We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The leisure village Nuwara Eliya

The leisure village Nuwara Eliya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The leisure village Nuwara Eliya to your Saves list
The leisure village Nuwara Eliya
165/11 Upper lake road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 112 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Thuis hotel had a good value for money,

Pro:
The staff is great, they arranged a cake for my girlfriends Holiday, andere werd very Nice
Dood is really voor, great club sandwich, voor breakfast

Con:
Further away from the city center, but thrust me, you do not want tot be there!

Very good value for money

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    14
    9
    18
See reviews for
12
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our choice of place to stay in Nuwara Eliya was indeed wide and we had a tough time choosing the right one. Finally we settled for Leisure Village on the upper Lake Road. Entry to the hotel is certainly not impressive. The narrow road passes in front of two other hotels and is cramped and busy. Tests your driving skills indeed! Parking space too is limited. But once you enter the hotel, you feel the troubles were worth taking. Dining room is on the second floor for some reason and it is not convenient. Rooms are large and well appointed. Linen and towels clean and of good quality. Staff is friendly and prompt. Food is above average and affordable.
It is the view from the hotel that make it unique and attractive. On the one side there are tea gardens and acres of cultivation of veggies like leek in neat rows. On the other side is the lake!
Great place to stay in this beautiful hill station!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Room and bathroom were fine, bed comfortable and all of it clean. I loved being in the midst of the fields and tea plantation while not that far from town. Hindi songs wafting out of farmer's house and fresh air coming in from our large windows. The nicest touch was candle and flowers on the dinner table. And the service was thoughtful and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is quite clean and tidy and it is also reasonably cheap compared to other hotels around this region. The beds were comfy and the toilets were pretty good. I would rather go to this hotel than to the ceylon tourist board hotel or Ceybank rest. A really good value for money hotel with good parking and decent restaurant. This hotel is way better than most of the other hotels in the region. However if you really want a luxurious hotel go for GRAND HOTEL or GLENFALL hotel or ARALIYA. hotel Windsor and Grovenor are also good. I have few lands in Nuwaraeliya and quite familiar with this area. So folks you can bank on my opinion. Good luck

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here just for a night during our honeymoon.Please do not go by the description that it is lake facing.It does face the lake but from one of the shabbiest localities of the town.The access road to this hotel is very hard to find.
The rooms are ok however the staff had forgotten to close the windows to our room and we had to deal with some mosquitoes.
Certainly not value for money.

Room Tip: Please do not fall prey to the tagline "lake view "
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katunayake, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

i stayed 1 night with my family,this hotel is very nice hotel with lake view, tea and vegetable garden view, the staff very friendly, Very good breakfast and dinner. the room with satalite tv channels and hote water, Great value for money, i think best view hotel in nuwara eliya,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This small hotel is very, very basic, maybe 2 star, more like 1.5! It was the worst hotel of our 10 day tour. It was really cold at night, and the blanket was more like a thick sheet, and not enough. So we were ransacking our luggage during the night for more clothes!
On the good side, the food was excellent. Good breakfast and dinner.
The neighborhood is very run down, making the first impression quite bad.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The leisure village Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The leisure village Nuwara Eliya

Address: 165/11 Upper lake road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your The leisure village Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The leisure village Nuwara Eliya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.