We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE ON THE BEACH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Ahungalla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Ahungalla to your Saves list
Heritance Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ahungalla, Sri Lanka, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ahungalla
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“PARADISE ON THE BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

What an exceptional hotel. Glorious location on a stunning golden sand beach, beautiful garden teaming with birds, monkeys, iguanas and a fabulous staff who go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Thanks to General Manager Refhan N. Razeen for his great hospitality and kindness and for his amazing eco-friendly policy of sustainable, environmentally friendly hotel management. Also thanks to Kumara Karunaratne for managing a superb buffet restaurant with a staggering choice of delicious foods. No wonder Heritance Ahungalla won Beach Resort of the Year Award. Altogether a great holiday location.

Room Tip: Top floors at the front have best sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted by the star rating that you have given us and the comments made by you regarding our hotel, food and staff. It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed and relaxed yourselves at our hotel. We hope you would consider our home as your home away from home and visit our hotel as often as you can. Please keep us up dated if and when you plan to come down to Sri Lanka. We will wait eagerly to greet you and welcome you to our midst once more. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    351
    159
    34
    32
See reviews for
431
581
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel. Nice location ( in the middle of asian small village), lovely long deserted beach - exellent for those who like privacy and calm atmosphere. very good food!!! Thank you for giving us room 132 with the direct access to the swimming pool! Nice service. We liked almost everything, except for the shortage of sunbeds and Sun umbrellas ( even thoug we were in low sezon). It is not the thing you should worry about in this kind of hotel....Also some parts of rooms/ bathrooms nide some renovation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review on the holiday experience at Heritance Ahungalla. We are delighted by the comments you have made about us. We are extremely sorry to note that you experienced a shortage of sun beds and umbrellas during your stay with us. We have made a note to increase these items in the future. We are also planning to up grade our hotel during the next month or so and we will certainly consider all areas that needs renovation and attend to them. Thank you for bringing these few shortcomings to our notice. We hope you will visit us again during your next holiday too. Please let us know when you make your plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

During our tour of Sri Lanka, we stayed 4 nights at this hotel.
For us a very good experience and one of the best of our 23 day trip
The rooms are spacious and kept clean.
The food in the restaurants is very good quality and also the buffet well warm.en tasteful.
Attentive and service oriented staff, who do everything to make your stay verry well.

The only thing we didn't like that there were too less beach chairs provided and many were in poor condition.

For the rest, this hotel is highly recommended.

Sincerely,
Ben and Leone Brouwers

The Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla to spend a holiday in Sri Lanka. Also thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, our service, food on the trip advisor. We are very happy that you had a good time with us and we were able to take care of you both. It was a real motivator to read your comments about our hotel and our staff. Thank you once again for your generous thoughts. Please know that it was a great pleasure and privilege to have had the opportunity to have you with us and to take care of you. We are looking forward to having you with us again in the near future and hope that you would come for a long stay with us and enjoy a relaxing and rejuvenating dream holiday with us. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Four of us in the family chose Heritance, Ahungalla for. one day stay and it was fascinating. Booked through the hotel web site. Check in was cool, slight delay, as the hotel was on full occupancy and we were upgraded into a luxury suite and a deluxe Room. That was great and overall nice please to stay. Staff were very attentive, food was varied and suit most pallets. Good pool especially one reserved for residents was clean and nice with a good pool attendant. Will recommend any one to spend the holiday at this nice property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as you holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your very positive comments and hope that you had a great stay with us. Please know that it is a pleasure to have had the opportunity of looking after you and your family. We trust that you would consider this as your dream location where you can have a relaxing and rejuvenating break from your busy schedules. Look forward to having you back with us soon. Please Keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the second week of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka at the beginning of March. We had our room upgraded as we were on our honeymoon which was amazing as it had a huge balcony looking strait onto the beach and out to sea. All the food we had at the hotel was very good. We found the breakfast selection good and the freshly made hoppers fantastic mmm! The 'cafe' restaurant next to the pool was good value and the food was all high standard.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful and the pools are great. There is not a lot around the hotel (other than the fantastic stretch of sandy beach and the sea) but you can easily get a tuk tuk or taxi to Bentota or we went to Galle for the day which was lovely. We also visited Kosgoda Turtle conservation hatchery, very cute! I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you have done your exploring of the country and want to relax in an amazing setting!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We are very thankful for the time and trouble you have taken to post a review about your holiday experience with us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your comments and are very happy in the knowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and we hope you will continue to be with us during your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

all though the hotel and people were very good we found that being only bed and breakfast we liked to go out to different restaurants in the evening which was a 20 minute ride away as there was not really anything closer.We felt that on the beach you were never left alone and if you went out of the complex you ran the gauntlet of the locals

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. Whilst being happy about your comments about the hotel and our staff we are disturbed to know that you had trouble with the locals on the beach and at the gate. We are happy to announce to you that we are in the process of finding a lasting solution for this problem that our dear guests face which is beyond our purview. We trust that very soon we can find a solution for this problem. However, thank you for bringing this to our notice. We hope you will return back to our hotel for your next holiday and experience the difference that will take place soon. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Been here with my wife and had the most relaxing time on one of the most beautiful beaches in Sri Lanka.

- Great food quality at the buffet but I can really recommend the a la carte restaurant next to the pool bar, we had amazing lobster and other dishes there
- The beach is tidy with nice sand and the sea is really warm and great to swim in

Service is outstanding - ask for Mr. Thushara he helped us with everything!

Room Tip: Room 301 is excellent - ask for tea in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience at Heritance Ahungalla on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive comments made by you and the five star rating you have marked for us. It is indeed a great pleasure for us to know that you and your wife had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at our hotel. We trust that you will return back to our home for your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we too can be ready to welcome you back to our hotel. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Ahungalla, Sri Lanka, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Ahungalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.