We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine and Nice, clean basic place with very kind staff and good View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MountView Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added MountView Cottage to your Saves list
MountView Cottage
Border of Highest Mountain in Sri Lanka | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine and Nice, clean basic place with very kind staff and good View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoyed very much the warm and kind hospitality at MountView cottage which is nicely situated above Nuwara Elia. We stayed there in January 2013 with two kids. The room was basic but fine for one Night and the breakfast was good. The staff was very helpfull and kind,

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for selecting our mountview cottage.We really appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor.I hope your feedback will help to other travelers looking accommodation in nuwara eliya.Sorry for if any mistake done from our side.But we are always giving good service all of our clients.We welcome you again on your next holiday in srilanka.Thank You Regards Shiromi and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
71
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for a night, it's a nice downhill walk into town and an easy tuk-tuk back if you are tired!
We ate down in the town but they recommended a couple of placed to stay.
The rooms were comfortable enough, they also arranged a takeaway breakfast as we were heading off to World's End early the following morning. The did however put our breakfast in polystyrene containers (which you are not allowed to take on the hike) so we had to eat our breakfast before we headed off.
Nice enough to spend a night or too..

Room Tip: ask to have the takeaway breakfast in napkins or something you can take on the hike as polystyrene i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for visiting MountView Cottage Nuwara Eliya.Your valid comment help us for future improvements.We will more improve our stranded and we are always welcome world around travelers to stay with us."Your comfortable stay' we are thanking and welcome again in future Thank You Regards Shiromi and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, it looked closed. But in a couple of minutes the owner came. We were there in the low season, maybe that's why it looked closed. Very quite place, not really close to the city and neither to Gregory lake. The stuff did there best but they didn't speak that much to us. For trips they charged really high prices, so arrange the somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Katharina.Thank you for taking time to write a comment about mountview cottage nuwara eliya.Your feedback very important to us.If you think our hotel looked closed.Not the low or high season normally in nuwara eliya area all hotels main door has closed.Cold climate we can't open the doors during winter time.sorry for any inconvenience caused.I offer very reasonable price for your trips (Tea factory & Kandy drop)Again thank you very much visiting for mountview cottage nuwara eliya.Regards shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are quite comfortable (although an extra blanket would be nice). The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, probably Mountview's greatest asset. The view is quite nice and the restaurant serves decent food. Wouldn't say it's the best value for money but a sweet place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a experience about mountview cottage nuwara eliya. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay at mountview cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards, Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here with a buddy from university, it's a great place, the views are breathtaking and the hospitality is nothing less than perfect. the staff are so welcoming and make you feel very much at home. I stayed at the Taj Samudra in Colombo for the rest of my trip but still missed this place a lot. I would definitely suggest anyone travelling to Nuwara Eliya to try this place and they will not be disappointed one single bit.

Room Tip: pick room 103 or 101, it's got the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. Your comment is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our mountview cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards, Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful views, in the morning especially, spacious bedroom and bathroom (en-suite) and fantastic food.

You can't go wrong with this accommodation. It's a stroll down hill to get to the town and a quick tuk tuk ride back up.

The chanting, yes, they are on evening and morning but hey, what a good way of feeling part of a different culture, experiencing it and if you want to sleep-in in the morning just put some ear plugs on, you won't hear a thing ;-)

Really loved the tips that Lawrence gave us throughout our stay and his son in law gave us a lift to Unawatuna too.

Nice family run B&B that will go a long way if keeps the service up like they are doing!!
really recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Mery Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our cottage in nuwara eliya srilanka. Your feedback is very important to us. Also will helpful for future clients. As we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay at mountview sri lanka . We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView.Thank You Shiromi Nanayakkara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very comfortable with nice view village Hotel. Just like stay at home. The manager of the Hotel is very helpful and kindly. Every morning breakfast is very impressive! We absolute want to return back to visit .

Room Tip: view room downstair 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jane Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. Also will helpful for future travelers. As we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MountView Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MountView Cottage

Address: Border of Highest Mountain in Sri Lanka | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmly welcome to MountView Cottage Nuwara Eliya.We are proud to say our hotel is located in the border of highest mountain in srilanka.Nuwara-Eliya is more about cooler climate relaxing getaway from the busy hectic hotter Colombo life or any other busy life Sri Lanka cities. Specially things to see Beautiful greenery hills, Fresh vegetable farms, dairy farms, Delicious fruits and beautiful flowers,Most of tea plantations.You can choice best of the hotel accommodations and cuisines, and many detours to find some history.We are offer grate stay at MountView. Enjoy and relax panoramic view of hill country valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your MountView Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MountView Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.