We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owners, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill View Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hill View Bungalow to your Saves list
Hill View Bungalow
74 St Andrews Rd. Under bank, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely owners, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are a family of four, with two small kids (1 and 3 years old). We stayed at the hill view for three nights. The room was great - big, clean, great view (ask for the rooms with the terrace, on the second floor). Also there is a pleasant common area outside the room where you can sit and meet other travelers. But above all - the owner is really nice, helped us with the kids, and makes great food. We recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony - they are bigger and have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!
Probably the best place we've been to in sri lanka..
The rooms are clean and cozy and the view is beautiful. In a reasonable price you get great value for your money.
Mali the owner and her family are so nice, carrying and helpful.
She also makes great food, don't miss it!

I would recommend anyone coming to nuwara eliya to stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

When we arrived at the station, we met with a local taxi driver who proposed us to show us his sister's guesthouse. Normally we kind of never accept these types of offers but this time, we compared it with others guesthouses and hotels in the city. Definitely the nicest room that we had in one week travelling over sri-lanka. The bathroom was extraordinary, clean with hot water and a real shower!! The owner was very kind with us, managed some laundry for us, called us a taxi for visiting tea factory, waterfalls, etc. We had read so many good things about the home-cooking staff that we were really looking forward to the diner. What a disappointment!!! The worse rice curry ever!! Tasted like burnt staff. For 750rup each?? Did not worth it at all!!

Room Tip: Take the "rose" room!!... Not the diner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I agree with many of the previous reviews in regards to room selection (balcony with a view) and the great level of service received. For our trip to Horton Plains they made a great bag breakfast/lunch for the trip. Had one dinner and breakfast here as well and it was all very good. A little bit out of town but the walk down is easy (ask about the short cuts) and for the way up you can either hike it or hire a tuk tuk for 100to 150 ru.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This guesthouse is located on a hill above the town of Nuwara Eliya, it takes about 15min. to walk down to the town. They have 3 rooms with attached bathroom on the 1st floor and 3 rooms downstairs with shared bathroom. And the bathrooms have really hot water, very important to have in this area ! The meals are huge and excellent, proper home cooking, really good, there's no need to go and look for a restaurant in the town. There's separate sitting area both downstairs and upstairs. Free Wifi, good connection. The family who's running the place and their staff are so lovely people, it's hard to leave here ! You can't go wrong with staying here, you'll love it. I stayed here 3 nights in a room upstairs.

Room Tip: Go for the ones on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay here in one of the upstairs rooms with a balcony. The view is fantastic. The meals were quite good, the people friendly, and the water steaming hot! There is a nice dining/living area where we took our meals. I love the yellow paint and nice wood furniture. Our room had a fireplace, though we couldn't have a fire as it had rained earlier in the day and there was no dry wood available. Our tuk-tuk driver from the station, Krishna, recommended this place. He also took us on a really nice tour of two tea plantations/factories and to see five waterfalls in the area. This area has incredible views along a winding road running north. I would definitely recommend him as well!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the two balcony rooms upstairs. We visited during peak season and the room was 4500 i...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The guest house was meticulously clean, artfully and tastefully decorated, (with a fabulous, super hot shower, for what its worth), and offered stellar hillside views of the valley and town of Nuwara Ella. This was our first home stay, and our hosts were delightful caring people who took extra measures to ensure we were made to feel welcome. The meals were okay, albeit a bit overpriced, but when tired it was nice to have the option not to go out searching for restaurants, none of which were walking distance from this hilltop suburban location away from the town Center. Overall, a very nice experience. I would definitely recommend the Hill View Bungalow.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms with a view. More pricey, but stellar view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Bungalow

Address: 74 St Andrews Rd. Under bank, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hill View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill View Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.