We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Colonial Sri Lanka at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Tea Factory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Tea Factory to your Saves list
Heritance Tea Factory
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly Colonial Sri Lanka at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favourite hotels in Sri Lanka.
The location is idyllic among the tea plantations of Nuwara Eliya.
The authentic colonial yet Sri Lankan atmosphere surrounds the whole hotel from the old machinery down to the staff uniforms. The dinning options are all exquisite, where you can choose to dine in an old fashioned train carriage, or the sensational buffet and cozy bar. The menu was wonderful. They managed to include authentic Sri Lankan cooking with truly creative touches. The menu was really unique - and we've dined at many of Sri Lanka's best restaurants.
The service was also very attentive, generous and sincere even though we just dined at the restaurant and didn't stay in the rooms.
It is a unique and unforgettale experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    428
    146
    41
    16
See reviews for
295
713
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you just wanted to chill in Nuwara Eliya, a small hill station where all the tea plantations are, this is the place. We had stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. The location is exotic and has a unique feel .. a tea factory converted into a hotel inside a tea plantation. You can see the various shades of green here. The rooms are spotless clean and with gorgeous views. The bathrooms are also very nice. The restaurant was pretty good. We would love to go there again.

Room Tip: high floor corner delux rooms have amazing sunrise views and open on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

my parents and I had a warm welcome upon arriving; the rooms were clean and comfortable, and we all enjoyed the fresh strawberries and cream in the room. Dinner was a vast buffet, well presented and of good taste; we have a few walks to the buffet each. My parents also enjoyed the wine. The one man band was good; soft and classical; we didn't enjoy the waiters doing the choochoo train around the tables though, that did lower the standards a bit; the service was good, the restaurant staff is trained well and have lovely uniforms. I slept really well! The morning after I saw the sun set over the mountains with beautiful misty clouds covering the area, a lovely experience. Breakfast was good too; huge buffet! I stuffed my self well and proper. I would definitely come back and recommend this place to anyone visiting Nuwara Eliya, even if 10 min drive out of town. The massage was ok, had better ones back home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for our last night in Sri Lanka on our honeymoon and we definitely saved the best until last. This hotel stay, although just for one night was one like no other and we will never forget it. Firstly, the location is absolutely stunning with the beautiful tea plantation surroundings and driving up to the hotel is just picture perfect. On arrival, the staff were really friendly and bought us in to the reception area and gave us a delicious cup of spiced tea. This was possibly the nicest tea I had tasted whilst out there and we did drink a lot of tea. Once we were finished we were taken up to our rooms in the old style lifts. We just loved how we felt like we had stepped back in time going up in that lift. Being a converted tea factory makes this a really interesting building and the guy bringing us to our room enjoyed telling us about the history. He was very sweet & when we arrived at our room there was a little "congratulations" sign on our door in love hearts. We thought this was sweet they acknowledged we were on honeymoon and then again in our room more love hearts & petals on our bed. When we went for dinner that night they had laid the table different to other diners tables with pretty orchids & made a fuss of us. These little touches make all the difference & the staff seemed so genuine compared to the other hotels we had stayed in throughout our tour. During the day as we were only there for one night we had booked in to do tea plucking, however that had to be postponed until morning due to heavy rain. Instead we had some lovely Ceylon tea & warm fresh cookies and then booked in for an hours couple massage. This was all amazing. We highly recommend the massage. It was a back, neck & shoulder and although a little too much pressure at first once we asked if they could give less pressure both of our masseuses changed inmediately & it was perfect. Such a relaxing hour. The food at this hotel was delicious, from the afternoon tea we had, to dinner and then the breakfast choice all yummy. Possibly the best food we ate all week whilst in Sri Lanka. The curry I had for dinner was one of the nicest curries I have ever eaten. The next morning we did our tea plucking as promised if the weather was nice. We were lucky it was a sunny morning so after breakfast we got straight to it, had a tour of the mini factory by one of the workers and then she took us out to pluck. This was one of my favourite experiences as I had been looking forward to it since we booked our honeymoon. The lady who came with us & showed us how to pluck the right leaves was so sweet. She dressed us up ready to pluck, I loved my sari I didn't want to take it off afterwards. This was a really unique & interesting experience so we recommend doing that. On check out they gave us each a pack of tea leaves to take home. Can't wait to use them! Overall we can't fault this hotel at all, its like stepping back in time and imaging what England was like all those years ago. Amazing experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved it! The scenery, the room, the food, the outside lounge space with mini bar sourrounded by tea plantations! Very nice and surprising welcoming ritual :) Be careful, the sun is very strong even though you don't feel it that much because it is located on hills with fresh air!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It´s probably the most charming hotel I´ve stayed to.
The hotel is actually the old tea factory. So surrounded by tea plants up the hill. You are in the hearth of tea plants. The road to the hotel is really bad, but I don´t expect that you are driving and if yes not your car. And for the best experience try to plan your route to the hotel by train. It´s a great view through a train window, much better than going there by car. But back to the hotel.

The hotel is renovated the old factory. Don´t be afraid of it. It is a super luxury place inside! When you enter in the lobby you feel the 19th century everywhere. They think on every detail. The dresses of the staff, the interior, even the ventilator is original. You will think that you are a part of English colonialism… The dining is really nice. Unfortunately very little of sea food, but don´t be afraid there is original Sri Lanka cuisine, but also the European corner if you´re not curry lover:) The service is exceptional. Free internet by wi-fi is in the hotel. If you are in the tea area it is a must to stay there for a night!

I was thinking why the hotel is not a 5 star. There is no pool! It is said that they were thinking about building it, but it´s really cold there during the nights, so therefore they left that idea. So don´t forgot to bring trousers and sweats with you.

Good place for visiting Hortons national park. Not very good for Adam´s peak. As I mentioned the route to the hotel takes some time and for Adam´s peak you need to wake up really early morning so every ten minutes counts early morning.:) And why paying for such a great hotel if you are waking up so early and don´t enjoying the rich breakfast buffet. But they prepare for you breakfast box if you ask.

Free Wi-fi everywhere.

It´s a must to visit it and you will like do come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We only spent one night there but it was a night to remember. The first impression, the building and the view, was great and already set the scene for a really memorable experience. The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. Our room faced the valley and three walls had massive windows so we had some serious views! A walk through the little garden downhill from the hotel is also beautiful. The best part of our stay there was the romantic candle light dinner in the old train carriage. Pushpraj, our head waiter, really made the experience come to life. He greeted us with a little blow of the whistle and even shook the train a little during dinner to simulate a moving train. The service was exquisite. The chef himself came to take the order and we had numerous courses with excellent food. The best food food I had the entire holiday. I highly recommend this for couples. We'll definitely be back. Thank you Pushpraj!
What I also found great was the managements charitable activities - next to the reception you can find a little book where they detail their efforts. Such as buying a wheelchair for someone in the village, sending staff to university etc. I happily donated as I could see it was directly helping people in the hotel/village.

Room Tip: Room 208 had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritance Tea Factory 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Tea Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.