We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing St. Andrew’s to your Saves list
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Moncton, NB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here early December during a one night stay in Nuwara Eliya.
It is a beautiful colonial hotel in the heart of Nuwara Eliya and it is quite easy to find it. The warm soup upon arrival was a great welcoming touch. The rooms were simple and clean. A bit cold because of the weather in Nuwara Eliya, however they provide a heater in the room which solved the problem. We were on the lower floor and had no problems with noise or construction. Dinner was absolutely delicious in their dining room, and breakfast buffet was great as well.

We really enjoyed our stay! Recommend it if you are looking for an affordable stay in Nuwara Eliya.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya. We shall share your genuine compliments with our team and specially with our chef.

Once again thanking you and wishing you a wonderful 2014.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    310
    154
    61
    33
See reviews for
157
378
24
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel with a roaring fire going in all rooms set in lovely gardens.the entrance was amazing at least hundred of steps going up to the main entrance could have stayed there longer a stroll around the garden was a much

Room Tip: All the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor, we greatly appreciate it.

Wishing you a very happy new year and hoping to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved the real English experience in Nuwara Eliya. The hotel has all the colonial charm and experience. From the cold weather outside you are greeted with a cup of warm cream vegetable soup which really makes the start of the experience. The facilities are all great with fire places around to enjoy whilst you are making the most of the colder climate. We ended up having two different rooms and enjoyed both. The first was a Delux room which was huge with a mezzanine (but was noisy in the morning with some building works in the area). The second room was a suite on the ground floor out the front of the resort with a small balcony and a sitting room. Both had great facilities and would be recommended (and had queen or king beds which the superior rooms didn't have). A little walk out of the centre of town but a beautiful location on the golf course.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a large bed (ie. for 2 people - queen or king) you will need to look at a del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor on your recent stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. We are very much glad to share your compliments with our team and surely this helps us to do better in future.

Whilst wishing you a happy new year, we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during a tour. The hotel is full of elegance from a long past era but combining this with up to date facilities.
The rooms are comfortable as you'd expect and the food is good but, in comparison to other hotels we stayed in on the tour, the selection is rather limited.
The setting is very nice and within a very short walk of the town centre.
I can't understand the bar decoration however. The room with the graffiti is just wrong and totally out of place. Just incongruous with the rest of the hotel and grounds.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya. We are very happy to share your compliments with our team and surely this helps us to do better in future.

Wishing you all the best and hoping to serve you soon in near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangli, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The moment you enter Nuwara Eliya, you are in different world. It is really a heavenly experience. The atmosphere, the mountains greenery of tea estate and jungle, waterfalls on the way ... All these things elate you and in this mood you really need a place suitable to maintain your ecstasy .
And this hotel is perfectly suits for this. Its soothing decor really enhances your pleasure . Beautiful garden surrounding the hotel, decent dining halls, clean and specious rooms and professional service adds make every moment of your stay pleasurable and memorable.
Add to it the food served in this hotel. It is sumptuous and tasty at the same time. It's 100% value for money hotel. Full marks

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was great pleasure to read your wonderful comment on Trip Advisor on your recent stay in our hotel in the hills of Nuwara Eliya. We are very much glad to share your compliments with our team and surely this helps us to do better in future. Jetwing St. Andrew’s has always prided itself on genuine concept and hospitality and it is always heartening when a guest has such a great stay with us.

Once again thanking you for your review and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night & one day and our overall experience was very good. We happened to stay in another hotel in Nuwara Eliya (Avin Breeze) and we had to check out after one night. But once we reached St Andrews hotel we could see a world of difference in terms of service & quality. The rooms are pretty neat & clean with all required accessories. There is coffee / tea maker, lockers etc in the room. One thing which we missed was a iron box. We requested one iron box but unfortunately we didnt get it till very end. The buffet breakfast is very good with lots of spreads for continental and asian cuisine. Overall a very good hotel in Nuwara Eliya which gives value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your compliments will be shared among the team and they will be pleased that they made your stay enjoyable. With our planned refurbishment we are adding an iron and ironing table to the room amenities, which will be completed in the next few months.

Once again thanking you and waiting to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The view, the location, the place was just amazing. Good things come in small package. For a small place like it is just perfect holiday place. The staff are amazing.Room was very clean and comfortable. The food is awesome. The chef cooks the best there during the day and evening. One relaxing place!! For me and my other half, this place was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Our associates will be happy to share your thoughts and surely it will boost morale.

Once again thanking you and waiting to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukabandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing St. Andrew’s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.