We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Comfortable...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing St. Andrew’s to your Saves list
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Quaint and Comfortable...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my first stay at a Jetwing Hotels, and I'm glad to say, both my family and I had a lovely stay. St. Andrews is styled after an authentic Nuwara Eliya cottage, and though there is a noticeable lack of space in the common areas, they are delightfully comfortable nonetheless. Although the hotel could use a bit more lighting, the paintings you find here and there are quite charming. What should be mentioned above all of this, is the delightful hospitality of the Hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly, charming and helpful, starting from the room boys up to the General Manager himself. The staffs attention to the Guests needs are quite satisfactory. Will definitely be visiting St. Andrews again, and soon, and have already recommended it to my friends..... Oh... and they have a charming garden.... comparatively small, but lovely nonetheless.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Ground floor of the New wing are Quite good. Although the Hotel staff says that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for posting such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are grateful to your kind words and compliments and they will be shared with the team. Your comments on the ambience, rooms and services were greatly appreciated.

We are truly glad that we have delighted you with our unique Jetwing hospitality and hoping to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukabandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    311
    155
    62
    33
See reviews for
158
379
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Much of this old-fashioned hotel had been renovated, unfortunately my room had not. It was rather poorly appointed, dark and drab, but it provided proper tea, complete with teapot. Bliss. The rest of the hotel was fine, but I feel access could be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties. There were about 3 flights of steps to the main entrance, I couldn't see any wheelchair access. The food was good as were those serving it. The bar had loads of atmosphere and good beer, but was very expensive relative to other bars in Sri Lanka.
All in all, a good place to stay, but rather too much emphasis on the colonial past. At times, you could think you were in a hotel in Scotland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been noted on the rooms and accessibility. Both of these issues will be solved once the renovation is complete. We are truly glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

St Andrew's is priced as a high end hotel. It is nothing of the sort.

The rooms are dank and drab, and really quite lazily decorated. The 'sitting room' with white walls had 4 chairs that would be more in place in a doctor's waiting room. We didn't sit there once.

The bar is very uncomfortable and poorly laid out. We were disinclined to even sit inside. The whole place smelled like it hadn't been cleaned properly for years. We were one of the very few guests there who were not on a package tour, and the general feel of the hotel was quite unfriendly.

Then there is the food, much touted by guide books as excellent and the best in the area. This is not true. At lunch we ordered a chicken burger, which was an inedible and unrecognisable pinkish lump in a bun. For dinner there is a range of options, we had the buffet. The rice and curry was ok (better elsewhere) and the 'live cooking station' was run by a disinterested and bad cook. The stir fry I had there was very poor.

On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable, we had a very good night's sleep. That was it though.

St Andrew's is run down, tired, and in desperate need of overhaul, and at the prices they charge I think it would be an easy endeavour.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope that you accept our heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused during the stay. We will most certainly look into all the areas you have stated and discuss with relevant team members for further improvement. The hotel is going into major renovations soon and soft refurbishments are already on-going, which will take care of the issues you have specified.

We would have been more than happy to try to resolve these issues while you were staying with us, as we do not want our valued guests leaving disappointed.

Once again thanking you for sharing your thoughts with us and hoping to host you in the Sri Lankan highlands again once the renovations are complete.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

i went that hotel 2013 Apr. for 2 nights. i don't know how to explain it it's such a paradise for me. warmly welcomed and good service nice view. every employers are very friendly. i love that foods and also bar. nice vacation for me. i love that place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for your genuine review of our colonial hotel. We will share your thoughts with our dedicated team and I’m very sure they will be delighted.

Looking forward to serve you soon on your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having the privilege of staying at this beautiful, historical Hotel was memorable. The Manager was outstanding with sharing the history of the Hotel as he conducted a personal tour. The staff were incredible with their service, wonderful smiles and outstanding care of us. The Hotel oozes character and recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your review on our century old colonial mansion and associates. Certainly this helps to boost our morale and performance to greater level.

Hoping to serve you again at Jetwing St. Andrew’s on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Two nights in March 2013. Start with the good points: nice central town location and a lovely view towards the hills (if you have a front facing room and obliterate the car park from your view; we checked out a rear room and that gave onto buildings and a construction site); an amusing graffiti covered walls bar with pleasant barmen. And now for the bad points: the room was old, charmless, not clean, extremely humid and dank; the bathroom badly needed a complete overhall from floor to ceiling (unless you appreciate decrepid peeling paint and vintage 1970's); private terrace/ balcony again peeling paint and most probably hadn't seen a broom since construction (shame there were no chairs); restaurant: a large, dark, noisy and unwelcoming hall (awful unless you have fond memories of boarding school), we mistakenly ordered à la carte (believing that this would be better than the set menu being served up to rather large groups), the quality was doubtful, the presentation a disaster all mixed up, a meat dish that had no meat but only fat hidden under a very colourful sauce and an Indian dish of soggy rice and even soggier papadoms: we ended up leaving the food and asked for the bill: this was followed by a succession of insistent staff who admitedly proposed different foods (although they did not wish to really understand the problem) which we politely refused; packed breakfast which we ordered for an early start for Horton Plains, delivered to us against various signatures and begrudgingly as if we were about to steal it; also note on early start staff sleeping on the sofas in the guest areas; back from Horton our driver had been expelled from his accomodation as for some reason they had forgotten that we were staying two nights.
In short, if there is nothing other available, maybe a one night stay but not as individual travellers (the place seems to be totally geared up for groups), very reminiscent of the State run hotels that we had to stay in in Burma in the early 90's.
On a brighter side we did manage to find one member of staff who actually smiled, a pleasant lady at reception, and we did get a send off from an apologetic management who wrote off the meal. This could be a perfect place if it was totally redecorated, if the staff were trained to receive and if the management laid down the rules.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We apologize for any inconvenience faced during your stay. The concept of Jetwing St. Andrew’s is firmly grounded in the old British colonial era and it provides a glimpse into the bygone colonial days to all our guests.

Your comments are well noted and will be put to positive and constructive development whilst our refurbishment program is ongoing, service related issues will be dealt with relevant team members.
Whilst we agree that individual likes and dislikes may differ, we are frequently receiving positive feedback for Jetwing St. Andrew’s and some of these comments can also be seen below.
We do hope to see you once the renovations are complete to serve you better.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

LOVED this hotel!!
We had a 2 night stay at Jetwing St Andrews hotel and we loved it. We were welcomed by very staff with a little cup of very nice soup. St Andrews is ever so charming & beautiful, lovely clean rooms, very comfortable beds & gorgeous views of the cottage style gardens. The hotel is very colonial English, with cosy lounge areas with open fireplaces and a library. Gardens & lawns are spectacular! Excellent service & the food was superb! Would highly recommend staying here - great location if your planning to go to Worlds End. It was one of the favourite hotels whilst travelling in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your experience at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and posting it on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read your review and we were delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We do hope to see you once again at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing St. Andrew’s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.