We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Fern Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Fern Bungalow
Save
You added King Fern Bungalow to your Saves list
18 Underbank (off St. Andrews Drive), Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the King Fern Bungalow. It is a wonderful place to stay, especially for solo female travellers. I felt as though I had been adopted (as one of the family) during my time there. Wasantha and Chitra went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. They provided a complimentary teapot, from the surrounding tea plantations, upon arrival and on the morning of my departure. Wasantha can provided guided tours of the tea plantations and may accompany you on your hikes as well. He will gladly organise a tuk tuk for you. King Fern Bungalow is perched on a hill and boasts beautiful views of Nuwara Eliya below, however you will have to take a tuk tuk (up to Rs200) to reach it. There is free wifi and the family room also has broadband. My room was very clean and everything was in order. I had freshly cut flowers on the table from their beautiful garden. The family room also had a very spacious balcony and the rooms were fairly large. Wasantha told me and another solo traveller about the history of Nuwara Eliya before we settled down by the fireplace. I would highly recommend it. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The family room on the ground floor has a spacious balcony with great views of Nuwara Eliya. The two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    38
    10
    5
    13
See reviews for
29
91
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I can't remember ever hugging a host after staying in their guest house, but in spite of having spent only one day in the King Fern Bungalow, I just couldn't help. So much warmth we have received during our stay - it was just fabulous cooking with Chitra, playing our first games of Carrom and talking with Wasantha about his passion of being a host.

We were glad about being taken to this special place by the friendly and talkative brother of Wasantha. After an early morning trip to Horton Plains we felt instantly comfortable after a cup of tea and a quick glance at one of the nicely designed 4 cosy rooms. The rest was like spending time with old friends; cooking, chatting and playing at the fireplace.

Our stay in this house again shows that special experiences always result from dedication.
The most memorable stay I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

First, don't be confused - Wasantha owns King Fern BUNAGLOW and his brother owns King Fern COTTAGE. King Fern Bungalow is further up the hill and be sure to book directly with Wasantha rather than through and agent as it's cheaper and provides you with more options with what you want to do (website: http://en-gb.facebook.com/kingfernbungalow). Wasantha and his wife Chithra were the most warm and welcome hosts who really made you feel at home in their home. Like a previous review here, this really felt more like a homestay than a guesthouse! There are only a few rooms here so you definitely get an opportunity to meet other travellers and often end up dining together! There's a warm fireplace if you get a little chilly and really warm blankets! Wasantha loves his guesthouse and the land that surrounds it so if he offers to take you on a hike or a walk, you should! We did a 2 hour walk through some tea plantations nearby and he was able to explain all sorts of things about tea planting and picking (he used to be in the industry). Chithra and her helpers cook amazing Sri Lankan food (and can do food to order if you request it) and is happy to have you in the kitchen if you want to learn more about Sri Lankan food. It was a great place to relax with some fantastic hosts! My only thought for improvement is that the rooms look a little worn, but they were most certainly clean.

Room Tip: From what I can tell all the rooms have a balcony overlooking Nuwara Eliya. They do have a larger fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

i have to say, this is without a doubt the best place i have ever stayed. the food was amazing, the location was brilliant, all standard stuff that makes a hotel or place to stay 'good'. but the experience i had there with the wonderful people that run this place... i will never forget it. waking up an chipping in with the cooking, getting silhinese lessons by the fire, meeting the family and local community. this was more of a home stay than a hotel. i have never felt so welcomed and loved staying somewhere as here. i genuinely (without sounding like a cliche) felt like a member of the family when i left. i could go on an on an on but you must have your own experience staying at this beautiful home. its a very special place.. tom.

Room Tip: jus get there.. they'll sort you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We found this amazing guest house purely by chance and we are so lucky that we did. Tucked away on the hill overlooking the main town, this lovely house is a home as well as a hotel, and if you are lucky enough to stay there, you will be treated as one of the family. The two owners, a married couple, are the most welcoming and lovely hoteliers I have ever met and were not only very warm and inviting, but gave us beer, played card games with us by the fireplace and gave us excellent advice on where to go and what to see in the area as they are full of knowledge and tips about Nuwara Elya as well as the entire Island. This was without a doubt the best place that we stayed in our trip in Sri lanka. The food was absolutely delicious with amazing home cooked curries, and even free cooking lessons! a fire was lit every night and there are beautiful views from the balcony. Our room was spacious, with a great big double bed and an en suite bathroom with hot water and clean sheets and towels. Everything was very clean and well presented and at night the husband of the family came to ask if we needed extra blankets or anything else, which was a really nice personal touch. For the price, this place is unbeatable, and they should be charging double for the service provided and the quality of company. UNBEATABLE!! I strongly advise you check this place out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed four days at KingFern Bungalows. The hosts were wonderful: extremely warm, helpful and keen for me to enjoy my stay. They went out of their way to make sure I was well taken care of - from providing copious cups of wonderful tea and arranging tours and taxis to checking whether I was OK via cellphone when I was a bit late coming back from a hike on the mountain. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the view lovely and the food very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Personal treatment by the helpful owner. Good cooking and clean. We stayed in the big room and it was great. Two big rooms connected with big balcony wonderful view over looking the city and mountains. Free internet.
A little walk to town.

Room Tip: the big family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Fern Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Bungalow

Address: 18 Underbank (off St. Andrews Drive), Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned guesthouse based in Nuwara Eliya with panoramic views over the town from the side of the tallest mountain in Sri Lanka. The guest house has four spacious, comfortable and clean rooms all with their own balconies, bathrooms with hot water, and free wifi for all rooms and garden area. The traditional, home cooked Sri Lankan meals are raved about by our guests and available on request. With five en-suite well appointed rooms, guests can enjoy a comfortable stay in a cozy atmosphere. Delicious meals are offered for guests that will surely keep you satisfied while the common room is always inviting with a fire place. Internet access is also available in the entire property while room service facilities are also made available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Fern Bungalow Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Fern Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.