We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MountView Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added MountView Cottage to your Saves list
MountView Cottage
Border of Highest Mountain in Sri Lanka | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A great little family run guesthouse a little way up the hill out of town (100rupe tuk tuk)
Very friendly manager who was extremely helpful in organising tours. Very accommodating in cooking any food we desired which was fantastic. And she was really nice to have a chat with. Recounting some funny stories of past guests. The call to prayer twice a day was a bit loud, nothing ear plugs didnt fix. The tour out to Horton plains was in a very comfortable van with a great driver. Really enjoyed our stay here. Very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
69
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It is much more than just a place to sleep, it feels like a home from home! kasun & shiromi who runs this place is extremely friendly and very helpful. Make sure you eat there as the food is absolutely delicious. excellent staff and service.. nice place to stay. location could not have been better, rooms are neat and clean, comfy to sleep…Would recommend to anyone planning to visit nuwara eliya

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having found this place on trip advisor, which quoted rooms at $50 per night, I was disappointed to be told that excluded tax. The place is average, there was no view (unless you call looking over a neighbors rooftop a view), and there is no communal place to sit, which was really needed given our small bedroom & the rain. All in all, not ideal

Room Tip: No space to hang out besides your bedroom. Ask for price include. Tax
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Firstly thank for your review. We are sorry about you saying $50 + taxes, if you had ask from us we will tell you our price is including tax ,your driver who call us and we already inform to him the price. It’s not our fault .its a little misunderstanding I explained driver to room rate is USD 50 + Government Tax. Value of your room (Two Single Beds ,Reading Lamp & Bed Side Table, Two sitting chairs and coffee table, Towel rack, Dressing table, LED TV with International Channels, Free Wi Fi,Hot & Cold water with attach bathroom ,Breakfast include and driver accommodation and drivers meals free)Didn't you see? Large rain forest, agriculture farms, tea states and mountains from the large window in your room. Only neighbor’s roof? Didn't you see? Reception area sofas, Indoor and out door dining area, Main entrance out door sitting chars, Your room coffee table and two sitting chairs. Your room size is 12 by 12 feet with out bathroom, it’s a small room? All in all, not the ideal ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only stayed at the Mountview for one night but found to be comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. However there was no hot water, this isn't usually a problem in Sri lanka but Nuwara Eliya can get cold!!! Also starting from sunrise (5.30am) we could here the call to prayer and drums from the near by mosque. Obviously couldn't be helped by Mount View but something to bear in mind!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The young couple that run this guesthouse are lovely - they're very welcoming and happy to help with anything you need during your stay. The rooms were clean and tidy and well maintained.

Be wary of a couple of things - it's at the top of the hill and a 10 minute walk from town. Also, there's a temple fairly close and the Buddhist prayer is loud and will wake you at 5am. We were there during Poya, which meant we had prayer and drumming until the early hours as well - so not much sleep! Still, if you're in Nuwara Eliya, you may want to get up early for Horton Plains anyway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this place, but please don't turn up expecting a really top-notch guesthouse. I was, based on these reviews, but I was a bit disappointed.
The people who run it were really lovely, and it is very clean, with plenty of hot water (important as it was cold and rainy for our visit) But I'm afraid to say it is nothing special. We paid $84 for a family room and I honestly didn't rate it that highly. Perhaps Nuwara Eliya is a more expensive place to stay? (due to distance, access and necessity of hot water etc) so it may be that other Sri Lankan guesthouses had spoilt me for great value (eg McLeon Inn in Kandy)
I don't want to be too negative, I'm not sorry we stayed here at all, but please lower your expectations as these reviews seem all to be from people who have based their ratings on the niceness of the owners, not really the property itself. I am just trying to be honest - which is what Tripadvisor is here for right?

Room Tip: Family room was fine, but had no view or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a fantastic night stay here as part of our 'Blue Lanka' tour.
Rooms were a little basic but had everything we needed. Our room was 102, clean and welcoming with a fab window view of the tea plantations. They had big blankets to keep us warm as it can get cold up there.
The staff made this stay for us. They made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
The home made food was wonderful. I highly recommend the curry & Sri Lankan breakfast. My husband chose a sandwich for dinner & had major food envy when my curry arrived.
Thank you xx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at MountView Cottage, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future.
Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MountView Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MountView Cottage

Address: Border of Highest Mountain in Sri Lanka | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmly welcome to MountView Cottage Nuwara Eliya.We are proud to say our hotel is located in the border of highest mountain in srilanka.Nuwara-Eliya is more about cooler climate relaxing getaway from the busy hectic hotter Colombo life or any other busy life Sri Lanka cities. Specially things to see Beautiful greenery hills, Fresh vegetable farms, dairy farms, Delicious fruits and beautiful flowers,Most of tea plantations.You can choice best of the hotel accommodations and cuisines, and many detours to find some history.We are offer grate stay at MountView. Enjoy and relax panoramic view of hill country valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your MountView Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MountView Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.