We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique and highly recommendable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Rock Hotel to your Saves list
The Rock Hotel
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   60 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 128 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Kiel, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unique and highly recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

remotely and calmly situatated on the foothills above Nurelia it allows a wonderfull yiew on the town and lake, it is furnished in traditional british style with good luxery and ease. the team is very friendly and supplies an excellent Service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    22
    16
    6
See reviews for
17
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed one night as part of a tour. This place was better than it looked on first sight! The surroundings need tidying up and a lick of paint. Hotel style reception and generally very good service. Spacious room. A proper bar with more than just Lion beer. Breakfast was good: the food at dinner was acceptable, but ordinary. Nice location high above the town, although surrounded by other guest houses, with quite a long, steep walk into the centre. Just lacked the finishing touches (e.g. neglected terrace, windows which would not close) to make it really nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

this hotel exceeded our expectattions. On arrival we were shown a very limited menu and told we had to order dinner for later, The choices were chicken or fish. A short while later we rang down to reception and asked if we could change our order and have a local vegetable curry. The staff were happy to change our order and we enjoyed a lovely meal that evening. Breakfast was fine and we were offered eggs and had toast. There was pelnty of it. The shower was cold however they rectified this. The hotel is dated but in a nice way and i really liked the facilities they had such as tea and coffee makings in the room. Overall a good hotel which i would recommend. beds were clean and staff were very good and attentive

Room Tip: Deluxe had TV and tea and coffee making facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms were cosy and big enough for the 2 days we spent at the Rock. The reception staff, particularly Graham, were excellent and friendly, we were made to feel that they would do anything for us to enjoy our stay. However, when we spent the evening in the hotel. We were seated, but we felt that it was all too much to serve us drinks and remember our food we had ordered. One of our party did not receive his main meal until the rest of us had finished and when it arrived it was practically inedible, we had to do a lot of reminding to get what had asked for. Although there was a large party dining before us, there was only our party of four and a family to serve. When the chef served us with no complaint, we got the feeling that there was improvement needed in the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very nice place to stay and a very homely atmosphere. Rooms / toilets.....very clean. Went with 27 people booking 7 rooms. The staff were very friendly and accommodating at all times. Quality of food needs a bit of improvement and staff need a bit of training on handling big crowds at a given point. But overall, a very nice place and very affordable, right in the heart of the city. Value for money (accommodation wise) 100%.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

A very nice place with fireplaces in the rooms, ancient furniture and polite staff. The chief has kindly agreed to cook the fish which we brought from the market. It was a pleasure being in this hotel and we were rather upset that we've left it next day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is located up in the hills, about 10 minutes car ride from Kandy centre, in the middle of other small hotels and local houses. The room fitted our family, but with all the luggage it got a little crowded. The bathroom was very small and the shower basic. Bed were ok.

The food was ok, local curries and western food were available. The smelly variety of rice that was served to us on the first night was exchanged for something more normal at our request.

The restaurant also had a little bar and lounge area, with darts and other games, which the children enjoyed. Service was among the best we had on our trip, the manager went out of his way to help us with different things and he was always in such a good mood. We really felt at home in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Address: 60 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Rock Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 10 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Each room includes in room safe, desk, television. This excellent hotel in Nuwara Eliya also has laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, bicycle rental, car park. Facilities for recreation and leisure available include garden. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.