We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded colonial glory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grosvenor Hotel
Save
You added Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
6 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Faded colonial glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this lovely old hotel, a bit run-down and worn, but full of charm. The whole place had a bit of a deserted feel about it, but that added to the ambience. The staff were friendly and helpful, and when we arrived back at the hotel late, someone was on hand to let us in. The room we had was enormous, the beds were reasonably comfortable with plenty of blankets, though the shower didn't work very well. Breakfast was pretty basic, but overall it was a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    33
    29
    18
See reviews for
12
49
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Looked lovely when we first entered our room but thank goodness we were only there one night. We were told it gets cold on a night but they couldn't light the fire due to winds blowing the smoke into the room. After alot of hunting for a different room they decided they would try the fire, which we decided against as we had a small child with us. They then came back and offered us an electric heater... For an extra cost... As we would have had to Pay for firewood anyway (which had also not previously been mentioned). After a discussion about whether it was really necessary we decided against it... BIG mistake. We had the worst nights sleep EVER. It was bitterly cold. I'm sure it would have been warmer out in the car. The blankets or rather a flimsy sheet were a waste of time and I really wondered what we were paying for. I'm sorry but if it's that cold there should be adequate blankets to keep you warm and you shouldn't be paying for the privilege. The other problem was the noise. They were fully aware we had a toddler with us yet our beds were pushed against interconnecting doors (we didn't realise this until bedtime that night). The family next door were celebrating, not excessively loudly but with a thin wooden door between them and our heads they might aswell have been sat on the bed with us. Thankfully once our child was asleep he slept through any noise but I lay for several hours listening to every single word they said (and that was after I had been and asked them to quiet down). Definatley not somewhere I would go back to.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is not a hotel, please, this is less than a standard b&b. it offers just very poor facilities.
Rooms are fairly large but basic. Our room had a broken window that let cold air enter in the room.
The rooms were very very cold during the night and the poor and too thin blankets were just not enough for a confortable sleep.
Some room has the fire place (which I don't recommend to use expecially for safety reasons).
Toilet facility has poor pipes and the shawer works with a tricky fixing.


The food was poor, we ordered Sri Lankan curry which came 'western' style with no spices or flavouring whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the Grosvenor (Governor) Hotel. The rooms are huge, the geds nice but not great, and the service is par none. Very clean and quiet and the location is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is a real antique of a place, the bedrooms are enormous and fully furnished with chairs,tables, wardrobes, some have working fireplaces. They had the most comfortables beds we've had yet in Sri Lanka. The bedroom and ensuite were clean and well maintained. There is a club style lounge, old fashioned dining room and the hall way is so wide it has chairs and tables lining the sides. The main town is within walking distance. It makes a god base for walking tours in the area.

Room Tip: we had the room closest the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Grosvenor is an odd place. Its a colonial style hotel which has probably looked the same the last 100 years. It looks clean and nice and as you stay there, you get to like it more.

The rooms are pretty large with large beds and what looks to be clean sheets and covers. The bed pillows are pretty comfortable, they may be filled with pieces of old seagulls... But overall the room is basic and there is not much charm about it. That is until you lie down and notice the very nice wooden ceiling while you have the fire going. Yes, for a fee (500 rupees which is pocketed by the guy who lights it and does not seem to go to the hotel) you can light the fire in the fireplace in 4 out of the 10 rooms. The somewhat cold and barren atmosphere of the room and hotel immediately changes to a cozy and different experience. Very nice. How many hotel rooms have fireplaces in the room today? (A note on safety: The cinnamon wood is lit with gasoline which is left in your room in a coke bottle. If you have kids, make sure it is out of reach).

Be prepared that the all doors in the hotel are also about 100 years old. This means you can hear everything from next door, including screams, snoring and farting. You also know when the hotel phone rings out in the hall. Its part of staying at Grosvenor.

There is a large lounge, and if the hotel cared to light the fireplace in here this room would change from a boring, cold place to a room which would attract some of the guests for socializing. But you can order tea in there and play finger billiard. A note on the tea. For two small pots that each had about 2 cups in them we paid 660 rupees. This is 3-5 times the normal price for tea and a complete ripoff! We mentioned the ridiculous tea price when paying but the guy did not seem to care at all.

Breakfast is terrible, get it over with and out the door. I would never dream of eating anything else at this hotel. Instead, head over to the fantastic Grand Hotel Restaurant 3 minutes in tuk tuk away and eat great Indian food at super prices.

So if you can get caught up by the old-world charm and like cozy fireplaces then this is the hotel for a night in Nuwara Eliya. Otherwise you can probably find something else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed with our 2 kids for one night. It's not the best looking from the outside, but inside has a nice old English touch. Maybe somewhat outdated the total sphere makes up for a lot. Very spacious rooms, large lounge area and chairs in the beautifull hallway. It's a place my grandparents would have called just like home!

But the best was the fireplace at night! It was pretty cold and raint when we were there. We had to wear long pants, sweaters, socks, so in the evening they offered to light the fireplace in our room after dinner! And that is great, we went to sleep with the sound of a wood fire, best night in Sri Lanke. But it also could be lack of the noise of an airco!

Dinner was pretty good, altough it was cold in the restaurant. This place is value for money, but don't expect to much. The european touch is in fact the value....

Room Tip: Lit the fireplace at night, or ask for a room with one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 6 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.