We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for Indian Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Indian

Grand Indian
Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Place for Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I and my wife just loved finding Grand Indian and having a good Indian meal. The ambience, setting, food is all very good. the little pastry shop next to it is a welcome which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    102
    106
    48
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Some good dishes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The chicken biryani was delicious but the lamb dish was not good at all. The service was poor and our order took forever to arrive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good atmosphere but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I didn't like the food and the service was not so good also. However, the location/atmosphere is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The food was very nice, the service was very slow and generally not too good. They couldnt explain properly about the food, werent attentive. And expect to wait an hour for your food, even if the place isnt packed...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food service OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The retaurant was full when we arrived and there seemed to be no system of taking names or giving us an idea to the length of wait. Luckily 4 tables emptied quickly and we got a table within 15 minutes. Food was good when it arrived but we had to wait45 minutes. It was also a bit bizarre that they had to go up to the hotel to get the wine we had ordered! Otherwise service was fine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Indian also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Grand Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.