We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem with great food, lovely staff and very comfortable bed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Warwick Gardens to your Saves list
Jetwing Warwick Gardens
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Ambewella, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem with great food, lovely staff and very comfortable bed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

In the poor weather, the welcome we received at Warwick Gardens from Faris and Desmond and staff was a delight...especially when the wood fires were lit in the sitting room and our bedroom!

We found all staff charming and helpful; Faris sat and chatted to us about local sights to visit, the tea factory process and his work in the estate growing tea and coffee etc, Desmond took us for a walk around the garden, and the young waiter (whose name I forget) explained cookery ingredients, Sri Lankan recipes and his love of cocnut roti! The quality of food was excellent.

A lovely place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    32
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Getting to this hotel from Nuwara Eliya should be straightforward, but took 90 minutes each way. The reason is that the main road from Nuwara Eliya is being totally rebuilt with one way traffic and traffic lights for the whole 12km. We understand this will continue throughout 2011 until the road works are completed in 2012. However after leaving the roadworks, the road becomes positively dangerous. The last 2-3 km are on a very narrow track round a mountain with a shear drop on one side and no safety barriers. Not only was my wife very nervous but so was our driver, who has said he will refuse to take clients here again until the access road is improved and made safer.

However the hotel itself is nicely appointed and our bedroom was beautifully furnished. Service was good and walks nearby are wonderful, particularly chatting with the children on their way to school. Whilst the walks are very picturesque, it would be nice if the hotel had some printed walks to give to clients.

The main disappointment with the hotel was the food. At dinner there was no Sri Lankan food and the western food was overcooked and served cold. Furthermore the portions were tiny. Fruit salad was 4 small squares of fruit. Other hotels provide 5-6 large peces of fruit or even whole fruits. The food at best could be described as poor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We had two nights here in the rain of January 2011. The welcome was good and the upstairs room- you disappear behind the tapestry to find it!- was very good. The views would have been lovely if the cloud hadn't obscured them. Faris, the manager, was very nice but seems to be busy running a tea estate as well, so it's not clear who is in charge when he's not there, and Robert was off on his honeymoon... We had a day at Horton Plains, leaving at 6am (they'd forgotten to make the tea for us) and getting back at 2pm. The packed lunch was rather feeble as reported elsewhere. When we got back nobody had made up our room. Why? Because we'd taken the key with us, there being no-one to give it to at 6am, and they didn't have another one! Food was good, but not very hot; there were only five people to serve, how difficult should that be? Maps showing where you could go to walk would have been nice, but there was nothing written down, no menu or drinks prices. Hard to believe it's run by Jetwing if you've just come from Vil Uyana in Sigiriya.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

The only drawback is that this property is located quite far from most points of interest, but this isolation also makes it great because once you get there all you do is relax. Lots of nature trails, tea trails, fruit orchards and amazing vegetable gardens.

Our kids had a blast playing in the large lawns (yes, multiple), getting muddy and dirty in the gardens and going for many, many walks and spotting porcupines, birds, butterflies etc.,

The property has four or five rooms, and the full bungalow was occupied on one f the 3 nights we stayed there. This made it a little awkward at mealtimes because you had to share the large dining table with strangers, though not a major issue it could get tricky if you had noisy kids like we did. There is a smaller dining room and on request we were moved there (mostly in consideration of the other guests).

If all guests decide to stay indoors at the same time, it may get a little cozy but that never happened during our stay,

Other than this being an amazing property with fantastic views, what made it truly special was the staff, everyone from the chef to the room attendant went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. The chef always had personalized menus for us with most of the ingredients being sourced from the bungalow garden,The staff in general were superb.

They also have a great library with old Sri Lankan literature.

Amazing food, superb service and a very unique experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
548 helpful votes 548 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed at the Warwick Gardens 2 nights as a base to visit Nuwara Eliya and the tea plantations. If you come from Kandy, you pass through Nuwara Eliya and then drive another 45 minutes to reach the hotel which sits in the middle of an isolated valley. If you are looking to stay put and relax for a couple of days in cool weather, it is a perfect place. If, like us you have come to visit Nuwara Eliya you have to factor in a lot of transfer time on very very poor roads.
The rooms are large, albeit a little austere. The hotel grounds are very nice and well maintained, they also grow their own vegetables. The food, however, is totally uninspiring considering that you are in Sri Lanka, it is served in a dark and gloomy dining room at a large table with other guests all whispering as if afraid to disturb the silence that reigns.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is an amazingly gorgeous spot. The best part of our stay was just walking out from the hotel into the surrounding hills, meeting school kids on their way to the local school and tea pickers out to work, peeking in at the local temple. Skipped the two hour bumpy drive to Horton Plains for this, and hugely pleased by the decision. One factor there, though, was that the road to Nuwara Elya was in bad shape - about an hour of bumping to get there. So if the nature reserve is where you're headed for - this isn't the place to stay.

The place itself is beautiful and well tended, and the gardens looked lovely (it was rainy, so meals were indoors, but outdoor meals could make all the difference). Btu there was something sour about the stay, and of all the places we stayed in Sri Lanka - this is the only one I'd have changed. Maybe because it's part of a chain, so there wasn't the sense of people trying to do their job well? The food was only so-so - the young 'chef' trying too hard to do Western, and toning down the spices on Sri Lankan food. They packed us a picnic lunch when we went for a walk - white bread with processed yellow cheese, and saran-wrapped apples and bananas.... The main master bedroom on the second floor looked like a gorgeous room, with a fantastic window opening onto the view - but our room, on the ground floor, was adjacent to the staff quarters and felt slightly exposed and not so private... I chose to come here rather than the Tea Factory because I didn't think I would like all the pampering of four meals a day there - I still suspect that's right, but think I should have found something else.

I still gave it high marks for most things, because it does deserve them - just that relative to the other amazing places we stayed, this was slightly less so.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, Front Office Executive at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments and giving us necessary feedback to improve.

All comments you have provided will be looked at positively and areas for improvement advanced in a timely manner.

We thank you for your comments and trust you will return to Jetwing Warwick Gardens to experience the improvements made in future.

Thank you,
Best regards.
M.Kamil.
Front Office Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had a really pleasant stay here. The staff was superb. On arrival, we were met by Mr. Desmond (previously at Jetwing St. Andrews), and he remembered from my sole visit at St. Andrews over 6 months ago! The butler, Robert, is simply a one-man hospitality machine! From carrying bags, to manning the kitchen expertly, he's the reason that the place is running smoothly.

We stayed in the "white room", or Netherleigh suite as it's known there, and it was above expectation. Very clean and comfy, with a modern bathroom. A dip in the warm bath during a cold evening is a real pleasure.

Coffee in front of the fireplace in the lounge downstairs was a highlight. As was the luxurious king sized bed.

The garden was home to a few leeches, but that's a little price to pay for the exquisite beauty of the surroundings.

Overall, a thumbs up! Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, Front Office Executive at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing Warwick Gardeens during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya. We have noted your comments and are much encouraged by them.

Your comments will passed on to all relevant associates.

We look forward to your return visit sometime in the near future.

Thank you,
Best regards

M.Kamil.
Front Office Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Warwick Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Address: Ambewella, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Warwick Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored colonial tea planter’s bungalow set amidst verdant hillside scenery, Jetwing Warwick Gardens is the ideal getaway from life’s tribulations. Consisting of a range of exquisitely designed rooms, this a stay allows one to experience the enchantment of historic elegance and glory surrounded by nature’s perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Jetwing Warwick Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Warwick Gardens Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Warwick Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.