We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alam Sari to your Saves list
Alam Sari
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tromol Pos 03, Tegalalang, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall, nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The outside grounds of this hotel are gorgeous and make for a beautiful walk. The staff is friendly, gracious, and helpful. Although the hotel is VERY remote, with pretty much nothing around, the staff makes an effort to be very accommodating.

Positives:
-Free ride to and from Ubud at THREE specific times every day.
-Lush, picturesque grounds
-Quick service (room service, driving service)
-Breakfast is included, and it is a nice one (it does not go above and beyond as compared to other hotel's breakfasts, but it is adequate). To their credit, it seems as though they have made the effort to make the breakfasts more filling since many reviewers complained about a "thin" meal in earlier evaluations. Breakfast options are the same every day. Choose either:
orange or apple juice
"Western" style eggs (scrambled, fried, etc.) and croissant OR "Balinese" style egg (over-easy) over fried rice or noodles.
fruit bowl or fruit bowl with yogurt
coffee or tea (all you can drink)
-They have a restaurant with plenty of options, if you do not want to get a ride to a nearby town to eat, but the prices are very inflated, especially for the quality/quantity of food (i.e., about $6-9 for a plate, not including drinks).

Negatives:
-Despite it's remote distance from other areas, it can be pretty noisy: roosters, dogs, and motorists on the adjacent road, once you get used to them, become a steady background "white noise"
-Our room, the Alamanda, was the bedroom on the most southern part of the facility, I believe. There was some sort of generator behind the wall that turned on (LOUDLY) about every 10 minutes at all hours. This generator was more distracting and disruptive to our sleep than the chorus of roosters, dogs, and motors.
-On the outside, everything is well-maintained and clean, but the inside of our room and bathroom definitely showed its age: patches on walls, water stains on ceilings, cheap repair jobs on bathroom tile, uncovered, stark, fluorescent lights in the bathrooms. Although the bedroom and bathroom are very roomy, they could really use an update....really.
-They replace old towels with "clean" ones, but some of these towels have small stains. Eew.
-Think you want to take a dip in the jacuzzi? Think again. After a loooooonnngg walk through the villages, my husband and I walked all over the hotel trying to find the jacuzzi to sooth our muscles (it was not next to the pool as one would expect). When we asked an employee, he said we have to reserve it ahead of time and pay HOURLY. What????

Overall, it was nice, but not extremely impressive. Would I come back? Hmmm.....I would rather shop around first now that I know better; this hotel would likely not be a first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    50
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
58
66
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As others have said, the people at Alam Sari are what makes it so special: incredibly welcoming, caring (the service really is something else) and inspirational (you can't help but be touched by the tour of Kiliki village). The setting is a piece of tranquility (motorbikes are a fact of S.E.Asian life!) only 20 minutes from Ubud and all it offers, with lovely rice paddy views between you and it. Breakfast is fantastic: a real spread of fruit, eggs, juices, coffee etc and the food generally is varied and interesting. And the pool's just great to come back to after day trips away. Just go!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the master room villa for 5 days for our honeymoon. The whole experience is great!! The staffs are super friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. They offer convenient shuttle to Ubud three times a day. I highly recommend the cooking class. For about $50, you got learn how to cook about 8 dishes with Dewa and his wife. My husband and I totally enjoyed our stay at Alam Sari!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent 7 nights at Alam Sari's villa based on our wonderful first time experience last July. I agree with Chrismarge and other excellent reviews on this site that it is really like family there - the staff are so welcoming and open up their homes and lives to you so that you can experience a Balinese village and their traditions, cultures, and way of life. I am trying to figure out how I can make an annual trip to Alam Sari! The concept of Alam Sari is brilliant -- created with eco-friendly standards and thoughtfulness of how to contribute and live in harmony with the local village, quite different from what I would imagine would be your experience at a mega beach resort. It is comfortable and a destination in itself (so it did not bother me that Ubud was a 20 minute car ride). We used Alam Sari as a base and spent a number of days traveling with Putu (our driver/guide/friend) around the island to visit temples, villages, shops, and different restaurants. We came with our good friends to relax and get away from work, we left with many friends -- including two guests who took day trips and shared meals with us! Not sure how you can complain about breakfast -- must be people who eat a lot -- we had fresh croissants, bread, eggs, noodles, rice, and delicious fresh fruit juices. And what other hotel waiter would give you presents when you leave?

Room Tip: If you can travel with friends and family, choose the villa!! We spent many hours relaxing in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Alam Sari "family" ,once again,greeted us with genuine pleasure.
This somewhat remote (7 kms) eco-friendly place commands outstanding views across the river gorge towards Mt. Agung.
Rooms are simply furnished and well maintained and include garden bathrooms and terrace.
A daily special complements the menu at the open-sided restaurant and lunch served by
the stunningly situated pool is arelaxing experience.
But above all , it is the friendliness of the staff(mostly drawn from the neighbouring village
of Keliki) that keeps us coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Service at this hotel is excellent, and it's a good value! I travelled alone but met wonderful people at the hotel and stayed 4 nights there. The village tour is a must-see (and it's free). Dewa is an excellent guide and driver. There are several reasonably priced tours offered by the hotel, too. Don't need a car because hotel shuttle will drop you off in Ubud and renting a driver is cheap.

The staff is very friendly, looks after you, and makes you feel like you're staying with family. The breakfast was very filling and tasty. I would recommend this hotel for solo, couples, and family. The views of the mountains and rice paddies from the rooms are beautiful. There is a loud road below the property, but if you get a room set further back, it's not a problem. My room was actually closer to the road, and I had no problems sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in Bali. It could not have been better. Wonderful staff, good food, great views, very clean, comfortable and attractive rooms..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Address: Tromol Pos 03, Tegalalang, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.