We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WakaGangga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added WakaGangga to your Saves list
WakaGangga
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Yeh Gangga, Desa Sudimara, Tabanan, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tabanan
wellington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exotic secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Waka Gangga 2 weeks ago as a couple with our son. As we approached through the surrounding rice padi fields we were greeted first by the stunning architecture of the restaurant wing as we drove up and were further impressed by the impeccable welcome we received.The staff could not have been more accommodating and our villa was exceptional both in space and design. We loved having our own pool, sea view and front lawn, all behind a closed door for privacy. The public areas were well designed and the gardens beautiful, the ocean lapping onto the beach in front.We walked on the beach and enjoyed the coastal atmosphere. The spa was a welcome addition and our restaurant experience was second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed many of their exquisitely prepared offerings which were both very fresh and attractively presented. The restaurant staff were amazingly friendly and helpful as well as being very knowledgable on the surrounding area as many were local themselves. We spent three very happy days here without leaving the property.The only drawback was that the beach, although beautiful is unsafe for swimming but the pools made up for that.

Room Tip: ocean view villas are best, we stayed in # 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. / Mrs. sognoCortona,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding the architecture of the resort, private swimming pool in the villa, beach, spa and the restaurant. We are happy to note that you and your family had a good time during your stay at the resort.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. We look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you and your family to the resort in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing hotel located directly on the beach with black sand. Unfortunately it's not allowed to swim as the wave are huge. Therefore I would recommend to book a villa with swimming pool. You have a perfect secrecy and the villa are big.
Fantastic stay. The service of the Spa is not at the level of the hotel and restaurant.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Natandaymerico

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are pleased to note that all services and facilities offered were to your entire satisfaction.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. Myself and my team look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to the resort in the near future.

With kind regards

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Super friendly staff that is curious to know about habits of there guest. Really nice villas with enough (in room and outdoor) space nice pool and great quality bed linen. We were told not to swim in the ocean as currents are strong. When u go for a beach walk on this black sand beach head right for aprox 30min to look at a cave with hundreds of bats dangling from the rocks. Easy to find as it is the end of this beach and you will hear the noise from the bats.
Free Transport to Tanah lot is offered - you just need to contact the front desk.
The reasonable priced restaurant has great food but only a limited number of dishes so I do not recommend staying more than 3 nights to avoid eating the same over and over again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. JP Stern,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are pleased to note that you particularly enjoyed the resort’s remote beach front location and found all services and facilities offered were to your entire satisfaction. We also thank you for your feedback regarding the food selection at Waka Bar & Restaurant was limited for stays longer than 3 days. We are pleased to inform you that now our Chef has introduced daily specials for dinner, in addition to the a la carte menu with choices from Continental, Indonesian and Asian cuisines.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. We look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to the resort in the near future.

With kind regards

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

A cliché I know but this hotel is the bees knees. Doesn't look very inspiring from the outside but when you walk into reception and then see the rooms - wow! Luxury personified with a mega bathroom, bedroom and outside shower. Grounds are lovingly tended and slope down to the sea - you are even provided with a container of water to rinse the sand off when you come back! The staff were absolutely lovely, the massage great and the food couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs Jan R,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at WakaGangga.

I am pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the design of the villa, landscape and quality of food and spa met your expectations.

Once again, thank you for having stayed with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to WakaGangga in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August- and our entire stay was just amazing. We didn't plan to stay here- it was last minute booking- and we never regret about it. Staff here is incredibly friendly and doing everything to make your stay memorable. Our room (villa with a pool) was very nice, new and comfortable-we really loved the setting and design.
What we really enjoy about this place- that its hidden and secluded from the crowd & party people- you can fully relax, listen to the ocean and enjoy the real beauty of Bali. We walked by the beach every evening- enjoying the sunset and dark velvet sand.

Food was also lovely, afternoon tea added a cute touch to our experience.

I will recommend this place to the travelers who want to take a break from "loud party places" and just enjoy the beauty of nature. Perfect place for couples-very romantic and beautiful.

Thank you for making our stay great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer at WakaGangga, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Anuzya R,

Thank you for sharing your valuable time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at WakaGangga in August, 2014.

We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday during your stay with us and that the secluded location, nature that surrounds the resort, villa, food and all services offered were to your entire satisfaction.

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. Myself and my team look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We have a last minute booking done for this hotel during the early October period. After looking through the Tripadvisor reviews, we thought that this hotel could be a promising candidate for a relaxed and quiet short getaway. We arrived at Denpasar Airport close to midnight. A new airport, however it took us one hour to clear the Visa on Arrrival application and the Immigration ( Mind you, it is a two different counters, one that you paid for the visa, another for immigration clearing). After a long queque with some unruly behaviours of queque jumping among certain groups of visitors, we were tired. To our elation, we were greeted by the hotel representative. We were brought to WakaGangga after a hour drive through dark and rural streets - this is what I would have expected for a idlic and quiet getaway holiday. Upon arriving, friendly staff showed up and we were shown the pool Villa, we were happy that thr staff did not insist on us going through the check in process as it was late but was asked to do it the next morning.

When we woke up the next morning, WOW ! It was spectacular. I know we have booked a pool villa in a beach resort, but the setting and view was still astonishingly beautiful. A good day aside ( blue sky with breezy seaside), the pool villa is just amazing in terms of deco and environment. Although there was an ongoing construction beside my villa, we could only hear minor disturbances ( the only downside was that privacy at our pool was little bit spoilt as the pool is not shielded from the construction activities).

The premise is right beside the sea and the beach is literally in front of ghr door step. It is a very quiet premise. The restaurant has a eco theme and sits directly facing the breezy sea. The breakfast is good though variety is limited.

The staff, well, is one of the friendliest I have ever experienced after visiting many places in Asia. From thr front desk, restaurant, housekeepers to the gardening staff, all were with constant friendly smiles.

The only thing to improve is that preparing guests for the public pool in the premise. When we moved into thr deck chair beside the pool, no one came to us for providing towels and help open up the sun shade despite there were a few staff nearby. It took us quite sometime to open up the sun shade and the staff were slow to bring the towels ( after I went up the premise asking for it).

We spent two full days onsite without any excursion outside, as it was truly relaxing and enjoyable to remain in that beautiful setting ( I am resisting to call it a paradise yet)

This is one of a very few vacations where we felt really sad to leave. WakaGangga is a gem and a truly relaxed and friendly resort in a spectacular environment. The sunset at the beach is mesmerising and unforgettable.

Last but not least, Balinese people are so friendly and helpful that everywhere we went we felt so welcoming. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer of Waka Hotels and Resorts at WakaGangga, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Mr/ Mrs JCBenney

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are delighted to read your wonderful comments about WakaGangga and great to know that you enjoyed the villa, restaurant, the colourful sunsets and the friendliness of our team.

We regret to note that there was an issue regarding the privacy of the private swimming pool in the villa due to its location which is close to the Waka Residence construction site and that you are not satisfied with the service on the main swimming pool. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I would like to assure you that your comments will be thoroughly investigated and necessary actions taken to ensure that there are no similar recurrences in the future

We thank you for having chosen WakaGangga. Myself and my team look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to the resort in the near future.

With kind regards

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this resort with our family (2+2boys 14+16). Although the driver was quite challenged to find the resort as its still quite new we enjoyed the location a bit away from the crowdy area of Kuta and Seminyak. Locationwise you also have to be aware that depending on the season you can enjoy the beach but not swimming in the ocean due to the high waves and strong currents.
The resort itself pays back for that with a very nice pool; even better if you are able to book a pool villa with your private pool.
The villas are unique, lots of space, all amenities, very large bathroom with outdoor shower, simply wonderful.
Food was very delicious, reasonably priced and you have a very nice view over the ocean from the restaurant.
Location is also nice for excursions to the lesser known west of Bali!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer of Waka Hotels and Resorts at WakaGangga, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Mr Frank,

Thank you for choosing WakaGangga for your family vacation and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding all aspects of our resort and we are glad to note that our services and facilities have met your expectations and that you also enjoy our WakaLandCruise excursion.

We thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WakaGangga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WakaGangga

Address: Jalan Pantai Yeh Gangga, Desa Sudimara, Tabanan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — WakaGangga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali's newest beachfront boutique resort presents first class villa accommodation, facilities and international cuisine. Located at Gangga Beach, Tabanan, on the west coast of the island, 35kms or one and a half hour's drive from the airport, the resort has just 27 villas- 15 with private swimming pools, set within their own private garden courtyards. Each villa's unique circular architecture, affords natural vistas of the surrounding ocean, emerald green rice fields and the mountains. Spacious bathrooms feature a walk-in closet, separate stalls for WC and shower, double vanity counter, a hand crafted terrazzo bathtub and an outdoor shower in the walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your WakaGangga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Gangga Hotel Tabanan
Waka Gangga Tabanan
WakaGangga Bali/Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WakaGangga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.