We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average fare...Veyr slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Silva Food Centre

De Silva Food Centre
90 New Bazaar St, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Restaurant details
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average fare...Veyr slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The above says it all... We stopped there for lunch after a trip to theTea plantations. We were slightly peckish and ordered a lunch of rice, curry. The waiters seem to take forever to bring the food. Food was average ..must say they were quite friendly but oh so slow.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    17
    32
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Please avoid!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Since most of the good restaurants in Nuwara Eliya are slightly far away from the town, our driver was reluctant to take us to the place where we wanted to eat. So we ended up being taken to this place which is in the heart of the town. We had just finished hiking at the Horton plains and were famished. The place was dirty, noisy and service was awful. When we finally managed to get the attention of the waiter, we ordered for ONE omelette and ONE veg fried rice. We waited for almost 45 mins for our food....but NO FOOD. We were told it was on its way. The worse part was a lot of people who came after us, who ordered more number of dishes than us, all finished and left too and we were still waiting! I finally lost it and got up and left. On my way, I told the supervisor about what happened and hey...NO REACTION!! Very disappointing. Please avoid this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a good place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Quality of food is bad, service is also not the best, the place is not clean. Not a good choise to have a meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, null, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Bad but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's in Nuwara Eliya town. also there are no good places to have food but this place is better than other places. When my friend want food without garlic and onions, they made it. but price is a little bit high.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After hearing a lot about De Silva Food Center, me and my wife gave it a try during our vacation but were very disappointed.

Service - Okay
Food presentation - Okay
Food taste - Terrible. We tried Chicken Buriyani.
Price - Very high

We are not going back there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Silva Food Centre also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to De Silva Food Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Silva Food Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.