We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20189   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
SW London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Paradise Found?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

First things first. Yes the sea really is that turquoise and the sand is soft and incredibly white. It is picture postcard perfect.
Arriving by speed boat at the island just ten minutes after a landing from a short flight from Male to Gan, I couldn’t believe I had only left Gatwick 12 hours earlier on a direct flight - which makes a huge difference when planning a four day minibreak in the Maldives. It might sound mad, but it is actually totally doable, although of course I would have been very happy to stay longer!

It’s going to be hard not to write this review in cliches and superlatives as I do feel that I have just returned from a tropical paradise idyll that has surpassed my expectations. But here goes.
Villingili is an exceptional place.
I visited during monsoon season – mid season - with my 12 year old son on a work/holiday trip and we were very lucky. We had sunshine every day although it was a tad windy at times which made snorkelling from our gorgeous ocean villa a little challenging. There were 2 sheltered house reefs, however - with lifeguards - and we had a terrific boat trip to snorkel at a reef further out at sea where we saw an amazing array of fish and turtles. The resort even has a baby turtle hatching area and you can sign up to be alerted day or night if they start hatching! We also went on a wonderful dolphin watching cruise.
Our ocean villa on stilts was incredible - with a huge deck and hammock hanging over the Indian ocean, a large bedroom immaculately furnished including a Bose sound system, indoor and outdoor showers plus a huge bath and walk in wardrobe. Each villa has a host contactable by mobile phone who organizes whatever you need including buggies to and from the main resort. But we loved the bicycles and cycling across the jetty to a lavish breakfast featuring everything from trad British eggs to Sushi and a wide range of Chinese dishes. The resort is very popular with the Chinese and at this time of the year is fairly quiet, which I think makes it is the perfect time to go. We had sun all day, and then bang on 6pm, it’s sunset and from then it gets dark very quickly. There’s lots to do day and night- Golf, Spa, Islands Tours, Fishing, Diving and lots of Watersports including surfing, kite surfing, sailing etc. My son had a great time although he was too old for the kids club but you would have to be mad to be bored here, they even show films on the beach one night a week.
The food was amazing, even more so when you realize it is a small island but every meal was a feast with fantastic local fish, seafood and locally raised vegetables. There were a choice of 3 great restaurants and a hugely diverse menu at Dr Alis featuring Indian, Arabic and Chinese food as well as Maldivian specialties. Our favourite was Javvu on the beach where we enjoyed freshly caught Grouper, salad and chips with waves lapping at our feet.
Although the beach barbecue made for a very special occasion, and if you get the chance to have dinner in the Chef’s garden – go for it. We had a stunning meal including Wahu ceviche, fresh Yellowfin tuna and the freshest vegetables from the garden, who knew aubergine could make such a tasty salad? And the mango, papaya and baby coconut dessert was heaven. And they even got my son to eat vegetables. As someone with many food allergies, I have to thank all the F&B staff, particularly Hassan who checked every meal that I ordered was safe for me to eat. No mean feat as it is quite a long list. Incredible service.
Villingili has lovely staff and as a first time visitor to the Shangri La brand, I was really impressed with the kindness and courtesy of everyone. And I think that may be to do with the ethics of the brand. I have always been slightly uncomfortable with the idea of going away and being looked after by staff who are a long way from their own homes as is the way with all other resorts in the Maldives, but Villingili is unique. The island was a picnic island used by islanders from the nearby islands when it was developed in 2009 by Shangri La. The resort now employs 50% local staff and as one told me, this means he can go to work each day and go home at night to his family and live traditional island life. Prior to the resort opening, locals working in hospitality, the island’s biggest employer, had to travel to other islands for six months at time to earn 15 days off.
The hotel is also introducing new crops to the island and helping create sustainable food businesses, with 40% of the food served grown locally. It really is paradise. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear HamptonMum,

This is what we call a real “Wow” review! Thank you!

It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your son on our island, we couldn’t be more grateful for this splendid review you have given us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us about your experience in such details and for providing so much positive feedback about our team!

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of your water villa and the wide range of activities offered. Most of all, it is great to hear that your dietary restrictions did not affect your culinary experience and you were able to appreciate our diverse food selection thanks to Hassan’s assistance.

Thank you very much for visiting us, we can’t wait to welcome you again soon to our "exceptional place” for another exceptional time!

With best regards,

Rene D Egle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    59
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
112
270
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Experience of a life time!! Went there for honeymoon and it was just heavenly. Everything was perfect and the service was amazing. It was a dream. Strongly recommended to all !! A pampering experience to enjoy

Room Tip: Go for the over water villa. Simply amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Khalid A,

Thank you very much for your great review! The team and I are delighted that we managed to make your Honeymoon an occasion to remember!

We surely look forward to welcome you again and rest assured, the pampering will continue!

With warm regards,

Rene D Egle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A+ hotel. Everything is amazing, spotless, perfect. Service is outstanding. Food is delicious. Nobody can imagine that food can be so good on an island.beach is perfection. Activities are countless. I Will be back!!! Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear DoctorEA,

What a great and flattering summary of the resort!
I have shared your review with my team and we all are delighted to receive an A+ mark, thank you very much!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Rene D Egle,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 with two young children 1 and 5 years old for 11 days 3 weeks ago at the Shangri La Vilingilli.This was our third visit to the resort over the last 3 years, prior to which we have stayed at the One and Only Reethi Rah and Four Seasons KH ( as a couple, before children).
At the outset, it needs to be made clear that this is not a "run of the mill" All Inclusive type of resort nor is it a cheap charter flight group holiday type of destination.
This is an exclusive resort that caters to honeymooners and families alike. It is not near Male, rather it is probably one if the further-most southern resort in the maldives and south of the equator, so there is an extra 90 minutes flight from Male to reach this paradise - well worth it.
In our view this makes the resort even more exclusive and harder to reach for large group based excursioners.

Do not let the extra distance/ travel put you off, for as soon as you land in male, you are in the hands of Shangri la staff and the Shangri La royal treatment starts. Your bags are taken off you and you are taken to an excellent lounge where you can refresh yourself or if you have a few hours to wait you can choose to take their boat and travel to the Traders resort/ hotel , a 10 min speedboat ride away for Breakfast or lunch or just to get into the holiday mindset - Maldivian weather, crystal clear azure blue waters and pampering that you will continue to expect for the rest of your holiday. The grpund team would accompany you back refreshed onto your short flight over the equator (you get a certificate from the stewardess for crossing the equator!) to Gan airport at Addu atoll, where you are whisked to Shangri la's private airport terminal and a speedboat awaits you for a 10 minute journey through some of the most amazing island scenery into your island paradise. You are then buggied by your own butler/ villa host to your private villa where your bags that you left behind in Male join you again.
The Villas are all large private pool villas with their own entrances and views to the beach ( some rocky and aome sandy) and sea beyond with significant foliage offering privacy from the beach area.There is never anyone in the beach anyway, as most people use the large areas in front if their own villas.
There are Water villas, tree villas, sunset ( atoll facing) and sunrise (ocean facing) villas. Water villas and Sunrise villas are usually always breezy. Tree villas and Water villas are not suitable for families with young children. We took a water villa for my parents who visited for a few days when we were there forbour previous trip over a year ago and they are wonderful for honeymooners and in general for couples for that ideallic "Robinson Crusoe" sensation and to be surrounded by water with resident fish beneath your dwelling.
Delux Beach villas are the highest category - on the beach, slightly bigger than the pool villas and same sized as tree and the normal beach villas.
Personally, that are all mostly the same sizes and I would never fret about which category you have booked -they are all fabulous and if you are unhappy the management do their utmost to make you
Happy with moves when possible.
There is always water and fruits brought to your room every day. The living and bedroom areas have IPhone compatible Bose systems and large screen TVs and DVD players, refrigerators etc. we have a daughter with special dietary needs and anaphylaxis to certain ingredients, and so we carried a lot of her snacks etc with us. This is un- necessary as if you let them know beforehand exactly what the special dietary requirements are - Chef Bryan - the executive chef personally ensures that you or the child is catered for in all ways across the 3 wonderful restaurants and in room service - Certainly during our stay , we would personally like to commend the wonderful effort by Chef Bryan in keeping our daughter happy with her baking sessions, special egg free ice creams and pancakes and meals. A very big thank you to him and his very hard working jaavu and In House dining team !
The 3 restaurants are :
1. Jaavu ( B fast, lunch and dinner) - most picturesque and perhaps largest of the three - also the one with buffets on certain days etc.
2. Dr Ali's -Amazing restaurant and certainly our favourite throughout our stay - caters with an Indian, Arabic, Chinese and Vietnamese menus, with individual chefs and sections for these menus. Overlooking the breezy Indian Ocean side and fabulous service. the staff are a micture of maldivians and Expats under the capable hands of Hassan, one if the F&B Managers and an impressionable local Maldivian. Sanjay , the mitre D is a true asset and reflects the Shangri - la spirit in every way , always caring and fussingnover our children and meeting their near impossible demands at te a ! Well done !
Chef Murari's creations are amazing. He is a slightly shy chef overseeing a significant proportion of the Kitchen, his Indian and Maldivian preparations are divine. Don't miss the Cooking class and follow on lunch that he offers ! Well done. Murari - you are avtrue asset to Dr Alis. 3. Fashala Restaurant - Romantic surroundings almost appears to be sitting on stilts on a peninsular beach with crabs running around the beach that is lit up. We had dinner once and it was a very humid, windless night, so suffered slightly, and preferred the windy/ breezier or choice of air conditioning options of the other two restaurants. The menu is limited - mostly seafood. The management perhaps needs to relook at the ventilation and menu options at this restaurant.

SPA : This is Shangri La's own "chi" spa, excellent therapists in lovely seafront based surroundings. Though we had 2-3 sessions each and thoroughly enjoyed them, I would consider them as being well worth the prices, even though it is at the highest end of the luxury spa marketsand.

GOLF : one of the first Maldivian resorts with a 9 hole golf course - I didn't play this time but was tempting to consider a round - time flies in the resort !

GYM : well equipped and the Indonesian manager - Manaf is always so friendly, supportive and pro- active.

TRAVEL : Excellent new bicycles ( thank heavens for that as the previous ones weren't great). Great to bicycle around the island with the kids with regular stops at the golf course, gym, fish feeding lake , Fashala etc . Buggies are always around at your beck and call - never were late whenever we needed them and the Maldivian drivers are ever so polite .
Off island you can rent a car and explore the Atoll or rent bicycles on the main islands - all linked by a long internal road and can become a full or half day excursion if you like a cultural and local society exploratory day.Always smear yourself with the anti- mosquito creams on a daily basis as this is a tropical island and is prone to its usual load of mozzies. The resort constantly fumigates the island and it helps .

DIVING : You can pick up your own snorkelling gear as soon as you arrive and snorkel at designated places or just off your own beach, there is always something to see. In terms of Diving , this is a divers paradise - A big Thank you to Radomir and his colleagues, I had some fabulous dives on Manta Point where we were exposed to a procession of giant Mantas in their dozens and grey white tipped sharks, the local Admirality british wreck in the Atoll - magical! , La cuppola with its caves and even simply diving off the northern and southern house reefs were amazing with their resident population of giant turtles and amazing multicoloured reef fishes. This is diving that is luxurious - boat crew of 3-4 to help you with anything you need including lavazza expressos after dives, Nitrox, often the entire boat was just for myself and another guest, both of us having one to one dive instructors most of the time taking us down - don't miss it .

MANAGEMENT : What can we say - efficiency, right from the outset . Always courteous, "client is always right", patient and friendly attitude gets the resort full marks as being one if the most guest focussed and effective guest satisfaction gaining resort in the world (we do travel extensively across the continents and we understand and appreciate well trained personnel in high end resorts, There are senior guest managers such as Jessica - who will arrange anything that you need. Considering that this is a small dot in the middle if the Indian Ocean where everything needs to be imported from australia, India or the Middle East, it is amazing as to how responsive the staff can be in procuring things that guests ask for. There is a constantly roving team of senior managers/ Asst Managers who seem to miss very little and are always politely watching interactions from a distance and trouble shooting or nipping things in the bud.
Lastly - the man responsible for this amazing place - Rene Egle -the General Manager. Rene took over from his predecessor Jens appx 18 months ago , and we met him during our previous visit for the very first time just as he was taking over a few days before we were heading back to the UK. At that time he was expressing how challenging it was was going to be to step into Jens shoes (Jens set the resort up from Scratch many years ago and has moved to Tokyo ). As a family, we are delighted to say that Rene - you have accomplished an amazing transformation of the resort over the last 18 months.
Rene has transformed an already well run and excellent resort into perhaps one of the sleekest, most luxurious and exclusive resorts in the world. Well done and keep up the excellent work .

For those readers who are looking to travel :

1. This place is not the cheapest but when compared to the top end resorts across the maldives - you get better and more inclusive value for your money at Shangri la.
2. If you like Eastern style hospitality as opposed to American / Mexican resort style hospitality then this definitely the resort.
3. If you have young children - babies, toddlers or teenagers - do not even think twice, it has everything they need - cool zone ( Rifa and Manu are great with kids) , play areas, teen clubs , extensive programme etc
4. Exclusivity - Large enough to be very private and exclusive in every right .
5. Longer journey than some other resorts (especially those in north male atoll) -however the extra leg adds luxury adventure and the transit time is made to appear as though you have already arrived into Shangri La by the amazing airport ground team and the presence of Shangri La's Traders Hotel near by to the airport.
6. The guests are from all over the world - mostly well heeled, so you are in general in great company - there are exploratory small groups of Chinese families , couples and families from across Europe, the Americas and succesful, well travelled families from the emerging economies too. So conversations across the restaurants or on dive boats, at breakfast or whilst with children are all varies, interesting and adds to the holiday experience overall.

I am aware that there are no major negative points in the review above, but this is to assure readers that during our last visit there really wasn't anything major that the Shangri la team could do to improve upon. We shall be going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear RavBug,

The team and I were blown away by your amazing review which I have proudly shared today with my management team. It was a pleasure meeting you and your (enlarged) family again after two years. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write and share your staying experience in such great detail.

Being ranked by you as the most luxurious and exclusive resorts in the world is a compliment that really put smiles on the faces of the team - we would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for that!

Most importantly, we are happy your children received the service they deserve; we want them to feel as special as they are - in particular Ella! I also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty and we can’t wait to have you back on the island soon in order to create many more unforgettable memories.

Warm regards from Chef Brian and his team, “the impressionable local Maldivian” Hassan, Sanjay, Chef Murari, Manaf, all the buggy drivers, Radomir, Jessica, and all the rest of my team,

Rene D. Egle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent experience; exceeded my expectations! Gorgeous villas where any amenity possible is provided. Phenomenal staff anticipate requests, providing guests best experience. Highly recommended! Definitely going again!

Room Tip: Make sure to have mosquito repellant if taking an Ocean View Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Lana G,

I was extremely happy to see your feedback and that our service and villas exceeded your expectations. It was a great comment to share with my team.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon in our little island for another amazing stay!

With warm regards,

Rene D Egle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

First I would like to thank the Duty Manger John for everything he has done to make our stay memorable, I would Like to also thank Hassan Ibrahim for really going over his way to make us happy. without a doubt one if the best services i have ever experienced in a hotel. They really try their best to make the stay memorable, and the staff is really friendly and helpful. the only issue i can think of is our hosts..other than than it was just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear HSGAZZAZ,

Thank you for your review which I had the pleasure to share with my team.

My colleagues and I really grateful for your great feedback, especially John and Hassan who were very happy to learn that they have made your stay a memorable one!

I look forward welcoming you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Rene D Egle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday with our 9 year old and 6 year old.

From the moment we stepped on the boat to go over to Shangri La island we felt that we were in the hands of professionals. We were greeted by several members of staff with buggies waiting to take us to our Double Beach Villa without having the hassle of checking in at a reception, everything was done very informally at our villa by our very own butler "Iby" It was a welcome change from the majority of the hotels we visit which was greatly appreciated after our 20 hour journey.

We were all given a bicycle to get around this small but MAGNIFICENT island where we visited the immaculate Gym and Spa, the great kids club where the staff greeted our children by their first names without introduction, the 3 wonderful restaurants, the beach, the pool and the whispering palms area for snorkelling. Not to forget the little boutiques, jewellery shops and the pool and snooker room. We felt very safe letting our children explore and have some freedom.

In the evening the whole island is lit by fairy lights and lanterns as you ride around the paths which is absolutely magical.

Our children absolutely loved every moment of this holiday, they saw tropical fish, turtles, sting rays and fed tiny sharks every night before dinner as part of the hotels many free activities.

The BBQ's held on wednesday and saturday nights were sumptuous, giant scampis, fresh tuna, squid, prawns, wagyu beef, kebabs, every salad you can think of and much more. There really was so much choice, sitting under the stars while the local band played well known songs acoustically. Dr Ali's restaurant served some of the best Arabic, Chinese and Indian dishes I have ever tasted and the theme changed nightly.

On one night we went for the beach private BBQ where we were taken to another beach villa lit up by candles and decorated with fresh flowers. The chef gave us many options of a menu, lovely meats and fish which he had marinated and cooked for us, it was definitely an experience we will not forget.

Our double villa included 2 single beds and 1 double for ourselves and our children, had they been a little older and more mature we would have used our 2nd villa for them to sleep in but there was more than enough room for them in ours. Beautiful bathroom with freestanding marble bath and indoor or outdoor shower. The staff supply sun creams, after sun, insect repellent and all the usual toiletries you expect from a 5 star luxury resort.

Our 2nd villa had TV, minibar, sofa and chairs which we treated like our living room.

Not to forget the lovely pool at the foot of our bed with 2 sun loungers emerged and a regular supply of fresh towels every day and night.

Having stayed in Dubai many times we can honestly say the staff at this resort are genuinely happy and are well cared for, the majority live on the neighbouring island which we took the advantage of seeing on one of the hotel trips which also hosts an old British Military base.

We also took the opportunity to see the dolphins which was a lovely afternoon.

All in all, although we like to see the world and try to go somewhere new every year we cannot wait to come back to this resort, the GM here has got it spot on.

Thank you for a lovely 2 weeks, my children say its the best place they have ever been and I am inclined to agree.

Room Tip: The beach villas give you the best of both worlds, great if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Awkeye,

I have shared your great comments with my team and on behalf of all of them I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and complementary review about our resort.

We all were quite touched when you called our resort the best place your children have ever been and I hope they returned home with sparkling eyes and a head full of magical moments that they will remember for a long time to come.

I am delighted to hear you appreciated the various dining experiences, especially in Dr Ali where you tasted the cuisine of our Indian, Egyptian and Chinese Chefs. You couldn’t have given us a better feedback for the Private Beach BBQ as we definitely aim to create unforgettable memories through this unique experience! I am also happy to hear that you took the opportunity to visit the neighboring islands. We are located in the smallest Atoll and our proximity to them is unique in the Maldives. I do hope you had a chance to get an insight into the local culture and I hope you found it interesting.

I really look forward to welcome your family back soon to create new and unforgettable memories!

Thank you once more for this review.


With kind regards,

Rene D. Egle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives

Address: 20189
Location: Maldives > Addu Atoll > Villingili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all-villa resort, Shangri-La's Villingili Resort & Spa, Maldives offers a unique selection of accommodations ranging from private beach retreats and overwater villas to unique tropical tree house villas perched on the tree top canopy. All villas are luxuriously appointed with the best of media and entertainment technology, have spacious sun-decks and patios, and feature private swimming pools or direct access to the turquoise waters of the lagoon for snorkelling among the beautiful coral reefs. Villingili is one of the largest and most vegetated islands in the Maldives, being the venue for the Maldives' only golf course. Guests on the island have many restaurants, bars and lounges to enjoy. Those seeking a more unique experience have private dining available in locations of your choice across the island and even lunch on the equator aboard the resort's 70-foot luxury yacht. Private and blissful CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La promises relaxation with ocean views within a secluded sanctuary. Neighbouring islands are easily accessible and perfect for touring by bicycle, providing a unique and interactive experience with local Maldivians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Villingili Resort And Spa Maldives Hotel Addu Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.