We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-stop during your travels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Tea Factory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Tea Factory to your Saves list
Heritance Tea Factory
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must-stop during your travels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were pretty excited to be staying here before we left on our trip. It certainly lived up to expectations. We traveled as a family (all adults, approx 30 for our mum's 60th).

At times the Tea Factory felt a little bit like a cruise ship with staff singing and dancing at dinner and dressing them up in silly outfits of an evening like a factory worker - but other than that, it was a brilliant place.

We were pretty underwhelmed by the chef's specialty at dinner, and with dinner overall (one of the nights was room service. But breakfast and lunch were excellent! We had lunch out on the balcony and it was brilliant.

We went for walks around the tea fields, and did tea picking which I highly recommend.

The staff were brilliant and I wish I could remember the young guy's name who welcomed us one night, and was genuinely friendly to us. He woudl be a front desk supervisor I'd imagine, nevertheless, he was really great.

But the real winner here is the fantastic building and its location. We didn't explore town at all, because we were so happy to spend our time at the tea factory. You can also satisfy all your tea-tourism needs without stopping at any other factories throughout the area.

The rooms are not big in comparison to other hotels in the price category throughout Sri Lanka, but that is because of the heritage of the building, which is excellent. The rooms are still a great size though. The view from our room was magnificant. And often we had our windows open. At night staff deliver you hot water bottles even. Ask for a view from the front of the hotel looking at the tea fields only, rather than the back down to the village. This is because rooms at the back of the hotel sit above the car area which can be noisy in the mornings.

The other big winner - HBO for the drivers! Sri Lankan hotels haven't yet worked out that drivers will be a major source of referral of guests, but this one at least is looking after them!

We loved the tea factory, and will definitely be back. Just hopefully they wont make the poor guys dress up in the lobby next time :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    490
    161
    47
    18
See reviews for
336
831
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was quite a journey from nuwara eliya on quite a rough road but once there the views are breath taking and the whole placehas a lovely feel to it.

We'd checked in and then on arriving at our room we were given our first surprise a lovely heart on the door (it was our honeymoon) a very nice touch. Our second surprise came when we went down to dinner when we were escorted to a secluded table where we were given an a la carte menu to choose a four course dinner from. The food was lovely and we were made to feel incredibly special, a thank you to all the staff for that. On returning to the room I had a bouquet if hand picked flowers waiting for me, again another lovely surprise.

Free wifi for all guests was very handy and we had a reasonable sized room with windows on two sides. It was a little dated in style in the rooms but the experience was one not to be missed. This was a truly memorable overnight stay before heading to our beach hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is the middle of a Tea field surrunded by hills. The out side looks like any other Tea factory but the inside is where it Gets interesting with hard wood Floors and the decor of a real factory. The food was great. We even did the Tea pluking witch i can recommend as very nice expirance and good photo op.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

As is clear from the other reviews, this hotel is a little out of the way (isolated) and we stopped off to see the old colonial post office (and Grand Hotel) at Nuwara Eliya on the way up. Indeed the road is a bit bumpy in places, but no worse than some of the main roads in the cultural triangle which were being re-laid during our tour.

We hesitated when booking our tour, whether to stay one or two nights here. We decided upon just one night and this was right for us. It was a long journey to the Heritance TF from Kandy, with all the necessary photo stops to take in the wonderful views of the tea plantations (and tea pickers), visit a working tea factory visit (Blue Fields) and it was an even more torturous trip the following day all the way to our beach resort via Pinnawella. But was it worth the effort - YOU BET IT WAS!

It is a theme hotel built within the constraints of the original building. You cannot be prepared what you see when you walk in through the entrance. Most staff are dressed in (presumably colonial) dress and this adds to the quirky effect of the place. There is a mine of information around if you take the time to read it and a colour scheme has been used to show which bits are the original structure (green) and which are additions (red). There is an original engine in the basement (1930's from Birmingham England) which is run in the evening for a short while to generate power and show how this used to drive the machinery in the factory. Don't miss it like we did while we were getting changed for dinner.

Like many we suffered a change in the weather as soon as we arrived (14.30) and then the mists closed in and we had to wait for morning for the blue skies and sunshine again. However the views of the mist as it rolled in across the tea fields was eerie and nothing like the misery of mist and rain in the UK. Plenty of camera shots out of our fourth floor room windows

We took a tour of the small organic tea factory next to the hotel and filled in the information gaps of what we hadn't quite picked up at the other tea factory tour on the way up from Kandy.

The food was good and styled slightly differently to that at our other hotels (maybe more English in style and presentation?) but the ubiquitous Sri Lankan curry selection was still there. If I have a criticism, it is that the restaurant was a little on the 'dark' side for my liking. A little bit more subtle lighting would have been good. There were several people receiving 'birthday/celebration' cakes and sparklers on the evening we were there too - delivered in a conga by the staff!

Next morning we were up early for breakfast before which we quickly re-took the photos around the grounds in the morning sun and went outside with coats expecting it to be freezing! It wasn't and it was very pleasant.

One night was enough for us, but for those interested in a more leisurely stop and wanting to spend an extra day looking around Horton Plains and Adams Peak then two nights would definitely be a good idea, but we had a beach hotel waiting!

There is no swimming pool by the way!

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth (executive) floor may give best views. Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

In an incredible setting the tea factory does not disappoint, when we arrived the mist was setting in but 15 minutes later the views were incredible over the tea and vegetable fields all around.

Upon arrival we were greeted by some very smartly dressed and polite staff, and introduced to the local nature guide and the 'Train Captain'. Our first surprise came when heading to our lovely room offering us a congratulatory welcome message (it was our honeymoon) and then at 7pm when they started up the tea press in the lobby to show what it would have been like as a working tea factory.

The following morning we joined the nature trail around the local town and through the tea fields with the very clued up nature guide who didn't miss a beat in showing you various wildlife and plants that would normally go unnoticed, we followed this with an afternoon session of picking tea and processing it in the onsite organic tea factory and even got to bring our brew home!

By far the most enjoyable time at the tea factory was spent on TCK 6685! The train carriage restaurant was a fantastic experience, the food incredible, the atmosphere superb (the train will sway with the help of the waiters,and the train soundtrack) but most of all the train captain (Pushparag) the chef and the 'runner' made it the evening it was.

On top of all of this was the pony trek guide, who was always smiling and really did give you that added good feeling that the staff here couldn't do enough for you!

If you want a quiet location that has lots to do, we couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour of Sri Lanka and were not disappointed. The hotel is a converted tea factory and has the wow factor for just being unique and different. We had a "premier" room on the 3rd floor which had triple aspect window/views - just amazing outlook. The room was lovely, spacious and clean with excellent facilities. Spacious bright and airy bathroom with bath and shower. We recommend paying the extra for a "premier room" and to ask for eithetr a double or triple apsect view.

Note that Nuwerya Elya is a bit far to go having got to the hotel, but in our view there is enough at the hotel to keep you interested and relaxed.

The food and restaurant is very good. The main restaurant serves a buffet and has an a la carte menu as well. . We definitely recommend the a la carte menu and to reserve a table away from the main buffet area - for dinner and breakfast.

Best food was in the themed railway carriage. 6/7 courses served in a converted railway carriage - brilliant! great food and fun. Note there is only one sitting per evening and only four tables (of four). We recommend you book in advance and before you get there. It is very popular. Its not really expensive - set meal with various choices for 5000 rupees each which is £25 each. Yes, expensive for Sri lanka but for that quality food you would pay 3 times that in UK.

There is a nice bar and lounge area where you can eat snacks and a good range of cocktails including tea cocktails. Usual alcoholic drinks all at very reasonable and quite cheap prices

.The tea plucking tour is a must - really good fun and interesting. Its only 400 rupees each which is about £2 and for that you get some tea to take home. You can do lots of walking on your own or get a guided walk.

Above all, the staff were great. Helpful, friendly and very professional. Absolutely no negative aspects from our point of view. We are so pleased we chose this hotel.

Room Tip: Pre book a premier room with double or triple aspect windows/views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are on a tour in the country, I think this hotel is worth the detour. Need to remember that this is not really Nuwaraeliya. Nuwaraeliya is about 45minutes drive away.

We had the warm towels and spiced tea welcome on arrival. Our room was very good and different. However, our room was in the first floor and you could hear anyone walking around in the floor above you. Sleeping with no aircon or fan was lovely.We admired the working machinery, read all the excellent information and booked ourselves a nature walk the next morning and dinner in the railway carriage for our second night. A quick visit to the mini tea factory and then it was confined to barracks.This hotel definitely weather dependent.[ if do not want to confine to your own room ] The hotel is an experience.We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the dining car.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor for a better view better view, facing away from the service areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritance Tea Factory 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Tea Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.