We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritance Ahungalla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Heritance Ahungalla to your Saves list
Heritance Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ahungalla, Sri Lanka, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ahungalla
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful ocean resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Been here with my wife and had the most relaxing time on one of the most beautiful beaches in Sri Lanka.

- Great food quality at the buffet but I can really recommend the a la carte restaurant next to the pool bar, we had amazing lobster and other dishes there
- The beach is tidy with nice sand and the sea is really warm and great to swim in

Service is outstanding - ask for Mr. Thushara he helped us with everything!

Room Tip: Room 301 is excellent - ask for tea in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience at Heritance Ahungalla on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive comments made by you and the five star rating you have marked for us. It is indeed a great pleasure for us to know that you and your wife had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at our hotel. We trust that you will return back to our home for your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we too can be ready to welcome you back to our hotel. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    288
    133
    30
    24
See reviews for
330
450
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed in August 2013 for Business Meet.The location of the hotel is superb with a lovely view of the sea. The rooms appear to be old need renovation, the rooms don't have card key.
the meals were not suiting the tastes for Indian Palate.
The staff is not attentive at all, language problem I suppose always had to be called many times even for water.
Overall was an average experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We are also very thankful to you for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about your experiences on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you have brought to our notice the few short-comings you faced during your stay with us. I wish to very humbly apologize to you for same and thank you once again for bringing it to my notice. Please note that despite these few shortcomings we hope that you would come back to our hotel once more so that we can extend a proper holiday experience that you will cherish. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just spent a very enjoyable 17 nights at Heritance Ahungalla which is set on a fanastic stretch of beach. On arrival the view through the reception area is breathtaking with the infinity pool stretching out towards the ocean.

Our welcome was very friendly and check-in was quick, which is just what you want after a long tiring journey. As you go about the hotel and are greeted by members of staff you very soon realise what an amazingly friendly hotel this is, where the staff are happy to help you in any way they can. The Guest Relations team were always happy to chat and a great help as were the front desk staff particularly Manjula.

Having a pre-dinner drink by the pool, with the sound of the waves crashing was one of those perfect moments, especially if Madhu served us - it wasn't quite so perfect if it was her day off !!! The standard of the food was excellent and so much choice, plus the desserts were to die for !!. Staff in the Jute restaurant were all very helpful and efficient particularly Nelka-priyan, Lakmal, Anouska, Lassiter and Charuka.

We stayed in a suite (an up-grade) which was very spacious and comforable with a wonderful view and very quiet air conditioning. Housekeeping were very attentive with extra touches : flowers and towels arranged as swans on our very comfortable bed.

This was our 4th time in Sri Lanka and Heritance Ahungalla is by far the best hotel we've stayed in.....we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted about your remarks made on the Trip Advisor and highly motivated by them. I have already shared your reviews with my staff. Please know that it gives us immense pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay at our hotel and have left our hotel with happy hearts. We trust that you will visit us again during your next holiday. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our first trip to Sri Lanka and we chose the Heritance Ahungalla after reading the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed, arriving at the hotel, driving through the entrance gates, being met by welcoming staff and the stunning vista across the infinity pool, we could feel the 'stress' just melting away. The beach , stretching for miles, is stunning with large breaking waves, fun to play in but for swimming the pool is a safer option. Staff could not be more helpful and always had a friendly smile, pool staff tried to ensure your sunbed was in the area you wanted to relax, rooms were kept meticulously clean, the view from 217, gorgeous, and the food superb! We booked on half board and enjoyed the buffet meal each night, there was a wide variety on offer, beautifully presented and delicious, often hotel food looks good but actually, on tasting, is a little disappointing however at the Heritance we found the flavour matched the appearance. Congratulations to all the catering team! If guests do not book half board there is an excellent small beach restaurant, think it was called sunshine? sunview? We could not mention the Heritance food without a special mention of Tinkle, one of the chef's, his food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed his special attention and dishes he specifically prepared for us. If booking trips through Aitken Spence ask for tour guide Roshain D'Silva, he is knowledgable, always ensured we got the very best out of the trip. and became a friend during our stay. If you would prefer a short trip by tuk tuk, then seek out Susantha at the hotel gates, he is a lovely fellow and excellent driver! Would we return? Most definitely, we can't wait! The owners of Heritance Ahungalle should be proud of their hotel and very professional staff team .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main pool are lovely however guests should be aware of some noise from nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share with us your holiday experience at Heritance Ahungalla on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted to read your reviews about our hotel, food and staff. Please know that it gives us great pleasure to know that our dear guests have enjoyed their stay with us and have left our home happy and satisfied. We look forward to having you back with us soon and please keep us up dated when you make your next holiday plans so that we too can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

i love sri lanka but i'm not coming back to this hotel.
we got bad service in the reception, with the cashier, at the pool bar, at the fine dining restaurant and the buffet restaurant ...
we stayed there for three days and in the end we were pleased indeed to leave. we experienced that the staff was highly incompetent and at times rude. they also had no track of bills and there were a long wait at all, even the purchase of a single Soda! the exception was the friendly helpful people at the pool and housekeeping. they did a really good job.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at our hotel. First of all let me very humbly apologies to you for any inconvenience and bad experience you had to undergo at my hotel. We have taken your remarks in a very positive manner and have discussed them at length at a meeting with all my Department Heads. We have also had a meeting with all our service staff and up dated to them about your comments with regard to the service that was provided by them. I have also made arrangements to send all of them for an extensive programme on Customer Service with a view to educating them on the importance of taking care of our guests. I am of the view that they will certainly see customer service from a different perspective after this and will not leave any more chances for our valued guests to feel distressed or neglected. I have have also up dated my Finance Manager about the Reception Cashier's inability to provide a good service and we have had a chat with him with regard to the comments made by you. Once again my humble apologies for any inconvenience that you had to under go and sincere thanks for bringing it to my notice. I trust that you will consider changing your decision never to visit us again and would come back to feel the difference in the service that will be given to you. We look forward to having you back with us so that we will be able to really take care of you. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My four girl friends and i had a wonderful two day stay at Heritance Ahungalla. Service was excellent from the very start. Waiters went out of the way to attend to our every need. The hotel has an award winning chef (Chef Demutthu) and we were privileged to have a tour of the kitchen and see some of his award winning works.

loved every minute there and was so reluctant to leave

Room Tip: floors nearer the residential pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We were delighted to see the positive comments made by you about the hotel and are very glad that you and your friends had a good time with us at the hotel. We trust that you will return again for another spell of great holiday. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed 5 nights as an add-on to our two week island tour when the hotel was busy mainly with German, Russian and Ukrainian guests many of who were in large groups and are on all inclusive packages. Its is a quiet location on a beautiful beach with no other hotels nearby. Whilst we were there the sea was quite rough with a strong undercurrent.

There is a well designed and maintained infinity pool, just off the lobby, that blends in with the sea giving the impression that you are actually in the sea. There is also another large pool elsewhere in the grounds.

We were disappointed with the deluxe room that we were offered and so paid considerably more (although discounted) for a luxury suite upgrade which was very nice though was somewhat more than we needed though nothing else appeared to be available.

The main restaurant (Jute) serves an excellent buffet as it offers a large choice of good quality international food though with probably less Asian dishes than we had at other hotels elsewhere. The groups sit at large tables in middle of this restaurant and can be quite noisy at dinner times. Our room hotel guide stated that attire for dinner was ‘smart casual’ though this was largely ignored by many guests and especially by some men who wore jeans, shorts, T shirts and football shirts. Beach fine dining was excellent with a good choice of dishes from an a la carte menu including some wonderful seafood. Attentive and friendly service made this a truly memorable occasion.

There was a lack of sun beds and umbrellas around the pools and grounds. Also, the sun beds and towels were old and many of the beds were broken or had wheels missing so there was the daily early morning rush to get towels on good beds with umbrellas. The hotel needs to invest money in buying new furniture and towels to ensure there are enough for all guests.

Lunchtime food at the pool bar was limited to burgers, sandwiches and half a dozen other snacks which really should be supplemented by some salads and some more Asian snacks. Service in the grounds Service away from the two pools was infrequent and we usually had to walk to the bar to buy drinks.

We have discussed our views with a representative of the hotels management (Dinusha Kularatne) who says he will be writing a report detailing our comments. It's a good hotel but it didn't live up to our expectations of the luxury hotel we wanted at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination to end your vacation in Sri Lanka. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you appreciated our hotel and our lovely pools. Also the service of our staff and the food at the restaurant. However we are concerned about some of the remarks made by you with regard to the sun beds and umbrellas and the beach towels. We have taken a serious view of the comments you have made and will consider increasing our beach furniture and linen and also get the sun beds which are damaged repaired immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our notice. Your comment about the a la carte menu at the Pool Bar has been noted by us and I have already up dated my Executive Chef to look into the menu immediately and see what could be done to improve it. I am very sorry that you feel we did not live up to your expected standards of luxury as a five star and we will certainly take care in the future to improve and up grade ourselves in the areas mentioned by you. Thank you once again for bringing them to our notice. We trust that you would visit us again for your next holiday to experience the improvements that we will make to our hotel during the next couple of months. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Ahungalla, Sri Lanka, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritance Ahungalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.