We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, grubby and overpriced.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Trevene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Trevene Hotel to your Saves list
The Trevene Hotel
17 Park Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Budget hotel in Ella ....
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shabby, grubby and overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked this place as it was top choice in LP.

We found it shabby, grubby and overpriced. Our room was next to the lobby and extremely noisy in the early morning when we needed a much needed lie in after traveling. The pillows were hard and the towels musty and grubby. The room was cold, and we were very envious to chat to travelers that had paid much less in N.E and had rooms with heating in.

Breakfast was expensive and not worth the price for just some coffee and toast.

Yes the staff are friendly, and its a good location, but that is not enough to justify the price of staying there. It is not good value for money at all. Find somewhere better for a lot less.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    101
    54
    35
    21
See reviews for
38
145
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had chance to stay at The Trevene for 2 nights.
Hotel - This very old house is very well kept and offers charming common spaces with fire places where to chill-out and chat with other guests.

Room - Spacious and soberly decorated we enjoyed the hot & high pressure water from the bathroom. Sat TV are available in the rooms.

Food - Diners served in the common salons. The day we had diner at The Trevene, European food was served. We found it overpriced for its quality. We heard Sri Lankan dishes were far better. We had diner at the Sant Andrew's Jetwing hotel and enjoyed ourselves with great food offered via a buffet package.

Service - Both the owner and local staff are very friendly and will make all necessary efforts to make your stay in the guest house as pleasant as feasible.

I would recommend this place if you wish to find a nice spot from where you could arrange excursions to the Horton Plains, the surrounding tea factories... They can arrange drivers and tours for you.

Room Tip: Avoid their rooms too closed to the dining area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel - Not really an hotel, more a guest house. House with 200 years old, is not very well keept. Decoration is quite bad, not taking advantage of the place. They do not look into the details that can make a diference in a place like this, and the potencial of the place is all there. But either you have it or you don't, and in this case they don't.
Small garden in the front, with an interesting view. Nothing too spetacular

Room - Booked a delux room - It is located facing the front of the house. Room is spacious, with fire place (did not try it), bathroom is realy bad to the look, but it has hot whater.
The room is quite cold in the evening and the bed is not confortable. Room can be noisy since the acess to the room is through a leaving room where gests can stay and chat.

Food - They offer the guests the posibility to eat in the house. My recomendation is not to do it, since the quality is not great and the price is very expensive, you can find in the city better and cheaper solutions (Milano or Indian restaurant near the Grand Hotel) both at walking distance from the Hotel. The same for breakfast, it possible do not book room with it, just go into the city and have it there.

Location - Location is good, at walking distance from the city center (10 min).

Staff - The staff is friendly, namelly the hotel manager, always helpfull.

Price - Overpriced for what they offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

My stay was short and anything but sweet. One night offers a great opertunity to gauge the value hotel management holds on your wallet. In The Trevene, if you do not plan on spending money with them, and a considerable amount at that, then don't expect to be noticed or treated with more consideration than the town dunce. Fist MAJOR issue is there driver who is at best an unscrupulous a*se wipe. There superficial facade of a colonial building backs onto several sub standard (for the price of 3,000RS.) rooms. Ours had a towel rack that wouldn't support the weight of a fly if it landed on it. A comfortable double bed and an ugly, anything but colonial roof. Admittedly the grounds and the front of house fireplace and dining hall are quite gorgeous. Sydney is a lovely Manager who is unfortunately not very good at hiring and firing good and bad staff (ie. his driver and front desk receptionist). After informing him that we'd like to eat in town and not at the hotel we revived a scowling smile and a condesending pat on the head. Overall if you are stoping the night or only in town a while and can deal with the dumbfounded pretense, the place is nice looking and close to everything in town. Breakfast is thankfully not included because if it was you'd be disappointed for paying the extra Rs. for it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

My stay was short and anything but sweet. One night offers a great opertunity to gauge the value hotel management holds on your wallet. In The Trevene, if you do not plan on spending money with them, and a considerable amount at that, then don't expect to be noticed or treated with more consideration than the town dunce. Fist MAJOR issue is there driver who is at best an unscrupulous a*se wipe. There superficial facade of a colonial building backs onto several sub standard (for the price of 3,000RS.) rooms. Ours had a towel rack that wouldn't support the weight of a fly if it landed on it. A comfortable double bed and an ugly, anything but colonial roof. Admittedly the grounds and the front of house fireplace and dining hall are quite gorgeous. Sydney is a lovely Manager who is unfortunately not very good at hiring and firing good and bad staff (ie. his driver and front desk receptionist). After informing him that we'd like to eat in town and not at the hotel we revived a scowling smile and a condesending pat on the head. Overall if you are stoping the night or only in town a while and can deal with the dumbfounded pretense, the place is nice looking and close to everything in town. Breakfast is thankfully not included because if it was you'd be disappointed for paying the extra Rs. for it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We didnᷰt get the promised standard room which was promised (it was the last one left) but we did not get anyr easonable discount. There was only one horrible, cold light, very old towels, dirty walls, and no extra blanket was available (altitude is 1900 mtrs).

Room Tip: Check the room, because there are better ones available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in the Trevene 2 nights in October 2012.
I choose this guesthouse because of its good rating in LP.
and its close to the city. All in all you get what you pay.
(about 38 $ without breakfast).
The staff was very helpfull. The building is quite old and
a bit worn out. Looks like they did not invest in repairs
for quite a while. The walls and the doors are very very thin.
If you are interested what the other guests in their rooms talk
this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: As far away from the reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trevene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trevene Hotel

Address: 17 Park Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 150 years old British Colonial banglow, situated in front of the famous Victoria park at 150m walking distance to the central town. We have 10 rooms all with attach bathrooms which are with bathtubs or showers. Some of our rooms also has fire places or we provide heaters if needed. You can enjoy the evenings by one of the oldest fire places of Sri Lanka, that we light in our lobby. This is the most beautiful, coolest place of our country which you must see on your trip to Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Trevene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trevene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.