We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - skip the breakfast - best in summer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hill View Bungalow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hill View Bungalow to your Saves list
Hill View Bungalow
74 St Andrews Rd. Under bank, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views - skip the breakfast - best in summer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Beautiful house with an even more beautiful terrace.The owners were very friendly and helpful.
There are rooms with a shower on the second floor and 3 rooms with shared shower and toilets on the first floor. The rooms were very clean and you can really feel at home there since there is a living room. Sadly there is no heating so the december nights can get quite cold. Hot water was plentiful but it was either too hot or too cold.
The breakfasts were the MOST EXPANSIVE we have had in Sri Lanka and special requests were totaly ignored. Had we discovered it before the end of our stay, we would have made the 15 minute walk to town for breakfast.
To SUM THINGS UP: great place to stay but not in the middle of winter and skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zuerich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We hired Rajith, the owner, as our driver (unfortunately we were bound by a reservation at another hotel in Nurelia). He picked us up in Kandy, drove us to Horton Plains, and took as down to Midigama over the following days. Rajith is a very responsible and experienced driver, and is very reliable. His Geely is brand-spanking-new. Highly recommended!
His guesthouse looks lovely and very quiet. We had lunch there, which was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent three nights here. The room was very clean with excellent hot shower! The view from the house is awesome and you can enjoy it better if you manage to get the upstairs rooms with the balcony. We would have love to stay in one of them however at the time we stayed they were already occupied. The family hosts are lovely and they do help you in whatever you need. Thr lady of the house also prepared a very tasteful packed lunch for us on the day we visited hortain plaines :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hill View. It's not the cheapest choice in town but you don't get such nice views for free... ;-)
Try the sri lankan breakfast!
If you need a tour guide ask for Santhe! He's the man!
Don't go to the teafactory on weekends. No production - it's not worth it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Travelled there in a chilling rainy day with a friend of mine and a tuk tuk driver took us to this place. Honestly speaking, the house itself looks clean and decent.

We lived in the downstairs double room and paid two thousand 500rs. The window of balcony door is broken so the winds went through for a whole night which is very cold. The owner did not apologize this after we found out the broken door, but instead they are really strict on letting us use lights in the living room.

No towels were provided so I called the lady to bring towels. She came down with towel and suddenly got really angry to see that the toilet light was on, and I was waiting for the towel so I came out to fetch them I wasn't in bathroom, then the long lecture begins with few dirty words from the owner saying we are bad women bcoz we don't let them make money.

I explained I just turned on the lights and for a few seconds I come out there is no problem with that. Then the husband keeps saying how expensive the electricity is, even for ONE SECOND out of bathroom u should turn off lights. The wife walked into bathroom and shut off the lights when I was still in.

They keep the curtain in living open so they can see from outside. I closed it, they came back to open again. They lock the entire living room and our bedroom from outside. I have NEVER EVER seen a guest house treat its guests like this. Husband even ask us to pay and move out at midnight. Keeps standing in our room for a few minutes educating us about there is no profit to make if we don't turn off light in barroom for a second.

Really we have no problem with the house, but the crazy owners really made us an extremely bad experience staying in nuwara eliya. If you think 2500rs for the double room is too low, sure you can rise the price of the room instead of giving the guests a bad night.

Room Tip: House itself there is no prob but the owner is really the craziest lady we met in Sri Lanka if u wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food was excellent, the rooms were kept very clean and neat! Me and my wife stayed here, and I have to say, everything was just excellent! The management here is very friendly and cordial! I recommend any future guests to this area to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Travelled Sri Lanka for 2 months at the beginning of 2013. After a horrible start in Nuwara Elliya it was an absolute blessing to find accommodation at this lovely guesthouse. The downstairs rooms had a communal bathroom but the upstairs rooms were all ensuite. The rooms were very clean and the food was fantastic! It had a great communal feel which made it easy to meet other travellers and chat about your experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Bungalow

Address: 74 St Andrews Rd. Under bank, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill View Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.