We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Fern Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Fern Cottage
Save
You added King Fern Cottage to your Saves list
203 / 1A St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 128 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The place is perfectly located, just a short walk from the city centre and is designed brilliantly with clean rooms, massive beds and a cool garden to relax in. The rooms have gone up in price unfortunately over the past year or so but it is still an interesting place to stay. If I was travelling I wouldn't budget to stay here but as a place to stay on holiday it is great. I wouldn't bother eating here as the food isn't anything great and there is much better stuff around from other places in NE - even breakfast. But it is a lovely place to stay, relax with a pot of tea and the perfect base to venture out from Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    92
    31
    17
    14
See reviews for
30
151
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We tried to book to King Fern and had several strange telephone exchanges. In the first, my wife called, and was replied that there are no rooms available. She had a strange feeling about the call, so, due to the lack of other suitable hostels in town I tried to call again 5 min later. Then, miraculously, there was a choice between 2 rooms. Several more phone calls were strangely hung up, and generally we got a bad impression of the place before setting foot on its doorstep.
We came to KF and saw that the fact that the place is made of wood (and very aesthetic!) is also one of its downfalls. In the first room we saw on the bottom floor every step of a person walking on top could be heard. The second room on the top floor wad exposed to city noises (very loud music all night) and the snoring of the person sleeping in the room below/next to us that woke us up in the night.
The room itself was fine, the shower was great, food was OK.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv-Yafo, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I strongly recommend this place!
The owner Mr. Nishantha will warmly accept you and make you feel home, just like you've been known each other for years. He'll also gladly help you with anything you need including information, tour booking etc. The place is fancy, beautiful, clean and safe and in a short walking distance to everywhere you need - and prices are reasonable.
So don't think twice - this is the place for a perfect stay.
Just be smart and book in advance, as it may get fully booked quiet quickly.
Thank's for everything, Mr. Nishantha :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at kingfern for one night only. The place is a stylish and cosy place with a warm atmosphere! The food we ordered was delicious. The owner of this place is a fun and warm-hearted guy who took very good care of us when one of my friends was unwell and needed to go to the doctor. He drove us there immediately and made sure we were alright. We would love to come back here again! Thank you, Nishan and Hitchy!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a great room with a view over the stream and garden.
Surprising number of birds visited in fact more than we saw in Horton Plains!
The hotel has internet access and a variety of seating areas to eat or just chill. All pleasantly heated by a log fire in the evening
The food was good and served in the pine clad dining room.All the staff were very helpful.
Watch out for the manager with a great sense of humour!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very nicely decorated common area with a lot a wood and a fire place. Great atmosphere. Nice garden with water running through. Double rooms for 3000 or 4000 Rs including breakfast, or 5000 for a family room. Booking in advance is highly recommended. We enjoyed staying here. Our room was to reach through a trap in the ceiling (first time in my life), was clean, had a nice big bed with a warm blanket but no furniture to put the luggage or cloths and view to the roof of the guest house (instead of to the beautiful garden). Food was good, well served and extremely nicely decorated with flowers. Congrats.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Cozy, quiet and warm. The dining areas are in good shape, cozy and clean. Good food. Staff are friendly, accommodating, and helpful, even late at night. Room was very spacious, clean, fresh sheets, and with a good view of their man-made garden and forest-like trees with a stream. We even saw different types of birds on the trees. Wifi is available and strong at the reception/dining area. Lan is also available for a cheap rate. They also managed our van going to Horton's Place for a reasonable price. Quite a bit far from the markets and main areas, but you can also arrange a tuktuk to pick you up with drivers that they recommend. It is also walkable (if you can manage) for about 20 mins from the markets. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Cottage

Address: 203 / 1A St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nine room guesthouse is nestled within nature for you to experience maximum relaxation for you to chill out. We strive to provide you with high level service and comfort. We have a range of rooms, to meet your needs as a solo, couple, group or family traveler. With your visit to Nuwara Eliya in mind, we are delighted to assist you with all travel information to make your trip easier. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Fern Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Fern Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.