We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous idyllic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20189   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous idyllic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a late review but we stayed here for our honeymoon back in April. We had the water villa at the end of serenity bay- it was such a lovely HUGE room and we loved the decor, bed and amazing bathroom... loved the outdoor shower and big bathtub in the middle of the room. The highlights were
- bicycing around the sandy roads to explore the island
- big rooms with personal butler services
- lovely corals to see in our snorkelling excursion
- saw dolphins on the cruise
- great dinner menu selections at javvu... loved the wagyu beef and also nice attention to decor and small details such as menu light at night
- attentive service and friendly staff
- surprise bubble bath for our last night there
- great activities lined up everyday for couples and families
- late check out to facilitate our plane ride back

possible improvements
- our view was not completely all sea view- we saw the beach and also the huts opposite us at serenity bay... so not as secluded as we would have hoped for
- a bit on pricey side for spa, but expected for typical 5 star hotel
- bed was OK, not the most comfortable
- would have been nice to have sea view for the bathtub as well
- a bit close to next villa

we would love to come again on our anniversary! thank you shang!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    70
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
136
303
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort for our 11th year wedding anniversary. I must say... this was and has been our most cherished vacation of all the places we have visited around the world. We stayed in the beach Villa... it had 2 seperate room/villas (1 bedroom and 1 living room) connected together by a beautiful private deck and included our own luxury pool. We didn't mind that the beach was sharp coral rocks... only added to the beauty of the area... and we still enjoyed taking private walks along the beach, picking up hermit-crabs that were plentiful... it was very fun. This resort feels so secluded from the rest of the world... a tropical island all to yourself. The rooms very spotlessly clean... absolutely immaculate. Everything about this resort is pure luxury. From arrival until departure the friendly and helpful staff will make you feel like royalty. Because the resort is quite spread out, you will be provided with your own cell phone to call your personal resort assistant any time of the day in order to be picked up by a golf-cart to be driven around (to the Spa, to the restaurant, tours, etc.), they also provided us with our own personal bicycles for the week. The snorkeling was amazing... we saw sea turtles, tiger sharks, many colorful fish and stingrays... and all of the snorkel gear is available free of charge at the dive center on the island. We went for the buffet breakfast each morning... and we sat at a table on the beach, watching the beautiful turquoise colored water... feels almost like a dream when I think about it now! We also ordered room service for lunch everyday... it was promptly brought to our villa and set-up in the outdoor dining area beside our private pool. This is an amazing resort, with amazing staff, an amazing spa (I would highly recommend the resort signature massage where they have developed a special technique of using sea shells to gently relax you into a state of bliss!), amazing food selection (I forgot to mention the Indian cooking class we did... making naan bread and curries... it was sooooo fun!), and an amazing vacation that we will never ever forget. Highly recommended! I want to go back ASAP..!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have stayed in three different kinds of villas here!

The beach villa : the most expensive here ! Was very larg clean from inside and outside with privet huge pool BUT don't be fooled by the picture of the direct beach there !! Its not good for swim because there is alot of broken corals and not a full view sea or ocean there`s the water villa on the left and the jetty on the right !! And about jetty be ready with very disturbing voices from boats ! You can imagine youeself in sunset sitting in your terrace relax and chill and suddenly you hear that annoying loud sounds from boets ! Even from the water villas you can hear it EVEN after midnight you will hear it !

Water Villa : was the best here no insects no geckos was so clean and if you decied to be here don`t try to think in any kind of villas here only the water villas.

The Ocean view Villa : No.320 CATASTROPHIC !! needs to be demolished and build it again !! very consumer there is a dirty smells from thr toilts and i think the pipes it was blocked OMG !! No need To build the view of ocean not worth to be in these villas ! alot of trees its not an ocean view villa THE REAL IS its a half view of ocean villa !!!! don`t and ever try to think to be in these villas ! save your money !

The only one excellent here was the kitchen staffs and Chefs they are really did a good job

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Spent a week here and did not want to leave this paradise. Although you need to take another domestic flight, you get a certificate for crossing the Equator and we received complimentary champagne and snacks on arrival and birthday cake on my husband's birthday!

The staff are friendly and generous. I managed to fall off my bike (free hire) and grazed my shin but staff were more than attentive and made sure I was ok on phone and in person.
The view is stunning and you get privacy so you don't have to worry about your neighbouring couples watching you sunbath.

Several trips and free activities around resort. Food prices reasonable and the choice of restaurant/menu offers enough variety for a week's stay.

A thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended destination! Planning my next visit already!

Room Tip: Go for quitter whispering palms. Avoid palm breeze and the waves are strong and rough there! Villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Compare with the other resorts I've been in Maldives, Shangri-La is a very huge island. It could be good or bad, depends on your own preference. If you prefer a little romantic island with small number of villas and offer an intimate feeling, this might not be a destination for you. If you are looking for a larger island to explore, walk into the little "jungle" and visit a small lake / pond, riding a bike around the island, playing tennis (even golf), etc., it might be your choice.

Villa:
We were staying in a water villa located at the Whispering Palms, facing the sunset.
The design of the villa is Luxurious, spacious and very comfortable, with a reasonable sized closet, good enough to place my big luggages.
The bathroom layout is almost perfect, similar size as the bedroom, beautiful bath tub, the only but fatal error is not facing to the sea, which could be a big loss in Maldives.
Saw from other people's review that they do have some villas with bath tub facing the sea, but not sure which room type is it.


Food:
Food is delicious in Javvu and the Chinese section of Dr. Ali's, Don't miss the waygu beef steak in Javvu, the steam whole fish and Vietnamese beef soup in Dr. Ali's. The bread basket served in the breakfast of Javvu is also very nice. The Fashala offers seafood buffet at night sometimes, the chill seafood are so so, but the grill tiger prawns are very good.

Beach:
The main beach is beautiful and wide, but the sea is full of broken corals, we feel very uncomfortable to walk on it.

Spa:
Had two treatments during my stay, the largest spa I've ever visit in Maldives, with private changing room inside the spa villa, the flower bath facing the ocean is gorgeous. The massage technique of the therapists is also very good.

Snorkeling:
I saw some negative reviews and thread in Forum talking about the bad snorkeling in Shangri-La. I do agree it is not a perfect location for watching marine life, but the corals outside Whispering Palms are very healthy and huge, they are definitely the largest I've seen in Maldives.

To conclude,
If Maldives is your once in a life time trip, choose something else.
For us, we love Maldives so much and visit at least 1 to 2 trips a year, take it as a relaxing sun and sea holiday, Shangri-La is more than worth to go.
Thanks God I've got 8 lovely Sunny days in Shangri-La during the rainy season, not even a drop of rain.

Room Tip: Tree House Villas provide the best privacy Avoid the beach villa facing the water villa jetty of W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We’ve stayed at the Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa for 7 nights last September and from start to finish our stay was simply amazing. We stayed in a tree house pool villa which was wonderful with its own private infinity pool a separate living area. The tree-house villa was on stilts so you get really great sea views and it was a fantastic size (around 2,000 sq feet). You also get your own villa host who will look after you during the stay including arranging dinner reservations and excursion etc.

This was our 3rd visit to the Maldives and by far the best yet. The only minor negative point is that in order to get to the resort you have a two hour plane transfer; however, this didn’t bother us too much as the resort more than makes up for the long transfer.
For the whole time we were there, we were treated like royalty by all the resort staff. We could tell that this was a true 5 star resort. We travel extensively and we have stayed many similar 5 star properties in various countries; we found the Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa to have best service that we have ever experienced. Throughout our stay we were always greeted with smiles and always asked what more the resort could do for us to make our stay better. The management of the resort spoke to us regularly to ensure our stay was going well. You are genuinely made to feel like VIPs and treated with respect all the time; I wish all 5 star resorts were more like this.

The resort is quite large and therefore to get around you have to use the buggy service or you can use the free bikes that come with each villa. We used to ride the bikes during the daytime and the buggy service in the evening. Exploring the island on bike was really fun.
The main pool at the resort is large and very nicely designed; although we did not use it much as we split most of our time between the ocean and our own private pool. The service at the beach/pool was also very good. The waiters regularly provided free snacks such as ice creams, sorbets and fruit to keep you refreshed throughout the day.

We tried all of the restaurants at the resort and all of the food was superb. As you would expect there was excellent choice of food and drinks for breakfast such as fresh bread, pastries, fresh juices, a chef to prepare your omelette and plenty of other options. The dinner menus were decent and in comparison to other similar resorts the food wasn’t pretentious. It was always also very easy to order items that were not on the menu if needed. We ate mostly at Dr Ali’s; the Chef at this place was great. He came out and spoke to us and asked us what food we really wanted. He then prepared us a completely off-menu custom 4 course meal for our last night at the resort.

All in all, we were so glad we chose to stay here and we will be back for another visit.

Room Tip: Stay in a tree-house villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Maldives has been our favourite destination since 1994 and we've stayed in various resorts but never have we had such a fantastic experience at a Maldivian island. You are treated as if this is your "once in a lifetime holiday" and it was.
The snorkling (guided for the turtles) and diving was the best we've seen. The dolphin excursion lived up to expectations with dolphins playing, chasing and leading the boat for over an hour...
The spa is quite unique when it comes to treatments - try them all!
The food and wine was clearly well thought through and our sommelier recommended a wine each evening that was spot-on! On my husband's birthday the chef made beef-cheecks - better than the French! We are not able to fault this island, their service, location, beach or the memories...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives

Address: 20189
Location: Maldives > Addu Atoll > Villingili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all-villa resort, Shangri-La's Villingili Resort & Spa, Maldives offers a unique selection of accommodations ranging from private beach retreats and overwater villas to unique tropical tree house villas perched on the tree top canopy. All villas are luxuriously appointed with the best of media and entertainment technology, have spacious sun-decks and patios, and feature private swimming pools or direct access to the turquoise waters of the lagoon for snorkelling among the beautiful coral reefs. Villingili is one of the largest and most vegetated islands in the Maldives, being the venue for the Maldives' only golf course. Guests on the island have many restaurants, bars and lounges to enjoy. Those seeking a more unique experience have private dining available in locations of your choice across the island and even lunch on the equator aboard the resort's 70-foot luxury yacht. Private and blissful CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La promises relaxation with ocean views within a secluded sanctuary. Neighbouring islands are easily accessible and perfect for touring by bicycle, providing a unique and interactive experience with local Maldivians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Villingili Resort And Spa Maldives Hotel Addu Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.