We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven with superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A haven with superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is old. But very well preserved. And superbly located.
Our room was very spacious and catered to our every need.
All the staff - with no exception - were superbly attentive and friendly.
The breakfast and dinner buffets were extensive, with a good selection of traditional Sri Lankan and international dishe.
The hotel is located outside the Nuwara Eliyah town centre, but within easy walking distance of the centre, Victoria Park and also the golf course.
The hotel's gardens are superbly manicured and a real haven. The gardens wrap around the hotel, but ask for a room facing the main garden in front of the hotel as the views are superb!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our resort. Your decision to spend two nights with us is indeed a wise one, as it has allowed you to absorb and appreciate the variety of experiences the Grand Hotel offers. Nuwara Eliya itself has many attractions which would warrant 4 to 5 days or even more depending on what your interests are. Hope you had an enjoyable tour of Sri Lanka and do visit us again. Thanks and best wishes for the season from all of us at the Grand.Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    323
    174
    62
    42
See reviews for
222
356
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights in this Olde World Hotel in Nuwara Eliay and would certainly recommend this hotel to any fellow travelers.The wooden paneling and the old charm of the place was very calming to us when we were running around the country.The food served in all their restaurants was first class, all the staff were amazingly attentive and only wanted to look after us to the best of their ability.The gardens were fantastic and we really enjoyed all topiary around the grounds. Overall a very comfortable hotel and a visit into the past times gone by.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind words about the resort and the service we offer. To satisfy each and every guest is what we strive for on a daily basis. Yes, the tranquility of Nuwara Eliya is indeed an ideal antidote after a round trip of the various parts of Sri Lanka. It is great that you decided to spend two days at our resort, unfortunately many visitors plan for only one day, which does not allow one to appreciate all that this hill station has to offer. In the meantime, we will stay committed to improve our property, the food and the service, so that travellers like yourself can truly have an enjoyable stay. Thanks once again and hope to see you again. Best wishes for the season. sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is situated in a middle of a beautiful garden filled with flowers. A romantic hotel for honeymooners. The rooms are big and comfortable giving a old English style effect. The food is really good. Service standards are very high. The snooker master – DON’T try to beat him, you will be the looser but give a try. Get up in the morning and have a walk you are in heaven. Well equip gym to keep you fit.
If you want to give a surprising gift to your loved ones without thinking twice go to the Grand

Room Tip: Try the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review. and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We ourselves are often overwhelmed by the beauty of Nuwara Eliya and the immediate environment we work in. So when you say "Get up in the morning and have a walk you are in heaven" ,we know exactly what you mean. The Snooker Master Nimal, is a regional champion, and more importantly a patient teacher of the game, and is a great asset to the resort.
However, we are constantly making improvement in our facilities and service, so that you can have an even better experience when you visit us next. So thanks again, and warm wishes for the Season from all of us at the Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spending 2 nights here I had a great time .. The hotel is located close to town so you can go around for a walk any time during the day or evening .. Everything is just outside the main entrance
Near to the entrance itself, is a little bakery with lovely cakes and snacks .. Unfortunately being a foreigner, non spicy bites were not available and had to settle for just a cake and coffee ..
The hotels grounds are beautifully kept and clean and the staff attentive and very accomodating and helpful ..
My room had a great view of the gardens and clean and i felt like i was home in a cottage living on a field of greenery ..
My only complaint was asking for a double bed but got 2 single beds .. Apparently no other rooms were available ..
Its a lovely gem of a place and very comfortable ..
Thumbs up from me ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us, we are delighted to hear that you have had a great time at our resort. Yes, being in the middle of this scenic town is a great advantage for visitors. Our team of Gardeners, led by our Farm & Garden Manager, are a dedicated lot, who tirelessly work to keep the garden as it is today. I will convey your sentiments to them. We have also noted your comment about the non-spicy bites and will make amends immediately. So, thanks once again for your kind words and do visit us again to see what additions we have made to the “Grand experience”. Best wishes, sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel has superb ambiance. The service of the staff was nice and the breakfast was excellent. The amenities of the hotel are nice, except that they do not have a heated swimming pool or a Jacuzzi. The tariffs are little on the higher side, but worth it as the hotel is in close proximity to the market area. The only problem we faced was of vegetarian food. There were not enough options for vegetarian people in breakfast or the restaurant. During one of our dinners at "The grand Indian" restaurant, they served us chicken in-spite of knowing that we were pure vegetarian and they were not too apologetic about it. But overall a good stay and would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us. The idea about a heated swimming pool and spa is great and has been suggested to us before. However, we are committed to provide the best possible service to our guest using the resources at hand, which is why your comments about vegetarian food selection and the quality of service is of paramount interest to us. We recall receiving a comment on the same lines in early November and since then have briefed our servers to be more attentive and sensitive to guests food preferences. So, please do visit us again to experience the changes we have made to serve you better. Thank you, sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

the hotel is located bang on the centre of the town. so you can go for leisurely walk. the weather was awesome & hence helped.
the big disappointment was the interiors of the hotel. rooms needs urgent attention.. its ancient... wooded flooring & doors makes so much noice ...sometime is haunting... facilities are no way close to a 4 star hotel ( which they claim). the ventilation is terrible ,,felt a bit uncomfortable at night.

but the gardens are well kept... there is an attached indian restaurant ..thats another big plus for me... food there was decent

Room Tip: do go to visit the TEA FACTORY hotel... while i didnt see the rooms the exterior of the hotel &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest, Whilst thanking you for reviewing us, let me assure you that we are making improvements to our interior, which I am sure you will notice, when you visit us next. Yes, our location is a huge plus, as it allows for many pleasant walks and treks. We are disappointed ourselves that you have not completely enjoyed your stay with us, and have taken serious note of your comments, which will, no doubt, help us to improve. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed for one nite at grand hotel . great hospitality. when we reachd gave hot napkins as it was very cold out. food was also good. room was beautiful with a room heater. nice warm stay. location is superb. garden is very well maintained with a play area for kids. liked the hotel a lot. the GRAND whenever go to nuwara eliya must stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and the endorsement you have given to our brand of hospitality. Nuwara Eliya is a city blessed with tranquility and character, and we at the Grand Hotel, endeavor to provide our services to complement this one-of-a-kind destination. We are happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay at our resort and we hope you visit us again. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.