We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Shameful Assistant Manager George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Tea Factory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Tea Factory to your Saves list
Heritance Tea Factory
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Shameful Assistant Manager George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful hotel, the overall experience was good leaving aside the VERY Shameful behaviour of their Assistant Manager, George I would have rated this Hotel a 5 star Hotel.We had booked the the executive rooms and had specified that we are strict vegeterians yet they made the mistake of keeping non veg snacks in our rooms. This was discussed with the manager Prem on the first day and he was very aplogetic, matter over. But this person George was not at all aplogetic and he had a care a damned attitude. His attitiude was not at all befitting a hotel of this high repute. On another occasion we did not have breakfast and yet they charged us for it , the sum was very small only Indian rupees 700 but seeing their attitude it felt that they are worse than a 3rd grade hotel. LET ME CLARIFY THAT ONLY MR. George's attitude was PATHETIC.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms on the top floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance T, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your comment and shall appreciate if you could permit us to explain our side of the story.

At the time of your arrival our team was not aware that your group consisted of vegetarians and it had not been specified by your travel agent in the voucher. The canapés (vegetarian and non vegetarian) are provided on complimentary basis by the Management and the guest has the option of refusing /returning the same. However, we believe an apology had been rendered to you by all concerned.

You may recall that our Executive Chef personally met your group and organized vegetarian food as per the requirements.

As regards the dispute on being charged for breakfast, please note that the whole group had consumed breakfast except one lady for whom a packet of breakfast had been taken away by the other members of the group. The three breakfasts in question had been for three children who were between 8 and 12 years who had been billed accordingly.

As the Asst. Manager of the establishment, Mr. George was merely making an effort to resolve the dispute and arrive at an amicable solution which may have created a misunderstanding.

However, we regret for the misunderstanding caused due to the above. We trust the above incidents would not prevent you from visiting us again. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Executive General Manager
Heritance Tea Factory,
Kandapola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    428
    146
    41
    16
See reviews for
295
713
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Its a good hotel but I think its needs a bit of modernisation.

Positives
Excellent location
Good food choice
Pleasant staff
Welcoming drink

Negative
Rooms need to be modernised
Over play of the British empire period
Limited Facilities e.g. Gym
Standard have dropped from previous trip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for just one night but was really impressed by both the service in the hotel/ restaurant and the restored hotel which made for a very interesting stay.

Was conveniently located to Nuwara Eliya (maybe 10-15 minutes by car). Stunning location up in the tea plantations and nice, if slightly small, rooms in what was an 19th century tea factory which was closed / abandoned in 1972 until being renovated into the hotel that opened in 1996.

Lots to explore in the hotel, as many original features were maintained.

For around £25p/p, you can take dinner in a 1930s railway carriage which has been located by the restaurant. Sounds naff, but was actually a really great experience and the 6-course dinner tasted fantastic.

When you end up doing a lot of driving around Sri Lanka on a tour, it is places like this that make it more bearable when you have it to look forward to at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London and Gower Peninsula, Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed one night on a Sri Lanka tour. As noted by others the road there isn't great but nearly all the roads in Sri Lanka are terrible so it didn't trouble us. The conversion is an architectural tour de force and worth a visit for that alone. The location is breathtaking. Service is good. Dinner and breakfast were good. We aren't dinner buffet fans so it was never going to get an excellent from us for dinner. There is an option to eat a la carte in a railway carriage outside - looked interesting but we didn't try. Our room was good but we were awoken at 5 in the morning by people clumping around in the room above, presumably packing up to leave. It took them an hour! I would strongly recommend getting a top floor room. We had a 2 hour guided walk which was great. Little tea factory on site is interesting. I would rate excellent but for the noise problem.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid noise from room above if they make an early start which is quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice ambiance in lobby. Amazing welcome tea. Rooms were little congested. Good food. Kids liked pony ride. Weather was not good in October. Rail coach restaurant was a different concept. Nice location in tea plantation. Could not believe that it was a hotel and not factory from far.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is situated in possibly one of the best locations nature can provide. Its perched on a lone hill and sarrounded by tea plantations around, a little away from the main town of Nuwara Eliya.. It really worth it after the long uphill climb from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya. The lobby is formal as also warm and welcoming and has a bit of the old world charm. The hotel is remodelled from an old tea factory. The check-in process was smooth and fast. The staff were friendly. It had a huge elavator, the old stlye went up and down slow but very smooth and worked to perfection.
The room, (just mine) was a bit of a dissappointment to me . As I had opted for a single occupnacy room I was literary given a single room with a single bed and it was also very small. Also what I found a bit funny that they took the single bit a little too seroisly and provided one set ot towels/napkins, one bottle of drinking water and even just one tea cup in their tea service in the room. But the good thing was that it had a large wardrobe and a huge bath room. Apart from which there was not much place to move about in the room. The mobile charger point was located a very inconvinient location, under the desk. The room had only a heater which got a bit stuffy after a point as winter had not set in fully in early november. However the view from the room was great. (On inquiring with the staff, I was informed that the hotel had four such original single rooms. Good concept though not very comfortable).
The dining room was formal but here again the staff especially one chef Mr Shamo (I think that was his name) was very friendly. He greeted and chatted with the guests and also took pains to explain the disshes and identified the specail vegetarian menu at mealtimes. The food was good , the buffet as also the la carte selections. There was a large variety of vegetarian options available.
The hotel provided good excursions mostly hiking, bird watching etc and a visit to the mini tea factory though I could not avail of those but did go for there night safari. It was an hour long excorsion by special car provided by the hotel with a sepearte driver and guide. It was safe though it was a ride in the dark . We mamanged to do quite a bit of animal spotting msotly herds of hears and wild buffalos.Its definately worth a try and was very reasonably priced.
The check out took a bit longer but was good. The hotel also has a little shop selling teas and souvienerrs that are worth a buy.
On the whole a great experienec at this hotel. The view is just awesome and really ver breath taking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

After 8 hours travelling in the car, the sight of the Tea Factory hotel looming was more than welcome. Arrival/check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was cosy and comfortable with fabulous views. We opted for the meal in the railway carriage. Food was excellent, but the whole experience was too gimicky for our liking and the meal took too long given our long day on the road and early start the next day. Superb breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritance Tea Factory 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Tea Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.