We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the rocky road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langdale by Amaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Langdale by Amaya to your Saves list
Langdale by Amaya
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beware of the rocky road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I don't know how anyone can write a review of this hotel without warning others that you have to endure a horrible, bumpy ride on a windy mud road that is under construction and won't be finished for a long time yet. It took us 45 minutes of a nauseating ride by van from Nuwara Eliya at the end of a long day of driving from Colombo and Kandy. We arrived at the hotel all shook up, literally! The condition of the road means you're mostly marooned here. So you must know this, first, and be warned.

Having said that, this is a lovely small hotel, set in beautiful tea plantation scenery. The staff are friendly and try their best always. My wife and I stayed two nights, and the meals here were the best in our week in Sri Lanka. Chef Sanjay is a gem. His Sri Lankan rice and curry sets make for a fabulous spread of wonderful, varied vegetables and chutneys, with a choice of fish or meat curry. I could eat there every day for a month and not be bored!

I'm giving it four stars because of the staff and food. The room was pleasant and comfortable. It should be five stars if access was less harrowing, and would be three stars or less if staff or food falter. I wish we could have organized short drives to see more of the nearby area, the tea pluckers in action, or even visited the school the estate children walk to every day. But that awful road is just so off-putting. We left the hotel only once, for the must-do excursion to the incredible Horton's Plains.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    72
    27
    21
    15
See reviews for
61
106
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in February during a tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is a small and a very pleasant place to relax. The western-style menu was excellent and the Sri Lankan curries on the second night were the best we had on the entire trip - especially memorable jackfruit curry. Great chef and service from the two waiters was also excellent.

The only current downside is the major road repair programme taking place between the hotel and Nuwara Elia - around 15km under repair - which means a much earlier start if you are headed for the Horton Plains / World's End early one morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The keys to this hotel is that the service is excellent, the room is very nice, but it's NOT in Nuwara Eliya. It's actually a 30-40 minute drive around a windy hill.

Service: the staff were excellent. They were prompt every time we called them and were very helpful in terms of getting around town and timing. The food was okay, but not great. But there was a wide variety of food to choose from.

Value: The hotel was quite nice, but more expensive then what you get. You also have to pay to use their rackets for the tennis court, clubs for the mini golf, balls for the pool table…and the price wasn't cheap. The spa was good, but expensive…same price I'd have to pay in the States.

Sleep Quality: My husband and I slept great, however other people in our party complained that the beds were too firm.

Cleanliness: This is very important to me, a clean room. I was happy to see that the room was perfectly clean.

Location: This is the biggest problem with the hotel. Although it is beautiful with a great view and beautiful gardens, it was quite a drive from Nuwara Eliya. Driving fast it's at least 35 minute drive, but if the driver goes fast you get noxious. At a decent pace it can take up to an hour. Although the hotel is wonderful, because of the location, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Rooms: Excellent rooms, with comfort and convienence. Nice shower.

Spa: services were expensive, but I got a very nice massage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel during our round trip through Sri Lanka. The first Impression of the hotel was not bad, but it did not turne out as we expected. The room was ok, with a nice view to the tea plantages. The bath room and the furniture were old an not very clean. The shower curtain was dirty and also the towels. The food in the restaurant was ok and as we stayed there on the 4th of February, which is the national day of Sri Lanka, they did not serve any alcohol. We do not know if, this is in every hotel, but our guide did not know that! The road is under construction and so it is difficult to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, Public Relations Manager at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear swiss17,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Langdale by Amaya. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests. Since we take all our guests’ comments very seriously, I have brought your feedback to the attention of the entire management staff, and addressed each mentioned issue with the departments involved, in an effort to prevent any similar occurrences from happening in the future.

All bars around the island are instructed to be closed on special national holidays by the Excise Department of Sri Lanka, which is why our bar was not operating on the 4th of February 2014. The details are displayed in the Bar area and we apologize that you were not adequately informed of the same.
The road from Nuwara Eliya to our resort is under construction by the Road Development Authroities of Sri Lanka and due to be completed soon. The resort is still accessible along this way though and we provide shuttle service to guests who are not able to reach our resort personally. We hope you take use of that service in the future. The resort can be accessed without any obstruction through the alternative route from Hatton through Thalawakale.
I have raised your concerns on the furniture and bathroom to the housekeeping department.

Again, we do apologize for this and hope you would give us another chance to make your stay flawless.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Written up as a relaxing boutique hotel in a tea plantation is somewhat true. It is a boutique hotel on the outskirts of a tea plantation on a road that is under construction - some much so that we had to abandon our car and take a bus in. The road is in such bad shape that it is a 40-60 minute ride to and from town. When asked about this the staff response was; 'well we can't point this out, its bad for business'. And then there is the food, passable but not complete - what is on the menu, sorry a mistake that was yesterday's menu, today's is, sorry that is tomorrows, how about. Not to forget that unlike other 4-5 star hotels that provide accommodation for drivers they do not, another thing they need to point out instead of saying they are thinking about it and yes they understand that its a problem but surely you (the customer) can solve it.
Take a pass.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, Public Relations Manager at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear travelled_from_TO,

Ayubowan!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I'm sorry that your visit was not up to expectations. Our goal is to always provide our guest with a stay that is both unique and memorable.
The road to our resort through Nuwara Eliya is under construction by the Road Development Authorities of Sri Lanka and is due to be complete soon. It is still accessible though and we provide free shuttle service for the convenience of our guests who cannot reach there personally. We hope you will be able to take use of this service in the future.
The resort is also accessible without any obstructions from the alternative road through Hatton and Thalawakalle.
We have taken into account the requests for driver accommodation and started on this project which will be complete soon providing lodging for the drivers. Our front desk will readily assist in the arranging the lodging for your driver until such time.

We apologize again and hope you would give us another opportunity to make your stay a better one.

Sincerely,
PR Team at Amaya Resorts & Spas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

There were eight of us in this trip, it was a private and we picked all the hotels through trip advisor.
The stunning view and mountain and tea plantations walks in early morning were amazing. we wished we could stay longer unfortunately we did not have time. As far as my wife and I are concerned, we are going back again. We hope the next time around that the road would have been up graded. As far as the staff was concerned, they have the most friendly and accommodating staff. During breakfast they even managed to prepare some of the food which was not even on the menu. Well don and keep up the fantastic service.

Amar & Gary

Room Tip: Ist Floor facing the Tea Plantations and over looking the swimming pool. The rooms are more scenic o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Langdale by Amaya for 3 nights as an anniversary break. The staff were wonderful, very well-trained and ready to help. Check-in went smoothly, with a welcoming complimentary chocolate cake & a fruit basket in the room. Our room was very spacious with a breathtaking view over the mountains. What a pleasure!

Immaculately clean throughout and a beautiful swimming pool, magnificent terrace over a green mountains, and a superb a la carte restaurant, special thanks to the excellent chef. Although it is a small hotel over a quiet peaceful hill but it still manages to keep a good intimacy. We enjoyed the evening tea over the terrace pretty much. My wife and I enjoyed walking through the mini golf course and the tennis court. Walking uphill through the tea gardens took us back to the 18th century. Overall it was something exceptional, a chance to free our minds, stimulate our imagination, and satisfy our senses.

The only slight disappointment was the road to the hotel which was a nightmare, but I'm sure it would be in a perfect location once the road has been fixed.

I would like to take this opportunity and thank all the staff, who made our stay unforgettable. Special thanks to Namal who gave us delicious dinner suggestions and recommendations. I also won't forget the receptionist Dhammika who was nice and polite. We surely recommend this place for any couple looking for relaxation in the middle of the tea mountains. We would happily return in the near future, especially when the new road is completed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langdale by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale by Amaya

Address: Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale by Amaya 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The winding brook dances off the crystal veil of the Devon Falls and prances through perfectly manicured Tea gardens that date back to the 18th-century caressing them from above are the azure heavens that date back to the beginning of time itself… The Langdale sits proud amidst this theatre of pure indulgence. An exclusive luxury boutique space designed to inspire the senses, tickle the imagination, rejuvenate mind, body and soul. The pursuit of happiness must surely end here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Langdale by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale By Amaya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdale by Amaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.