We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of history, bit of romance and bit of everything ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Tea Factory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Tea Factory to your Saves list
Heritance Tea Factory
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bit of history, bit of romance and bit of everything ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for couple of nights during our honeymoon in 2009. It is a very clever idea to convert a old tea factory in to a world class hotel. The service and the food was excellent. We also took the mini tour in the little tea factory outside the hotel. You can also have dinner in the train carriage in the hotel garden. The hotel has a amazing view of the mountains around it. The hotel is located in a great place to visit Nuwara Eliya and the Haggala Botanical Gardens, We had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    490
    161
    46
    18
See reviews for
336
830
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night as we drove from the historic area of Sri Lanka to the south coast.
The building is spectacular and interesting in a fascinating location.
Public rooms are adequate and our bedroom a reasonable size although we got cold during the night.
Breakfast was good with plenty of fruit.
We would ourselves stay here again if traveling through and would similarly recommend it to other people. More than one night would be boring as there are no extra facilities in the hotel or area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We selected Nuwara Eliya as our first destination of Sri Lanka so that the toughest drive from the Colombo Airport can be taken first. Took us around 6 hrs from airport incl a one hour detour for Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is 40 min away from the city and that is a good thing as well as bad. Good for people who wish to stay away from all hustle and bad for people who wish to do a lot of sight seeing. Since it is far the car driver would take you only once to the city.

The property is awesome and gives you a feel of british era, a true heritage property. The view from the property is awesome and they take you for a small hike around the property for 60 min for LKR 200 only. This is a must do.

There is a pony ride for LKR 500 and Tea plucking for LKR 500 which you may do in free time.

There is a small but neat garden at the property where kids would love to play. Also there is a small flower garden in the property if you are interested in them.

We had some problem with food as we were vegetarian. The property also serves Jain food.

All in all a great place for resting.

Room Tip: If you are vegetarian pls do not stay on the first floor as there is a smell of non veg from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

As mentioned by others, it is a trek up to the hotel but they are building a new road - which should be finished in about 5 years maybe!
We only stayed one night, a 4 hour trip to the hotel and a 5 hour trip onward the next day and we would do it again. Wonderful hotel with great staff and a highlight of our trip. Stop on the way to see a tea factory in operation and enjoy the stunning scenery. Whilst there, make sure to do the "safari" which is walk with a guide. Go to the village if possible which was very interesting. The buffet dinner was not as varied as offerred by some bigger hotels but the quality was better. With hindsight we should have stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

A really novel hotel, great welcome too! But a nightmare road getting to it - the hotel really needs to improve the road, our driver nearly ripped his tyres getting there! The hotel was quieter than the previous hotels we had stayed in on the tour, but that just added to the ambience. We went for a quick walk round the grounds when we arrived, checking out the mini tea factory and the gardens - the staff were lovely and keen to show the plants and animals on the grounds. We had taken the train from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya - we would highly recommend this trip! The tea was amazing - I changed my whole opinion on tea whilst here! The weather was a shock to the system - it was like being back at home and the only hotel on the tour where they show you how to work the heating rather than the air conditioning! All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a great place to stay in a hill-station and do nothing!!! It has a unique charm being a real Tea Factory before restoring it into a hotel and you can feel and smell tea everywhere. A delight for a true tea lover. Rooms are tastefully refurbished. Food is excellent and the staff is courteous and friendly. Although located in a bit remote location away from the city, that itself adds to the charm of this hotel.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms which are overlooking the huge chimney of this ancient tea factory. Better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

It's quite a trek to get there, but it truly is a breathtaking view. The hotel looks quite stale and modern from the outside, but inside it has plenty warmth and charm. The service is fantastic. There is nothing much around, but it's the kind of place to get away from everything for some peace and quiet. The food and the restaurant is good(not outstanding)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritance Tea Factory 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Tea Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.