We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alam Sari to your Saves list
Alam Sari
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tromol Pos 03, Tegalalang, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Village Tour
Ranked #3 of 4 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Labuan Island, Malaysia
1 review
“Close to nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Greeted with a warm welcome by the friendly staffs when we first arrived, A nice view when you wake up in the morning to have breakfast while looking at the plants & nature. Feels very homey during my stay there for 3 nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
66
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Alam Sari is a small boutique hill up in the small village of Keliki. The property is beautiful and the rooms are clean and large. We stayed in a family room (Teratai 1 and 2) connected to the villa with our 5 and 2 year old. This property was excellent for young children. Our room was a walk from the pool and the restaurant, which made our sleep quieter, and the kids loved walking through the path to our rooms. We ate at least two meals a day at the restaurant and found the food delicious and reasonably priced. My husband and I got massages at the spa, which were excellent. But the very best part of Alam Sari are the kind people who work there. People were always happy to chat with our kids or help us with anything we needed. Our son turned 6 on our last morning there and the manager arranged for a birthday cake for him! The village tour was an incredible experience and highly recommended--they stop at a painting school and though there is not a "hard sell" by any means, the quality is high and you can buy some beautiful miniature paintings there and support the students at the school. Of special mention is Wayan, who picked us up from our airport hotel, drove us around on a custom tour of the area the entire day the next day, and drove us to the south beaches. Wayan is such a great person who taught us so much about Bali and was so kind to our family. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to anyone interested in learning more about Balinese culture in a beautiful, hospitable, safe, and comfortable environment. The pool had kid approval as well. We look forward to going back and plan to spend more time there.

Room Tip: ask for what you prefer, the people at Alam Sari are happy to find the best place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Alam Sari Keliki is set in beautiful natural lush surrounds and provides a unique Balinese experience. Firstly, the staff are wonderful, very knowledgable and happy to please. Very proud of and passionate about their culture and the environment. The village tour was a wonderful way for me and my children to explore the neighbourhood, get a better understanding of the philosophy behind the resort and to become more educated about Balinese culture. Would recommend doing this. We enjoyed the artist village visit and did not feel under any obligation to purchase, although we did so to support of the children.
My husband had a stone massage at the resort spa and said it was the best he had ever had.
We did notice the owner pass through, so she is obviously very hands on and takes pride in the experience provided by her resort and the staff there.
Although set back in the hills, there is a busy road that runs beneath the resort, and the noise does carry upwards, but this is not something that can be helped and not a huge issue unless you are seeking absolute peace and quiet, which is difficult anywhere near town. Our rooms and bathrooms were very spacious, clean and nicely decorated.
The resort is 10-15 mins out of town but there is a shuttle provided by the staff to and from Ubud central. The shuttle times are a little limiting (twice a day each way) but we worked around this. An extra evening shuttle would be appreciated by guests I'm sure. The food, although good was hit and miss unfortunately, with the exact same meal (special) being delicious one night and not so great the next. Maybe this depends on which staff are on at the time. Having seen the organic garden we would love to have known what meals used more of the home grown produce.
The pool area is lovely and the pool temp just right while we were there. Gorgeous views from here.
My only other suggestion would to be to freshen up some of the soft furnishings (eg. the cushions around the pool are a bit weathered as are the menus on the tables by the pool.
Again, the staff here really are lovely, so helpful and made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel location was 15min drive from Ubud Art market. It is on a hill where we could see a good view of Mt Agung. As expected, the place is very traditional Balinese with wooden furnitures with carvings. I must say that the service provided by the staff (who are also villagers staying nearby) was awesome and dedicated. Even offered to pack breakfast for us when we had to leave for a tour at 6.30am. Breakfast choices were somewhat limited though. Had to choose from a menu of a few choices. Not the buffet you would expect.

Rooms were clean and toilet was huge. As it is at the countryside surrounded by jungles, trees etc, it is normal to see a bug or 2 accompanying you throughout your stay. Wifi wasnt a problem as the staff gave us an account each for loggin in.

Apart from the swimming pool and spa services, there wasnt much to do in the hotel. Thus, make plans before coming to avoid disappointments. There was a free village tour but we didnt try it out. Seems like plenty of good reviews about it.

Overall a great value for money stay, with peace and dedicated service at your disposal! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The village of Ubud has over grown...so, check out this wonderful spot 15 min. away with a free shuttle into Ubud for shopping/art/culture. However, the food is so wonderful at Alam Sari as is the "jungle like view" and wonderful pool, you need never leave.
We spent four days there in April. Now, we lived in Indonesia for 15 years ...and we hadn't been back for 18 years. Here we found the perfect bland of comfort and the old Bali ambiance.
My husband and I took the 3 hour cooking class in the near by village offered through Alam Sari. New or old to Bali it is a must. The owner of the hotel works with the village to help provide employment, and this cooking class is one of a kind...we made five dishes over a wood fed stove. It was so well organized and a highlight of our month in Bali. Next trip it is a week at Alam Sair. They arrange drivers and other trips as well. The rooms are lovely and quiet. Thanks Aprile and your staff for a lovely time. Pat and Marshall Martin Issaquah, Wa, USA

Room Tip: All are good. King beds available. Might like one on the end where we had a private porch facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We chose alam sari for our 3 night stay in Ubud, as we wanted to be out of the craziness of a Ubud town centre. The boutique hotel was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very large and spotlessly clean, it was also nice to have a small terrace to relax in the evenings. Our bathroom was again large, however as all the water is provided by solar power I believe, you did struggle slightly with hot water.

All the staff at the hotel were excellent, friendly, helpful and kind and the grounds are maintained excellently. The inclusive breakfast was substantial and you could opt for Western or Indonesian. We also had lunch and dinner at the hotel and were impressed, the quality was good and prices very reasonable. The pool is also a pleasant place to relax/refresh!

We took advantage of the morning walk provided by the hotel and it really is a must for anyone staying at the hotel, it was great to walk around the hotel gardens and to head out into the local village, we learnt more from the walk in 2 hours than in any guide book.

The only slight downside to the hotel is the noise, if you're a light sleeper you may struggle as the road is audible, and the animals get going early! As the hotel is so relaxed though we found ourselves in bed early so this didn't bother us too much.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place has all the credentials to be a really fantastic location to stay and it gets top marks in many areas but the food and in particular the evening meals are well short of what would be expected for the price.
First the good bits. The rooms are beautiful, clean, tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and fantastic views from the balconies. The guided walk of the village which takes up to three hours is a real highlight and would keep me coming back if we were showing visitors around Bali.
The big negative is the food. Simple dishes that you would expect to be well prepared are well below what would be considered acceptable at this price range. For example a bruschetta was served which really was just a cheese and tomato sandwich, a vegetarian burger with cheese was served with a cheese slice in the accompanying plate, a broccoli cheese dish was some broccoli together with other veg served with (kraft?) cheese sprinkled on top and melted. These are not difficult dishes to prepare and should be easy to get right. The red wine had to be returned as it was undrinkable as was the wine at the table next to us. The eggs for breakfast were raw. However the bread was really nice as were the accompanying jams.
In summary, a few basic culinary changes and this place could be a really top rated accommodation in Ubud.

Room Tip: A room near the pool gives good views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Address: Tromol Pos 03, Tegalalang, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.