We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience to your Saves list
Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience
509/11 Sanasa Holiday Resort | Toppass Kandy Road, Nuwara Eliya 00200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 112 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Cairns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Misty View Cottages is one of those experiences you will never forget and which we are still talking about. From the minute that we arrived until the minute that we left we were made to feel very special. We had made our booking online the day before through a hotel website and within half an hour of making our booking, we received an email from Dammika, the Managing Director thanking us for our booking and providing us with arrival information - we instantly went wow, that is impressive. We were greeted so warmly upon our arrival and were presented with a cup of tea whilst our luggage was taking care of and all we had to do was enjoy the stunning views of the tea plantations and enjoy that fresh country air that was coming in the open windows. Every little detail was thought of and we were provided with such a comprehensive menu for dinner that evening - our hardest decision was choosing from all the succulent dishes on offer finally opting for a Sri Lankan meal which had to be the best meal we had whilst in Sri Lanka. The rooms were beautifully furnished, cozy, with a beautiful ensuite bathroom and I don't know whether it was the fresh cool mountain air but we both slept so well. We spent the late afternoon sitting outside in the garden just absorbing the view and watching everyday life that was passing by on the road below. The staff were absolutely fabulous and they made you feel so welcome. Breakfast was just amazing and I swear we both rolled away from the table. We would dearly love to return one day to the amazing hospitality of Dammika and his team and it is an experience we will always treasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMistyRange, Owner at Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We thank you for your review and highly appreciate your detailed and valued feedback. Your feedback has helped us in motivating our team as well as offerring an even higher standard of service to our valued guests. Further, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed our facilities and services and have had a comfortable and a pleasant stay with us.
We thank you once again for choosing Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience as your preferred venue to stay in Nuwara Eliya Sri Lanka and hope that we would have the honour of serving you even better in the not too distant furure.
Dammika Bandaranayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The atmosphere of this place is lovely as is the welcome. The service is a bit OTT but to be honest we appreciated it - especially as they got up to make us breakfast before we left for Hortons Plains at 5.30am. Good food and lots of it (but we only tried the sri lankan cuisine). Rooms a bit small but didn't bother us and the view is great. Nice to be outside of bustling Nuwara Eliya.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMistyRange, Owner at Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we highly value your feedback. We have taken note of your concerns and have taken an extra step in training our team.
Furthermore, we are glad to note that you have had a pleasant stay with us and whilst thanking you once again for staying with us, we hope we would have an opportunity to serve you in the future.
Dammika Bandaranayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

LOVED our stay here! My friend and I received a warm welcome, and a beautiful cup of tea whilst we took in the stunning views that greeted us. Yes, the property is out of town, but the views more than make up for it and the walk to/from Nuwara Eliya provides a decent workout if you're up for it (about 30 minutes in/35 minutes back up the hill). The food is mostly fantastic (my biriyana on the first night was a little disappointing, but the curry chicken the next night more than made up for it), and the breakfasts are delicious! The service is 5-star, and you leave feeling truly refreshed and like you have experienced a very special part of Sri Lanka. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and have already recommended this place to others heading to Nuwara Eliya. Note that there are some pesky flies around, so keep your doors closed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMistyRange, Owner at Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and we highly appreciate your valued feedback. We are glad to know that you have had a pleasant sat with us whilst ejoying the services offered. Once again we thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you once again!
Dammika Bandaranayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

First and foremost be prepared for a different experience than in any other ho(s)tel. You will feel welcomed and taken care of from the moment you arrive (park the car actually, because the staff will already greet you there), up to the moment you leave (with the owner & staff waving goodbye). I also have to mention the great food served during our stay (breakfasts and dinners). If you travel with a driver guide you'll have no problem with a bit remote location and will enjoy the views and fresh morning air (btw. be careful, it might be a bit cold in this region). Highly recommended place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMistyRange, Owner at Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and choosing to stay with us at The Misty Range Nuwara Eliya Sri Lanka.
We are glad to kwow that you have enjoyed your stay very much and it has indeed been our pleasure serving you.
Dammika Bandaranayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Situated high on a (misty) hill on the outskirts of Nuwara Eliya, this was a real find. The host was super-attentive and the homestay was full of thoughtful touches such as flower garlands and tea on arrival. We felt really spoilt throughout our stay and they were great with our baby. Views were phenomenal, as was the food. Yes, it's a bit different to your soul-less big hotel, but we loved it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMistyRange, Owner at Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience Nuwara Eliya Sri Lanka as your preferred venue on your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya. Further, we are pleased to note that your have had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us enjoying our services and facilities.
We at the misty range strive to ensure that our valued guests are provided with the best possible services at all times.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope that we would have the opportunity to serve you even better in the not too distant future!
Dammika Bandaranayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was the best place we stayed at Sri Lanka and in fact in other countries as well. Very home style but with excellent service. In particular, our personal butler was great, very helpful, even played with our child, took care of all of us. The level of service is great - next to nothimg. Highlty recommended! Thank you, Misty View team!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMistyRange, Owner at Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We would like to thank you for your sincere feedbaack and for placing this review. We are indeed happy to note that your stay with us has been extremely comfortable. Our team is dedicated to providing a very personalised service maintaining high standards.
Thank you very much once again for choosing the misty range Nuwara Eliya as your preferred venue on your recent visit to Sri Lanka and we look forward to serving you once again.
Dammika Bandaranayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is 3Km away from the city center of Nuwara Eliya. Before going to this hotel, we were a little bit worried about the quality of the hotel. But after we arrived, it is really beyond our expectation. The hotel is family-style. It has a very cozy lounge (living room). The hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. They just make you feel at home. They will serve you the complementary fresh fruit juice upon arrival and also give you a complementary laurel made of fresh flowers. Beside, the hotel is on the top of a hill and it has Pidurutalagala, the highest mountain peak at Sri Lanka, seated on the opposite. The whole atmosphere is very peaceful. The food at this hotel is also very good. Though we haven't tried the dinner yet, the light lunch already surprised us. The soup is very tasty, so is the french toast. Moreover, our rental car had some problem on our way to the hotel. We tried to call the rental car company but the staff at rental car company doesn't speak English well. The owner of the hotel then kindly helped us to communicate with the rental car company. You can really feel all the staffs in the hotel and the hotel owner are serving you with heart and are very detail-oriented. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMistyRange, Owner at Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your genuine and sincere feedback. We are very happy to note that you have had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

It is our continuous effort striving to exceed our guests expectations at all times.

Thank you once again for having chooning Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience Nuwara Eliya Sri Lanka and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Dammika Bandaranayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience

Address: 509/11 Sanasa Holiday Resort | Toppass Kandy Road, Nuwara Eliya 00200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty View Cottage offers guest's to enjoy and explore tradditional yet chic Boutique Style Sri Lankan hospitality as you stay with the owner. Surrounded by the beautiful "Kikiliyamana Rain Forest & Mountain Range" and overlooking "The Piduruthalagala Mountain" - Sri Lanka's Highest Mountain Peak, Misty View Cottage offers 02 (Two) cosy non-smoking Twin-bedded Rooms which are fully carpeted and with Private En-Suite Bathrooms. The Rooms offer free Breakfast,Evening cocktail Snack, Wi-Fi, LED TV, 40-Channel Satelite TV Connection personal DVD Player with a selection of In-House Movies, Electronic Radio-Alarm-Clock, Tea & Coffee making facility and 24hrs Room Service. Available on request are Iron & Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Baby Cot and Essential Toiletries and Automatic Temperature Controlled Room Heaters . Offering plenty of natural light, the naturally cooled rooms have large windows that offer views of the mountains and opens out to your private garden.Outdoor seating are provided in the garden.The Cottage Kitchen serves a variety of local and international dishes prepared by our Master Chef and A beverage menu selection. This property provides a variety of recreational activities. Guests can enjoy fishing, hiking or horseback riding. Car and bicycle rental services are also provided for those who wish to explore the area. Our dedicated team can assist with sightseeing and travel bookings. Misty View Cottage is located on a steep hill top 200 metres from the Nuwara Eliya Highway and 3 km from Nuwara Eliya Town. Colombo International Airport is a 4.5-Hour drive away. Indoor games are provided for guest entertainment.As the owner is an animal lover the Cottage is home to 5 Dogs, Birds, Dand Aquariums. Laundry service, Pick-Up/ meet & Greet Transfer services from Nanu Oya Railway Station and the Main Bus Terminal In Nuwara Eliya could be provided for a nominal fee. (On prior request only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty View Cottage Home Stay Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.