

Once again thanking you for your lovely remarks and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    310
    155
    61
    33
See reviews for
157
379
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you're arriving over the winding mountain road from Kandy, you'll take a sharp left turn to approach this unmistakable, classic building which faces down a hill towards the centre of Nuwara Eliya.
The reception staff are welcoming and very professional. Our room was clean and full of character, with a modern bathroom suite and a small annexe with a desk for the tea/coffee making and storage. Most rooms seem to face the side or back of the hotel, so the views are nothing special, but the hotel grounds are pleasant enough to walk around. The restaurant looked good but we set off for the Hill Club so didn't sample the food.
We also left early (before 6am) to get to Horton Plains and trek to World's End, and the hotel provided a very decent breakfast box. The hotel itself appears to offer a number of interesting local activities, bookable through the reception.
The only downside for us was that we had booked the room through Agoda.com Bizarrely this website defaults your booking to a single occupancy, so we had to pay an extra 25 US dollars on arrival for our double room because there were 2 of us in occupation.
I would have loved to spend more time here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we read your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for all the lovely compliments extended. Most online travel agents generally default on the lowest rate, which is single occupancy, there is an option to change this to double or triple occupancy. We do hope this did not mar your experience at the hotel.

We thank you for sharing your genuine review on Trip Advisor and look forward to your return visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The location and history of this building are the primary reasons for staying here, because the rooms (we stayed in the new wing) are nothing special given the considerably high price you pay. We expected more luxury from Jetwing and also for the price, so were a bit disappointed. The room was sizeable and clean, but we expected more colonial charm. Dinner was good but again fairly expensive. Service is friendly but a bit unorganised. on the plus side: the garden is lovely and they serve a very nice high tea there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the constructive review and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the colonial atmosphere of our hotel in the hills. With regards to our pricing, it has always been based on comparisons with our competitors and other basic requisites. We try to keep to standard in order to ensure such situation do not occur. We are sorry that this was not to your liking.

Wishing you all the best and hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It was our second time to visit this hotel on our 2nd wedding anniversary for the dinner. The foods and the service standards were well above what we expected. In simple words when we get out of the door we all had a smile in our faces and decided to come back next time. I confidently recommend this hotel for any one who wants be relax, enjoy holidays and to feel genuine hospitality. Thanks St Andrews for making our special day very memorial. Mahendra J

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for all the lovely compliments extended to our food and service in particular. We are pleased to note that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

Once again we thank you for sharing your thoughts and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

After a day of exploring Nuwara Eliya (and being chilled to the bone), it felt great to be seated in this very colonial looking building in front of a fireplace and being offered hot soup as a welcome "drink". The carpeted floors, wooden finishings and long hallways give the hotel a very warm and cozy feel starkly contrasting the very cold night outside.

We were upgraded to one of the suites which had a four poster bed and an extra living room. The room furniture is slightly dated but it really gives it a rustic feel. Heater takes a short while to warm up but once things get going its very toasty in the rooms. This was also one of the few hotels we found in Sri Lanka that had a decently fast Wi-Fi connection!

The bar is a small room off to one side and its great to hang there and have some hot drinks. The food, too, was great: Dinner was a set menu (Halal = Muslim friendly) and breakfast was a buffet with a very wide selection! The staff was very friendly and joked around with us. Overall, we had a great time at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to note that we have been able to offer you a pleasant experience and fond memories at our charming colonial hotel. We will share your thoughts regarding the food with our culinary team and they will surely be encouraged by your kind words.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great location, great food, great food presentation, lovely rooms, very clean and a very pleasant experience overall. Free fast wifi everywhere even in the room. Tv with different interesting stations in the room. Nice welcoming staff.

The only missing thing is a computer for resident use (obviously through a cost) as if someone wont have a tablet or smart phone one would be stranded without internet commection.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay was such a success and that you enjoyed our beautiful property and everything it has to offer. It means a lot to us and your kind words will only encourage the entire team to serve you better.

Hope to welcome you back to Jetwing St. Andrew's on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritou Tera, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised our driver pulled up the drive of this establishment instead of where we had initially been booked to stay. A last minute cancellation allowed our travel agent to change our stay to St. Andrews. This is a hotel that feels more like a club, reminding one of the Bangalore Club or the Tea Planters' Club in Darjeeling. We stayed in a room in a newer wing, that was a mahogany-paneled massive space, with 18 ft. ceilings, a fireplace, superb bed and window seat overlooking the vast gardens. A wooden staircase took one up to a second sleeping area in a high-ceilinged loft, again with king sized bed and Arts and Crafts period furnishings. The bath was contemporary and spacious.

High tea in one of the fireplace lounges was lovely, and for once, one could enjoy a real English tea that did not cost the earth and sky to enjoy: finest Sri Lankan tea selection, scones, cakes, sandwiches, etc. Other meals were excellently prepared and offered with gracious understated service. Nuwara Eliya is called "Little England", and indeed this reminds one of the England of Jane Austen. Snug and cozy in the chilly weather of the hills.

The hotel has not been gentrified beyond recognition, so original furnishings and facilities have not been tarted-up for the tourists. Creaking staircases, a rabbit's warren of wood paneled corridors, shabby-chic chintz curtains, all typify a hotel that makes few compromises. WiFi only available in the dining room and public lounges, which is a tiny nuisance.

The Jetwing Group has made a real effort to maintain the character and integrity of the hotel while keeping it updated in terms of services and facilities. Originally a Scottish run hotel that later was owned by a prominent Sri Lankan family who maintained it for several generations before selling to the Jetwing group, this is a very reasonable hotel, and a chance to bask in a truly historic atmosphere, and not one contrived for the tourists.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms in the old wing are preferred, but even the ones in the new wing are stylish and hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your wonderful comment on Trip Advisor. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and even more so that you fully understand and appreciate the concept of the property. We are very much glad to share your compliments with our team and surely this helps us to do better in future.

Whilst thanking you for the wonderful review we hope you will come for a longer stay with us soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing St. Andrew’s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.