We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Warwick Gardens to your Saves list
Jetwing Warwick Gardens
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Ambewella, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Looking for a stay in a relaxing, off-the-grid environment? Having just spent four days at this lovely colonial bungalow, we would wholeheartedly encourage anyone to pick Warwick Gardens! The staff went all out to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Attentive, they really made us feel at home and with clean and comfortable rooms we were really able to relax. The food was also delicious (especially the Western and Sri Lankan options) and the ingredients were all grown in their own gardens.There were some lovely walks around the tea estate with fantastic views over the valley. If you are interested in treks and walks, we would also recommend the Horton Plains nature reserve which can be easily accessed from the property. We would highly recommend this place for a thouroughly relaxing and laid-back break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, the charming colonial bungalow in the highlands. We highly appreciate your comments and are much encouraged by them and I will pass on your kind words to the team.

Once again, a very big appreciation for your recommendation and hope to serve you soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    30
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homagama, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It is a Colonial type bungalow located among misty hills and green tea estates producing some of the finest tea in the region with a luxurious setting. We stayed there last week (15th June 2013) and it was a unique experience we ever had. The location is fantastic and attractive. I think we were really unlucky to stay “ONLY ONE” night at there. It is “THE PLACE” to stay at least more than two nights and can be recommended as the Best location for nature lovers, couples, honeymooners and journalists. We really enjoyed our stay in the Master room (Warwick) which is bliss for us.

Rooms are specious and clean and tidy. Further there is a library, a television lounge and a grand piano.

Staff were very friendly, honest and generous. It is worthwhile to say hospitality is great. The service was excellent and the food was very good with many varieties.

From Warwick gardens you can easily access Horton plains, Worlds end, Ambewela farms, Highland Milk powder factory, New Zealand farms, Pattipola Railway Station (Very beautiful flowers are grown on the railway at Pattipola. There is a place called Summit Level which is highest pot of Sri Lanka Railway and which is 1898m high above sea level) Ambewela Lake, Strawberry farm (Large stow berry gardens and farm is available at Ambewela area) and Haggala botanical garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere appreciation for your lovely comments on your recent visit to Jetwing Warwick Gardens. Your compliments have been passed on to our associates which will encourage them to maintain high standards.

It is a pleasure to hear that you have experienced the most beautiful places around our bungalow. We do hope to see you once again in the very near future to experience more in this region.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We won't forget our fabulous stay at Warwick Gardens at the end of May this year... The breathtaking views, delicious food, and the great Sri Lankan hospitality shown us were first class! We will certainly be returning as soon as we get the chance!

Daniel, Anne, Christopher and Hannah (Singapore)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for your genuine review of our charming beautiful bungalow Jetwing Warwick Gardens. Your compliments will be shared among the team and they will be pleased that they made your stay enjoyable.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Warwick Gardens is a beautiful place in the middle of tea plantations. You get there by a terrible road, but it's worth it. It's like staying at a villa from friends. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the personell is amazingly great. We were welcomed by the staff with tea and they let us choose between 2 rooms. The room was good, not extremely luxious, but just good. It was a large room, large bed and dito bathroom. One negative point: the shower. If I took a shower, there was not enough hot water for my husband.
The surrounding of the hotel is nice to take a walk, or just sit in the garden and relax. We also liked breakfast and dinner because of the large table where you eat with the other guests. We were they only European couple; the other couples were Sri Lankan people so we had a nice time talking to them and learning about the country and the food. The food in the hotel is freshly made from the garden of the hotel. We enjoyed the rice and curry very much!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review of our associates and beautiful Warwick Gardens. We will share your compliments with our team and certainly they will be thrilled. We inform you with pleasure that the hot water matter has been attended and resolved.

Once again thanking you for sharing your thoughts with us and hoping to host you in beautiful Jetwing Warwick Garden again.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wow..!! It was a really nice place. Quiet and beautiful surroundings took away our stress. Wonderful place for relaxing. Actually, it was like a place from another world. Nothing to disturb to us. I'm really sorry for not going there for our honeymoon. Can recommend this place for a honeymoon.
I think it would be better to go there for at least two nights as we were very much sorry to leave that place after staying only one night.
The staff was good and helpful and the food was tasty although there ware not a lot of choices.
The mattress in our bed was not that much comfortable.

Room Tip: The White room is really nice, but little bit expensive than others I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from the misty hills of Nuwara Eliya and thank you for posting a lovely review on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been noted regarding selection of food and mattress. Both of these issues will be rectified in no time.

Hoping to serve you again at Jetwing Warwick Gardens on your next visit to Nuwara Eliya.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukabandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

At Warwick gardens, you'll feel as though you've been transported back in time, to a colonial era, with such a tastefully done up interior. I stayed in the Warwick room, which was absolutely perfect. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was simply gorgeous.. With a nice bathtub sitting in the middle.

You'll really feel like home here, with the attentive service, the cozy environments and the delicious meals that they prepare.

Do note that if you're looking for a conventional hotel, this isn't it! There isn't a "menu" per se, but they will prepare you meals based on what you request for. They have a nice outdoor campfire area which you can use, and beautiful flower gardens too.

Strongly recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Warwick Gardens during your visit to Sri Lanka and we are extremely happy to know that you have enjoyed our concept of home away from home.

Once again thanking you for the lovely review and hoping to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We only spent one night here which was a shame as you really need a couple of nights to get into the rythm. We had a frightening trip to the Warwick as we did not realise how far out of town it was and it was late and raining. The road is not teriibly well signposed and the sheer drop down to the tea plantations was a bit scary on the unlit road. Try and arrive during daylight hours as the views are beautiful.

This is a charming boutique hotel and a pleasant surprise. Dinner with other guests at the dining table was lovely and we had an excellent bottle of red. The food was good and so was the service. It's a little pricey, and a littel remote, however the grounds are gorgeous and the staff are professional. There are a few small details that could have been better (hanging facilities for clothes and leaking showers) however in general it was good. Ideal for honeymooners or bushwalking types.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Warwick Gardens during your recent visit to Sri Lanka. Your genuine comments are well noted and will share with rest of the team for further improvements in future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Warwick Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Address: Ambewella, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Warwick Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored colonial tea planter’s bungalow set amidst verdant hillside scenery, Jetwing Warwick Gardens is the ideal getaway from life’s tribulations. Consisting of a range of exquisitely designed rooms, this a stay allows one to experience the enchantment of historic elegance and glory surrounded by nature’s perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jetwing Warwick Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Warwick Gardens Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Warwick Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.