We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cup of tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Labookellie Tea Centre

Labookellie Tea Centre
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Type: Factory Tours
Attraction Details
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best cup of tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I think we had our best ever cup of tea here - a lovely BOP. Ended up buying loads from the shop. Didnt do the tour though as we had already had an unguided nosy around a tea factory further out on the A5. Definitely worth stopping for.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    51
    22
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chocolate cake and tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

You only pay 60 Rs for the cake and the tea is free! Free tour around the tea factory too. lovely cup of tea and you can buy various varieties in the shop too. No dislikes at all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great tea in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Definitely a must if you are in tea country. The Mackwoods Estate factory is probably the best around. The drive up to the factory is beautiful and the Estate grounds are simply gorgeous. You are treated to a quick but very informative free tour that lasts for about 15 minutes. Then you are invited to sample the tea. It is brought out in a nice tea set and despite posted prices, we were told our tea was complimentary. As a thank you we went next door and purchased a few cartons of tea, which is very high quality. Its very cheap considering the quality of what you get.

You are free to roam the grounds a bit and we did. Youncan photograph the children and women picking the tea but they will ask for something in return. That is completely fair. They work for very meager wages and posing for tourists offers much needed income. Don't stiff them. They are very kind people.

Well worth a visit if you are in tea country. You can see this location in an hour. Two hours if you go at a very relaxed pace.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The drive upto Mackwoods Labookelle Tea Factory was breathtaking with a good view of the tea estates on either side and the tea pluckers standing in line to weigh their days pickings. We were given a guided tour and free cup of tea to taste. The tea centre has a variety of tea available for you to buy in very nice packings. Good for gifts if you are travelling abroad. The surroundings are clean and the view breathtaking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brief Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This tour was very brief, and not that informative, in comparison to going to the Blue Island Tea Factory down the hill, which is much better, and you get far more up close and personal with all the machines.

There is no entrance fee for either, but tipped the Blue Island tour guide, as she was excellent. Both give you free tea afterwards (and cheap cake available too - 60 rupees)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Labookellie Tea Centre also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Labookellie Tea Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Labookellie Tea Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Labookellie Tea Centre to your Saves list