We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, good food, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midky Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Midky Hotel to your Saves list
Midky Hotel
405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good rooms, good food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here on our honeymoon tour of SL. Very comfortable hotel, big rooms, bid beds, very clean, nice bathrooms, helpful staff. Hotel meals were delicious. A bit out of town but that meant it was quiet. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    24
    6
    12
See reviews for
28
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean and lovely. We had a very good view from our room. Spacious living room for the kids to run around. Room service needs to improve. Took quite a time for our requests to be sent up to our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A lovely little place with a unique style, really appreciated the high quality sheets, the spacious bathroom and the heater in the room. Was also great to have tea and coffee facilities. We were a "walk in" and they made the process of checking in very easy, which is a very big plus!
Only negative thing was perhaps the fact our bedhead was set up right against a low window, this meant that we lost our pillow down the head of the bed and our heads were right up against where the cold was coming in! A headboard would make a big difference!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I would advise people to stay there on their trip to newira eliya... Me n my family had a lovely time there... The hotel is like English type homes and located on the main road and has car parking facilities... It's got a wonderful view from the restaurant and is just about 2 kms away from the main shopping area...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubail
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not good , electric problems , tv not working for 2 days , no internet , bad attitude for your driver with bad food , its better not to say more to compleat the 200 characters , i do not want to say more than what i said

Room Tip: Bad hotel , only the locatin is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is my second visit to Midky. Hotel has been improved a lot in comfort and service.it has very good heating system and we had to switch off later in the night.Hotel situated on a hill overlooking PIDURUTHALAGALA mountain with a tea plantation view. In addition they have very friendly and helpful staff.I can confirm without any hesitation that whoever staying will get value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Piduruthalagala recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hi Manjula,

It is very nice to be in your hotel that we both enjoyed the stay no words to say will promote to everybody for sure we felt homely with your lovely service. special thanks to the staff and please specially thanks Murthi for his lovely service.

Thank you soo much Manjula

Room Tip: always honeymoon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Midky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midky Hotel

Address: 405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. INTRODUCTION Midky Hotel sits 6,182 feet (1'884 meters) above sea level cradled amidst the mist covered mountains. 2. LOCATION The drive up to the hotel is a scenic one, with lush greenery, waterfalls, tea plantations and majestic mountains. It is approximately 170 Km (5 hours) from the Colombo International Airport. 4. SERVICES Rooms: The rooms at Midky Hotel feature specious interior with fine beddings and furnishing made out of Teak & Mahogany wood. Each Deluxe & Honeymoon rooms are equipped with Mini Bar, All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV with cable channels, and well equipped with all modern comforts to make your holiday a pleasant one. TOTAL NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS Standard Rooms - 2 Honeymoon Rooms - 02 Deluxe rooms - 04 ROOM SPECIFICATIONS Room Area - 300 sq. feet. Bathroom area - 50 sq. feet Land area of the hotel and its surroundings – 36 p. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Midky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midky Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.