We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place with a Wonderful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kithulgala Rest House

Save Saved
You added Kithulgala Rest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kithulgala Rest House
Kitulgala, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Kitulgala B&B and Inns
Tupper Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place with a Wonderful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed one night there, and I wish we stayed longer. The rooms were very nice, definitely up to western world standards. The attached restaurant was very good, with a wide selection of entrees. We were there in the off season, and the place was empty. The prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: We chose a room without air conditioning, considering the climate I think we would be more comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The rooms were so bad we stayed up getting drunk as late as possible. Dirty sheets on the bed - quite what had stained the sheets I don't want to consider. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. A huge gaping hole underneath one door had to be blocked by spare sheets. Insects, frogs, everywhere in the room. The bathroom was rancid - soaking wet, wormy things sliming up the wall - it was like something from a horror show. Food wasn't good - cold, buffet covered in flies. Such a shame as the grounds of the hotel were really quite pretty with beautiful views over the river and jungle below. This could be a great location but it really is a bargain basement hostel at best :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The location, overlooking the river to the forest beyond is what really makes this hotel. We arrived early on a Sunday morning and by mid-day the river was packed with locals enjoying themselves, washing, swimming, playing drums and creating lots of noise and atmosphere.
We took the canoe ferry across the river to the forest reserve, which is a birdwatcher's paradise, with the rare Serendib Scops Owl amongst the species we saw.
The food was good with lots of choice, room was a bit shabby in places, but who cares about that at such a great place. We'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed in an air conditioned room at the Kithulgala Rest house on a Saturday night. Booked the rooms in advance through Ceylon Hotels Corporation that owns the inn. No online reservation facility's offered yet so had to visit the CHC office at the Galle Face Hotel to make the booking.

The rest house is about 37km down the A7 (Avissawella-Hatton-Nuwara Eliya) highway. When travelling from Colombo, be ready to turn off to the right after the 36th kilometre post since there are no prominent signboards giving directions to the rest house; which makes finding the turn-off a bit difficult. All the signs we found seemed to be hidden from plain view.

The rest house is by the side of the Kelani river. Across the river is a forest reserve that's said to be a bird watcher's paradise. It is safe to have a dip in the river - but watch out for the water level. You can also experience crossing the river in an oruwa - a long, narrow canoe manned by a single paddler and built to carry about 6 standing people. For a dip or boat ride, the best time is between 8am-9:30am as it gets very crowded (too crowded) after that.

The rooms were very spacious and had amenities such as cable TV, mini-bar (which, for some reason, wasn’t turned on in our room), full-sized clothes cupboard, and private relaxing area at the entrance to the room. The bed was comfortable. No safe to keep valuables. The bathroom was a disappointment. A water heater was available for hot water. But the washbasin taps had areas of rust on them and so did the washbasin. Also in our room there were big vents in the bathroom wall for ventillation. Unless the bathroom door's closed, it'll give a view of the inside of the room to anyone from outside - something to definitely watch out for. We got to know that the inn will soon be closed for sometime for renovation so hopefully these problems would get fixed.

Food was good. The meals offer sufficient variety as well. Service was also very good.

The Kithulgala Rest House is not a five-star getaway. But it definitely is a very affordable, scenic and comfortable place to lodge in Kithulgala.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms at the Kithulgala Rest House are air-conditioned,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a marvellous time here. The rooms were clean and good, the food was nice and the price was very reasonable. We also enjoyed a super session of white water rafting and body rafting which was such a buzz. Definitely a place I'd like to visit again some day.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I've read the other reviews here, and I don't recognise this place from them - perhaps the reviewers had forgotten which country they were visiting. This is an absolute classic place to stay - like stepping back in time. The large bar and restaurant serves as a lovely place to mill about and drink in the tremendous view across the river to the forest beyond. All the fixtures and fittings are period piece and perfect - cane chairs, woodblock floors, ceiling fans, teak roof. The rooms were very comfortable in my opinion - they are mostly not air conditioned but have very efficient ceiling fans and doors opening out onto the wide river terrace with the same great view over the river.

Food is buffet style, and lunch is popular for non-resident groups, but dinner is relaxed and uncrowded. Staff were exceptionally helpful, even in this country where good service seemed the norm. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms from 1 to 14 are the ones with the excellent river views, although ceiling fans rather than ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location and nice airy restaurant. Rooms a little tired but staff try hard.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kithulgala Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kithulgala Rest House

Address: Kitulgala, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kitulgala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Kithulgala Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kithulgala Rest House Hotel Kitulgala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kithulgala Rest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.