We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British Raj revisited” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“British Raj revisited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was wonderfull experiencing this Hill Station surrounded by tea plantations and living in this well appointed property very much the way the Britisher may have lived. The buffet spread in the dining hall was pretty impressive and the staff was very hospitable indeed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our resort. Over the years we have tried to create the atmosphere and ambience of a colonial residence with all the little niceties an English Lady or Gentleman would indulge in. We are happy to note that discerning travellers such as you are able to relive and enjoy the experience of a bygone era, in the history of Sri Lanka. We have planned some additional facilities to the hotel, which I am sure you would enjoy when you visit us next. Thank you and best wishes from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    369
    193
    73
    45
See reviews for
254
412
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After 2 nights stay in Kandy, we were taken to Nuwara Eliya and whilst touring we checked in to the hotel, and it was centrally located. The climate was lovely and cool just what we needed this. The food at the hotel was lovely and specially the evening tea as well. My family and children were treated with care and affection by the guide. The tea plantations and factories was an experience to have an knowledgeable idea as to the production and packaging of tea. Thumbs for Superlink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for endorsing the Customer care and the services offered by our Hotel. You have chosen excellent service providers to make your tour a success and we are happy to be among them. Best wishes to you and your family for 2013. Hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Experiencing Nuwara Eliya is a must. The road to grand hotel is breath taking and once you reach this old yet renewed colonial hotel, you feel it's warmth and friendly welcome. As you are checked in, you are invited for a traditional cup of delicious tea with sweet special palm sugar cubes. You are then accompanied to your room. The hallways are authentic wooden and cozy. There are paintings that take you back to the colonial times. The rooms are very simple, tidy, clean and warm with the electric chimneys turned on. A brief electricity blackout might occur, but it all adds to its mystery and if I might say, beautiful spookiness. I enjoyed staying there as it brought a sense of tradition and adventure in its own way. Breakfast was delicious and peaceful. The best part was the stroll around the hotel. The green nature with its amazing fog seeping through the large tall trees gave it a magical feel. I would definitely go there again. If you are fond of old colonial hotels with a sophisticated sip of good tea and an old self-playing piano that plays magical tunes, then that's one hotel not to miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest, It is indeed very encouraging to hear that your stay with us was most enjoyable. We are very aware that we operate in one of the most picturesque settings, which requires us to deliver a level of service which complements the tranquility and scenic beauty of Nuwara Eliya.
We thank you, profusely for your comments and would like to assure you that we will strive to do even better in the coming year. Hope to see you soon. Best wishes for the New Year from all of us at the Grand Hotel. Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights during Christmas. Besides the external look there is nothing 'grand'. The service is poor, rooms need a complete refurbishment, bathrooms are real tiny, tv channels work mute or there is no clarity...you therefore either watch a channel or listen!!! The Christmas dinner was a big let down for vegetarians. The buffet was laid in a cramped tent And the layout was badly planned leading to a total chaos.

There are a few hotels next to the grand which offer a much better view and not as hyped as the grand.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest, We are saddened to hear that your stay at our hotel on Christmas eve was not an enjoyable one. The TV channels were not working as it should due to the strong winds and cloud cover we experienced during the entire week before Christmas. However, we have contacted our service providers and have now rectified it. Although we had 300 plus guest complementing and applauding our Chefs and F&B team for the Christmas eve dinner, we assure you, we understand your displeasure in not finding sufficient Vegetarian dishes and will use your input to improve our buffet menus. Best wishes for the New Year from all of us at the Grand Hotel, Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rooms have a very bad musty feel. We are in the supposedly (last year) newly renovated wing on the third floor.
Wanted a double or a least King bed got too singles. Housekeeping did bring them together for us, however it had to be done in the centre of the room in front of the night stand, which took half the space of the room.
This mornings buffet breakfast was ok.. Asked two people for Soy milk, they looked at me as if I was crazy... Eventually asked a manager whom had to check with the kitchen (he himself had no idea what I was talking about) and his reply was no.
Asked for a poached egg and again ???!!!! Blank look on the cooks face so I opted to go with an omelette... Which I may add was pretty good.
Not sure what the rest of our two night would bring..... I would suggest to at least research Soy milk and poached egg... As every hotel we have been too around this beautiful country carried it as standard. For the record should managers read this Soy milk is an alternative to those that are lactose intolerant and for breakfast it would mean having cereal and in your coffee or hot chocolate..

One final thing the check in procedure was somewhat un-orthodox but... Pleasent all the same. Would have been better if we were told that someone would be with us in a moment to check us in whilst we relaxed in the lobby and enjoyed some complimentary warm face towels and veggie soup... :) and extremely puzzled faces, as when we did try to make our way to the front desk we would politely be escorted to our seat.. Lol. After clearly asking why we relaxed. :))

Room Tip: Ask for King size bed before and at check in. And you must get a room on the new wing 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Whilst thanking you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not pleasant and enjoyable as it ought to be. We have taken your comments about the rooms very seriously and have already taken steps to "air " the rooms better, on days when we experience continuous wet weather. As for Soy milk, I must admit we did not have it in-house at the time of your request, however, we now have it, and will continue to carry it. Our Executive Chef has also educated the staff on the importance of catering to lactose intolerant individuals. We sincerely thank you for bringing this to our notice. Poached eggs are being served in our restaurant, and the difficulty you faced, may have been caused due to a case of mis-communication. We earnesty hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you. Best wishes from all of us at Grand Hotel, Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is great place to stop while visiting the hill country. Excellent service. It looks and feels like old colonial place which hosted many generations. Great the grill food. Croissants are the best in Sri Lanka, and it is first palatable espresso I had for the first time in 4 days in Sri Lanka.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Chefs and the Food & Beverage team are constantly being trained to be consistent in what they produce so that, travelers will be able to experience international favorites such as Croissants and Espresso's made and presented as they ought to. Please do visit us to experience the new dining options and other activities we have on offer. Thank you and wish all the very best for 2013. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

On first sight-a beautiful war looking hotel. Lot of wood work. Great Christmas decoration.
Problems
1. Check in service is bad-They forgot about us waiting
2. The first room stank. On asked for a change-they got a room spray. Still wanted a change and to their credit they did change it
3. Rooms are very small and washrooms too
4. Very basic washrooms for a 4 star hotel. Dustbins with no lids. Leaking kettles
5. Every door in the hotel room be it the outside door or the washroom door would get jammed and would have to be jimmied open by the staff-and i mean every door-we had booked 3 rooms and faced problems everywhere
6. Creaking floors
7. Didnt like the food either

The staff was friendly though. Overall a disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.