We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as excellent as before!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarinbuana Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sarinbuana Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Jalan Arjuna Br. Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan, Bali 82162, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“as excellent as before!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

or maybe even more excellent ... i don't know if the menu has changed. but the food tasted more delicious than i could remember.
it took me 2 1/2 years to return to this wonderful place. and find it very satisfying that the quality level remains so high. for sure this isn't an easy thing considering the remote location and the climate.
so all my compliments for linda, norm and the sweet staff!

Room Tip: ask for rumah manis
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda v, Owner at Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
hey, thank you - legendary review, we've still got it :) dont make it so long next time... XLinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
111
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Firstly, I can't thank the staff and Linda for such a relaxing, peaceful time.
Sarinbuana is everything about Bali I love, it is very traditional, the local community are all involved. Linda and Norm have done an outstanding job to help the local people protect their island. If you are interested in protecting Bali Linda and Norm have many projects that you can help if you really love Bali.
If you want 5 five star this may not be for you. However this is 5 star because it respects the local culture, environment and if Bali loses this type of accommodation it would be a tragedy.
The food at Sarinbuana is prepared traditionally with so much thought. Also, it has a modern touch with lovely organic salads and yummy deserts.
The climate is a nice change from the humid lower areas. There are so many more things I could say about how great Sarinbuana is.
We can't wait to return.
Bronwyn, Brian and Joan October 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda v, Owner at Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much, we love & appreciate guests who get what we are doing here. Dont forget & help to protect the wonderful wildlife you have in Aussie, many European guests are frightened to see a frog, moth or harmless spider as they never see these anymore... x Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was lucky to stay here a little while ago and can't rate it more highly.

Linda and Norm were the best hosts that you could ask for, you can tell immediately that they are absolutely passionate about this slice of paradise they have chosen to make their home and they transfer this deep love for the area onto their guests.

The lodges are all beautifully unique and blend perfectly into this peaceful environment, as soon as you walk through the front gate you feel immediately relaxed.

The grounds are immaculate and the water is managed to such a high standard that i didn't have any problems with insects. I didn't take part in any of the excursions but i did have a daily massage and it was wonderful.

I ate in the restaurant every day and ordered my food in the morning knowing that it would then picked straight from the garden. I'd go back again just for the food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda v, Owner at Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Nice! Thank you, love to see you again xx Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent a week in the Orchid Bungalow which has amazing views over the jungle treetops and a beautiful outdoor shower. The room is perfectly laid out and cool all day. The staff are wonderful, friendly and speak very good English so communicating any of your desires is made easy. We had two massages each and ate in the restaurant every day, every night of the week they have a different 'special' so you get a wonderful choice of Balinese dishes as well as the usual European staples.

Being in the jungle means you may find the odd spider in your room but none are poisonous or biting spiders and the staff are happy to safely remove them if it concerns you. I will recommend this Eco Lodge to everybody I know.

Room Tip: The tree-house has two levels to fit larger groups or families but we stayed in the Orchid Bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda v, Owner at Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you!, hope to see you again someday1 x Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this secluded retreat for three nights in late August.

The surroundings and ambiance of the resort offer a great calming retreat from the hustle and bustle of the seaside resorts of Bali.

We stayed in the Rumah Manis Bungalow. Although all of the accommodation is relatively secluded, this room is easily the most remote. The room looks out over down the valley over uninterrupted jungle as far as the eye can see. The large porch on the front is a great place to sit and experience the calming view.

Although the price could seem high, you really are getting what you pay for. Food is extra, however the meals are absolutely superb. The quality of every dish was had during our stay was outstanding, and I'm actually sorry that I didn't get to try everything on the menu. The relaxed service suits the setting perfectly, and meals are ordered the day before to allow them to be prepared and ready for you when you come up the following day.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and can arrange some great tours around the area.

I would recommend a stay here. The three nights we spent were enough to enjoy the resort, however I think a longer stay would have allowed us to explore the area and enjoy the rest the resort has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our stay at Sainbuana was the highlight of our holiday. The rooms are just beautiful and the hospitality of staff was outstanding. We were made to feel so welcome and the food was delicious! The kids loved roaming around the property, looking at the monkeys, fish, turtles, guinea pigs and rabbits while the adults thoroughly enjoyed kicking back, having massages and taking a cooking class. Brilliant!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda v, Owner at Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks so much Jody - we enjoyed having you all here - bringing Australia to our doorstep!
All the best and love to all - how are the goats? x Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just returned home from Bali and five days at Sarinbuana. We are a family of four, two being young children (ages 6 and 8), and we all loved it! Our time in Bali spent at Sarinbuana was the perfect vacation for us. I read one review here on Tripadvisor from a parent of young children who said Sarinbuana was NOT a good place for kids. We (our kids specifically) disagree! In fact, they were both very sad to leave and have both said that they are very "homesick" for the ecolodge. I attribute this mostly to the incredible staff (though our girls also love nature and hiking), who truly embraced our girls. We did "pay extra" (but really, the cost of the activities was NOT expensive) for activities for the girls: cooking class, ceremony dress-up workshop, and table decoration workshop. The staff leading them were fabulous and friendly in all of them. We also went on the 3 hour rain forest trek with Wayan. Like all of the other staff and workshop leaders at Sarinbuana, Wayan went out of his way to interact with the girls on the hike, showing them some vines to swing on in the forest and making them "eye glasses" out of vines and hats out of leaves and flowers. The morning of our departure, the staff that were present gave our girls big hugs and told them they would miss them. We did meet another family there with a daughter around the same age, and the three girls had much fun together and we enjoyed talking with the parents.

The food was the best we had in Bali (and again, I don't think it was expensive at all) and we wouldn't have wanted to eat anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda v, Owner at Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you!, we all missed you when you left - it was lovely to have your girls running around and truly enjoying the lodge. Children having a nature based experience is a very good thing indeed!
All the best x Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarinbuana Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarinbuana Eco Lodge

Address: Jalan Arjuna Br. Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan, Bali 82162, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarinbuana Eco lodge is the pioneer of Eco Tourism in Bali. This internationally Award winning Eco Lodge, offers you a retreat into nature. With 5 uniquely hand crafted bungalows set in tropical organic gardens, amazing mountain & forested valley views. Surrounded by fruit, trees coffee, cocoa, vanilla & rice paddy's. Delicious Organic local Balinese, Raw food & Western dishes sourced from our gardens, workshops with our local villagers, Mountain, Rainforest, Temple, Rice paddy and "food forest" walks, fresh mountain water pools. Enjoy a massage or take a cooking class. Perfect for Nature loving: Couples, Families, Solo travelers, Honeymooners, group retreats & for all those who would like to be a part of this vibrant traditional culture, while treading lightly on the earth. Winner of the Wildforest award 2013, 2007 & 2010 Wild Asia Eco Lodge of the year Award, and 2 time nominee for the Virgin Sustainable Tourism Award - Best accommodation for a community category. Sarinbuana Eco Lodge has lead the way in developing Sustainable Eco Tourism in Bali, pioneering social and environmental programs that have set new standards for viable, responsible & hotel management in Bali. Our recent consultancy projects are: Bali Eco beach house, Loola Bintan Island, Fresh Bali, Sumber Sari Eco Villas & Bali Eco Stay. New Retreat Bamboo bale for workshops, groups and yoga space. Daily Yoga classes at 7am & 5pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sarinbuana Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarinbuana Eco Hotel Tabanan
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge Bali/Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.