We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compare to other hotels we have visited during this holiday this is the best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Bush Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tea Bush Hotel to your Saves list
Tea Bush Hotel
29, Haddon Hills Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 112 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Compare to other hotels we have visited during this holiday this is the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

this is a lovely, good hotel with lovely staff. compare to the other hotels we have visited during our stay in Sri Lanka this is the best. me and my wife enjoyed the stay at Tea bush. good staff, good service, good foods and yes i love the weather at Nuwara Eliya. but i do agree with other comments they must make their garden nicely. room is clean and neat. old furniture gives a historical attraction to the hotel. but i like if you can put modern furniture's. No hassle make for my agoda booking. all were arranged accordingly and i love the service they have provided from our arrival.

we also like to recommend to put movie channel like HBO or star movie. but range of channel available is still good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit with your wife at The Tea bush Hotel. We pride ourselves on our service and how we look after our guests. We want them to feel at home from the moment they arrive so I am thrilled that we achieved just that for both of you.

I do hope when you next plan a trip that you will come back and see us once again.

Warm regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
29
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Manager and the staff were helpful. Rooms were ok too. But the food was not up to the standard. Low in quantity and quality (My son found a dead FLY in a curry).
As for the location there was no view from the room what so ever. There are 2 rooms with a view but costs Rs10,000 extra. The garden was not really beautiful as compared to other hotels in Nuwara Eliya and could have done a better job.
We were there for two days under half board basis and my real feeling was that the hotel is overpriced because I expected much more from the hotel especially when it comes to meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Silva,

Thank you very much for posting a review.

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the condition of the rooms and the staff service. and also thank you for rating all aspects of the hotel service, foods, etc., as "Good" in the guest comment card filled by you at the time of the departure.

The room was offered to you for a two days stay in Half Board basis is at a very special rate which include a 20% discount and it is not overpriced according to the other hotel rates.

Also the complained regarding your son finding a dead fly in a curry was investigated immediately. it is emphasized that the food is prepared under very hygienic condition and the chance of any contamination is virtually non existent. all food served are brought in covered up to the table. thus it is very unlikely that a fly could creep in to a dish before being served at the table. The only possibility, if at all, of such a thing happening could be after the table was laid out.

If this incident was promptly brought to the notice of the staff, suitable remedial measures could have been taken. While not doubting your son's identification of what he saw as a dead fly, we profusely apologize you and your son for this most unfortunate incident.

An expansion project is under way for the hotel and we assure you that serious consideration will be given to your observations on the garden layout and the view from the room.

I do hope that you will stay us on your next trip to Nuwara Eliya and if we can ever be of assistance we are only an e-mail away.

Kind Regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Tea Bush Hotel (Pvt.) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I had a lovely stay in this hotel in Nuwara-Eliya. This is my first visit to Nuwara Eliya and before i walked in to the hotel i went through all these reviews on trip advisor. yes most of the comments are true and i love the service given by the hotel staff. they looked after us very well. and also follow up by the Head office staff asking comments of our stay in the hotel. specially the number they have given here is working. not like other hotel. she is very helpful.

we really appreciate about their concern and we will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of our friends who is traveling to Nuwara Eliya. foods are tasty, room is clean and not bad. lovely view from the restaurant. and also the hill behind the hotel is very nice. i think it called single tree hill.

overall a nice location for a nice stay...

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the best. but we stayed at standard room 105, its also a big room..you have to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was really enjoyable, place, we had experienced @ tea bush hotel, indeed it is a praise worthy, little bit cold but can understand because hotel is in nuwara eliya. cold place in Sri Lanka. very friendly and helpful. we like the sri lankan breakfast. we have WIFI. very nice. restaurant service can be a bit slow however if you want freshly cooked food a wait is required. bathroom with hot shower was also very good and clean.
Nice owner Mr. Hawavitharana. we met him during our stay. he is very friendly and very helpful. beautiful views Lovely old colonial style home reservation staff at head office delightful, food fresh and safe. They are suffering from lack of visitors to enable further investment but would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

its five hours drive from Katunayake Airport. but we felt that we going back to our home land. cool climate. we felt the weather change. the staff are very nice & helpful. at the very late of evening they helped us to coordinate with our driver and arrange us a tutu driver to visit other places.. we felt like back to family here. we stayed in the Deluxe room. its very clean & large. there has hot water. the restaurant staff provide very good service. and the chef always has a smile.:)) nice ceylone tea and foods, the breakfast is very diversified with bread, sausages, fruits and tea and fruit juice.
nice view. can see the beautiful tea trees. we are happy to introduce this lovely hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: we stayed at Deluxe room 106, large room, worth for the money spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure looking after you on your visit to Tea Bush hotel in August and I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from the rooms to the staff. We are a very dedicated team and we want to ensure that our guests go away feeling like they have a new Sri Lankan family. I hope that we did this for you.

I do hope that you will stay us on your next trip to Nuwara Eliya and if we can ever be of assistance we are only an e-mail away.

Warm regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked to stay one night at the Tea Bush Hotel between our journey from Kandy around to Adam's peak, after looking at the photo gallery and reading reviews here on Trip Advisor. We did not have an itinerary for sightseeing as we knew we were only staying one night and did not want to rush around too much. Mr.Lal was offered to help arrange a car and organising our onward trip around Horton's Plains and towards Adam's peak the following day.

Unfortunately once we arrived in Adam's peak, we found that we had lost a mobile phone. Seeing as Mr.Lal had organised the drivers for us, we called him back to see if he could either check with the drivers or with his hotel staff. Unfortunately nothing turned up. Still, he called around the following day to all the cafes and stops we had made just to be sure that no one had picked up the phone! We have very rarely encountered such helpfulness with a genuine want to assist us in finding the phone from hotel staff especially after we had booked for just one night. For example, he called the driver to call the other driver, and when he could not contact me, called the next hotel we were staying at's owner whose sister happened to be in a car with us, to let her know to get me to call him back. *phew* Very few people would have gone to that much effort!

We would recommend tea bush to our friends and family going to Nuwara Eliya if not just for the fantastic service, but the charm and ambience of the hotel itself. Also, it is walking distance to town and has a decent restaurant to boot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Widari,

Thank you very much for posting a review.

We are so pleased that you have found our team to be wonderful, specially Mr. Lal (Manager) I know they will really appreciate your comments.

We have a genuinely friendly team who want to ensure a great stay for our guests and it is always a boost to us when this is recognized.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you next fly to Sri Lanka, which we hope will be in the very near future.

Warmest regards and best wishes

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Tea Bush Hotel (Pvt) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

very good service and we enjoyed it specially with the follow up from Mr. Lal and the nice captain Mr. Kumar. its the first hotel here in sri lanka that we enjoyed the food but just i have special comments on onion soup. its very tasty.

my recommendation is to put a hot box for the plates. since nuwara eliya has cold climates the plates get cold very soon.

i will not be hesitate to recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you had a great experience and that our team looked after you.

Thank you for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you next have the occasion to stay in the Nuwara-Eliya area.

Thank you for pointing out some recommendation in regard to the hotbox. We have taken up this with the associates concerned in order to take necessary remedial actions.

Warmest regards and best wishes,
Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Tea bush Hotel (Pvt) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tea Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bush Hotel

Address: 29, Haddon Hills Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tea Bush Hotel is a boutique type hotel of 10 comfortable rooms, situated in Nuwara-eliya, the little England of Sri Lanka. The original planter’s granite bungalow, “Shelborne”, as it was then known built in the 1800’s, where most of the hotel rooms are housed adding to the old world charm of the hotel, was the residence of the superintendent of Haddon Hill Tea Estate.All rooms are provided with hot and cold water and room heaters are optional. Ample parking space coupled with drivers’ quarters is a boon for the tour operators. The large well appointed restaurant serves delicious food for both in-house guests as well as walk-in guests. Room service is also available on request. The limited number of rooms makes every guest a special one for the hotel. The high elevation of the hotel above the town makes the view from the rooms and the restaurant of the surrounding hills, Nuwara-eliya town and the Lake Gregory to be quite breathtaking. Mt. Pedro or Pidurutalagala, the highest peak in the Island is close at hand. One could get a grand view of Adams Peak or Sri Pada, the famed holy mountain by climbing the Single Tree Hill just behind the hotel.Guests on their own may visit the Victoria Park and the Lake Gregory which are just walking distance from the hotel, while hiking trips may be arranged by the hotel to the surrounding hills. Guided day tours may be arranged on request to the Hakgala Botanical Gardens with its famed rose beds or to the Horton Plains, the National Park among the clouds at an elevation of 7000 feet, and perhaps a peep down the Worlds End, the 3000 feet sheer precipice.All this would make your stay at the Tea Bush Hotel linger in your memories for long years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tea Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Bush Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.