We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel & staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WakaGangga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WakaGangga to your Saves list
WakaGangga
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Pantai Yeh Gangga, Desa Sudimara, Tabanan, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tabanan
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place was an amazing discovery, if you are looking for a 5 stars service with an affordable price this is your wish come true place. The villa was beautiful and very cosy, the views are breathtaking, it s best weekend gateway place. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful.
Thank you Ni wayan for your help and hospitality. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely 2 night stay at Waka Gangga - friendly and helpful staff, well designed villas and value for money food and beverage options.

A surf school, ATV rental and horse riding stables are just around the corner - and the coast has great sunsets.
perfect for a 2-3 night break

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Karan K,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are pleased to note that your two night stay with us was pleasant and enjoyable and that you found our Waka Bar & Restaurant's menu offered good value. Yeh Gangga Beach fronting the resorts is becoming increasingly popular for surfing with its rolling waves and colourful Balinese sunsets.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. We are looking forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga.

Thank you.

With kind regards

Sincerely yours,

Kamal K Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at WakaGangga in 2010 for a night for a friend's wedding and was impressed with the location, less the rooms.

We returned in 2015 and it seems that the management has improved the service and room quality tremendously. Rooms were now extremely clean and a renovation 2 years ago seems to have reenergized the location.

Location: Tucked away in a quiet and serene location, WakaGangga is THE perfect place to have the much desired rest. Nothing much to do in the surrounding area, just a place to chill and meditate.

Resort: Having undergone recent renovations, the resort has villas that are well spaced apart, ensuring quiet rest. We stayed in the garden villa with a huge bathroom and a bedroom that relaxes the senses.

There is a little villa outside our room with a daybed perfect for chilling out and the best thing? A dedicated LAN port. Somehow this resort is suited for work away from the office with speedy internet access and modern amenities set in an idyllic island setting.

The proximity to the sea provides a perfect soundtrack to our stay as well.

Food: The food is pretty average. The service though is a cut above the usual Balinese standards with the staff making us totally comfortable throughout our stay.

Pool: Our villa did not have a pool so we used the one for all the guests. Although refreshing, the waters were pretty dirty (since most guests used their own room pool) with lots of insects on the surface. Perhaps we should have upgraded our room to one with a pool.

Activities: Nothing much to do and horse riding and other activities took a day to confirm. We did take the free shuttle to Tanah Lot though and I regretted doing so as there was way too many tourists there with lots of peddlers. Better to stay at the resort.

I spent 9 days at 3 hotels for this trip and WakaGangga is by far the best of the lot. Most recommended.

Room Tip: Get the villas with pools if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. 2074BC

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are delighted to note that your return stay with us after the resort's renovations has been comfortable and generally all services and facilities offered were to your entire satisfaction.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding improvement required in the food quality and the main swimming pool's cleanliness. Please rest assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of the concerned team members.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. We are looking forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga.

Thank you.

With kind regards

Sincerely yours,


Kamal K Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spend 5 nights at this hotel and it was really great. From the time we entered we feel welcome.
The bungalow with pool and view over the ocean and great sunset is amazing.
At the beach it is not allowed to swim but you can have really good walks there.
The best at this hotel is the stuff!!! Thank you very much for your smiling all the time and for the great conversations. It doesn't metter who you meat at the resort and even the locals at the beach everybody will have a smile for you.
The restaurant is really amazing and the have a great cook. Everything is fresh and taste very good. Nice is also the included afternoon tea. I need to say again that the stuff is amazing!!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mrs. Simone0706

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your family vacation with us in an ocean view villa with pool. Your appreciation of warm and friendly service will be shared with all our team members who made your holiday unforgettable.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. We are looking forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga.

Thank you.
With kind regards
Sincerely yours,

Kamal K Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we renewed our wedding vows here, it was the perfect place, what a beautiful place to stay, words could not explain how nice wakaganna was.
All the staff were so helpful and they couldn`t do enough for you, they were so friendly and the chef (putu) was a amazing cook
A BIG THANK YOU

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mrs. tinahandley,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are delighted to note that you found WakaGangga to be perfect for renewal of your wedding vows and all services and facilities offered by the resort were to your entire satisfaction.

Your appreciation of good quality of food has been shared with our chef Putu Yudana.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. We are looking forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga.

Thank you.
With kind regards
Sincerely yours,

Kamal K Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waka Ganga is truly a small piece of paradise in a natural setting.

The hotel is located by the sea, in an isolated area for tourists and offers all the desired tranquility.

The main pool is situated under palm trees, offering a magnificent view of the waves and the beach of black sand. The restaurant overlooks the beach and offers a perfect view of the sunset in the evening. Your stay includes a hearty breakfast and the best I have had in Bali, as well as an "afternoon tea" served with small cakes. The restaurant also proposes an affordable "à la carte" menu with daily suggestions. The complex also has a gym room which looked great and a spa, which gave a great massage to my friend.

We opted for the bungalow with pool and views sea (n°104) and we were not disappointed ! The pavilion, which was recently renovated, is magnificent as illustrated by the many photos left by visitors. The main room has a huge and very comfortable bed, a desk and a sofa and is tastefully decorated in woody tones. A dressing room is located on the left and has two separate areas for each guest, as well as a safe. It gives access to a huge bathroom with granite bath, shower, two sinks, as well as an outdoor area with shower. The garden includes a swimming pool with water heated by the sun at the perfect temperature, a small pavilion with a table, two chairs and a bed, and a view of the sea. It is to also possible to hear the sound of waves.

The wifi connection was really good in my room, as well as in the whole resort.

The staff is itself extremely polite and helpful and will do everything to meet your expectations and give you the feeling of being special. We were offered a walk through the rice fields and the transport to the temple of Tanah Lot. Everybody is polite and enquiries about you to be sure your stay reaches perfection.

My stay was unfortunately shortened for medical reasons, but the hotel staff has always been able to do its best : They drove me to the hospital in the middle of the night, they daily inquired of my condition and they organized a taxi at the last minute for the airport and offered me to refund the last two nights that were not honored !

The best hotel I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Room 104 offers a great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. Z0rglub,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your vacation with us and all services and facilities offered by the resorts were to your entire satisfaction.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. Myself and my team look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You know that feeling of disappointment you feel when you arrive at a place and instead of being fabulous it looks nothing like the photos on the web and it’s all just a bit horrible? Well that’s not going to happen at WakaGangga. The photos all reflect EXACTLY what the place looks like, except it’s even more beautiful because you can hear the waves and peace and quiet and just soak up the absolute tranquillity.

After living in Jakarta for 7 months we really wanted a Christmas break that would be quiet and relaxing. We had never heard of WakaGangga but close to Christmas accommodation was hard to find and the photos looked nice so we went for it. We are so glad we did. My husband, 6 year old son and I spent a perfect 4 days and 4 nights in an ocean view villa with private pool. It was so quiet. We weren’t disturbed at all, and we spent all out time sitting on the deck or in the pool – all in the privacy of our own villa.

We usually like more active holidays, but we just loved 4 days of being pampered. The day spa is wonderful, as is the restaurant, and both are really modestly priced. The staff were attentive and the service really was second to none. Most importantly, at least 2 hours from Kuta and the party scene (if you like the party scene, this is not for you)

On Christmas Eve there was a special Balinese dance recital which was fantastic.

This is not generally a place I would take children, as there is not much for them to do and if there are more than one they tend to be louder and may disturb the other guests. But if you’ve only got one child who is fairly quiet and whose idea of a perfect is to spend 24 hours a day in the pool, then it’s good.

We made the mistake of leaving the resort only once – we went to Tahah Lot at Sunset. To be honest, it was depressing and a waste of time. Such a beautiful sight ruined by a million hawkers, loads of rubbish strewn everywhere and just too many people. Combine that with the rabid dogs roaming the place and we should have just stayed put.

I would really recommend this for a romantic getaway for couples.

Thank you WakaGangga, for the best Christmas we have ever had. We will be back. In fact we have already booked 4 nights in July.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. LilyInIndon,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at WakaGangga over Christmas in December 2014.

We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed a quiet and relaxing family vacation with us and appreciated the resort's tranquil beachfront setting and facilities of your villa with a private swimming pool.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. We are looking forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga in July 2015.
Thank you.

With kind regards,

Kamal K Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WakaGangga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WakaGangga

Address: Jl. Pantai Yeh Gangga, Desa Sudimara, Tabanan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — WakaGangga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali's newest beachfront boutique resort presents first class villa accommodation, facilities and international cuisine. Located at Gangga Beach, Tabanan, on the west coast of the island, 35kms or one and a half hour's drive from the airport, the resort has just 27 villas- 15 with private swimming pools, set within their own private garden courtyards. Each villa's unique circular architecture, affords natural vistas of the surrounding ocean, emerald green rice fields and the mountains. Spacious bathrooms feature a walk-in closet, separate stalls for WC and shower, double vanity counter, a hand crafted terrazzo bathtub and an outdoor shower in the walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your WakaGangga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Gangga Hotel Tabanan
Waka Gangga Tabanan
WakaGangga Bali/Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WakaGangga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.