We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Grand!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Edmonton - Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Truly Grand!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

2 nights at The Grand was truly amazing! The buffet, the room and the staff were awesome. Nuwara Eliya was a favourite holiday spot for us when we lived in Sri Lanka back in the '70's. This time I visited Lanka with my family after 29 years and just had to stay at the Grand and I was not disappointed. It amazes me as to how polite and humble the staff are. The buffet had everything I could ask for and more. I will never fail to return to this hotel every time I visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review and we are happy to learn that your stay with us was most enjoyable. The Grand is in the process of enhancing it's Food & Beverage options for visitors, and will soon open a Thai restaurant, to add to the Grand Indian, Magnolia Coffee shop and the Barnes Restaurant. Please do visit us again to experience these and other exciting improvements which I'm sure will make your next visit even more memorable.
Thank you and best wishes from all the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    424
    233
    86
    53
See reviews for
281
488
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On a good note, the breakfast was delicious, the gardens were beautiful and the Grand Indian Restaurant across the drive proved a lovely place for dinner. The room however was rather rickety with loose wooden floor boards and uncomfy beds. Enjoyed the cooler weather, exploring the gardens followed by relaxing with a good cup of tea. The novelty of the colonial theme soon fades away and leaves some aspects of the decor unwelcome.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest, We are happy to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us and we thank you for reviewing us. Our current focus is to give the very best to our guests in terms of the physical presence of the property and the level of service. However, we also take special note of the areas of improvement mentioned by you and will address these in our improvement plans. . The Grand is in the process of enhancing it's Food & Beverage options for visitors, and will soon open a Thai restaurant, to add to the Grand Indian, Magnolia Coffee shop, Dilmah Tea Lounge and the Barnes Restaurant. Please do visit us again to experience these and other improvements we are working on, which I am positive will make your next stay even more exciting and memorable. Thank you and best wishes from all the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived in Nuwara Eliya we were originally meant to stay in a hotel called Oakray Summerhill Breeze which at first was promising but didn't live up to the standards it was promising on its website, we went around the town and saw the Grand Hotel and we went to have a look. It was amazing, we left the other hotel and went to the grand where we stayed 2 nights in luxury. The rooms were clean and the food was great! I recommend for you to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest, We are over joyed to hear that your stay with us was most enjoyable. Some exicting additions are being made to our services with the needs of our discerning customers in mind. We are enhancing our Food & Beverage options for visitors, and will soon open a Thai restaurant, to add to the Grand Indian, Magnolia Coffee shop and the Barnes Restaurant. Please do visit us again to experience these and other improvements we are working on, which I am positive will make your next stay even more exciting and memorable. Thank you and best wishes from all the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nts at grand hotel. The hotel is very impressive, and very well maintained considering the year it was built etc. received a very warm welcome, and got a nice room on the second floor. It was a deluxe quad room, and a pretty large one. Hotel had quiet a few amenities and a very beautiful garden. All the staff are very courteous and smiling.
Room service is just a wee bit slow.
Overall a very impressive property and very close to the town and lake, well located.
Definetely would like to visit the place again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are glad that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We are very focused on giving the very best to our guests in terms of the physical presence of the property and the level of service. We also note the area of improvement mentioned by you and have taken corrective action. The Grand is in the process of enhancing it's Food & Beverage options for visitors, and will soon open a Thai restaurant, to add to the Grand Indian, Magnolia Coffee shop and the Barnes Restaurant. Please do visit us again to experience these and other improvements we are working on, which I am positive will make your next stay even more exciting and memorable. Thank you and best wishes from all the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

In the lovely town of Nuwara Eliya - Grand hotel brings a heritage experience in style ! We spent 3 nights there . The ambience of the hotel is really nice , staff are very helpful and good .They have a lovely 200 year old snooker table !
The room was very nice and comfortable but i wish the hotel took care of the stains on the chairs and curtains ....
The food was awesome ! Lots of variety . Thy insist on " smart casuals " for dinners . For lunch we went to the Indian restaurant at the entrance to the hotel which also served good food .
Lovely gardens with lots of flowers ...
We went to Horton Plains from there and that was truly a memorable experience ! For people who likes nature walks - it is a must do !
As we checked out - they presented us with a box of chocolates and some water ! Big thanks !
We really enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

best hotel in the mountains, but very busy with tourists and locals. certainly not a romantic hideout. rooms are very old fashioned and don't offer much comfort, but they have character. try the suite if you are more people - you can host royalty there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are happy to note that you have enjoyed most part of your stay with us. We are due to add some extra features and activities for the benefit of our guests who of late are spending 2 to 3 nights with us. I am sure you will be able to enjoy the added services when you visit us next. Yes, the suites are fit for Royalty, and in fact we have a few of them flying all the way, and use the suites for 4 to 5 nights . Thank you once again, and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful spacious rooms overlooking the golf course, excellent food, great service, comfortable comforters for a wonderful sleep in the chilly weather made our stay excellent.

hire bikes or just sit in the lawn and breath the clean fresh air.

live music at the T restaurant and a cosy little bar adds to the relaxation quotient. a must 'pee' at the washroom on the lobby level... see it to know why i suggested a must visit :)

Room Tip: Must eat the chocolate coated coffee beans kept at the reception counter which is especially made fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad that your stay with us has been most enjoyable. We start each day with the objective of satisfying each and every one of guest, with a brand of service which complements the natural beauty and tranquility of Nuwara Eliya. We thank you for your kind words, and invite you to enjoy our additional services when you visit us next. Best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.