We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Soul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows to your Saves list
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows
Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7th Night Free*
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for the Soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to recharge your batteries, do some soul searching and relax away from the madding crowds of Kuta, this is the place for you. The food is great, much of it from the resort's own gardens, the kitchen spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and efficient. The rooms are rustic and are open to the incredibly beautiful surroundings, so if you don't like getting close to nature it probably isn't for you. Having said that, the resort supplies natural insect repellant, citronella candles, incense and mosquito nets all free of charge. But because of the continuously moving water in the picturesque, terraced rice padis, and spectacular waterfall on the property, along with the abundance of beautiful birds and frogs, there are very few mosquitoes to deal with. I loved my time at Bali Eco stay (BES): there were plenty of activities available (wood carving, canang making and so much more) and beautiful walks to do, but equally I could relax in the lounge with one of the many good books available in the library or just take in the ever-changing amazing views from my room or any part of the resort. Try a massage in the open air pavilion overlooking the jungle. You will really relax. BES is good for the soul!! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
76
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I was attending a yoga retreat a couple of weeks ago and found Bali Eco Stay to be the most perfect piece of paradise on earth. We stayed in bungalows with running water and rice fields all around and I was amazed that there were no mosquitos at night ,especially as we did not use the nets provided at all. Tiny insect eating bats can eat up to 1000 mossies a night as well as frogs who do their best to gobble up the larvae of those pesky little bugs.The rooms have natural repellant and neem insence sticks for use but we needed neither .The rooms were authentic ,clean and very comfortable, and the staff extremely accommodating to every whim and fancy. To be living only for a week in that rainforest/rice field environment ,so natural and in balance was an inspiration and a priviledge. The food we ate was superb ,the peaceful ambience healing. John and Cath (the co- owners) alongside Agung and Mini ,have a rare gift to share with the world ,so go see for yourself ,you will love it. I have been home for a week and come only dream of bali eco stay now until I return again. Shelley

Room Tip: Inspected all the rooms and each had its own original touches in design and décor, as well as uniqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I was recently here for a yoga retreat. The yoga was great but the venue was not quite the standard I expected for the price we paid. Make sure you bring your insect repellent, there are Mosquitos everywhere and the rooms are not screened so there is no escaping them. With Dengue fever a very real concern in Bali the rooms should be screened.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstone55, Owner at Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Unfortunately we cannot satisfy the entire accommodation market. Our aim is to provide an opportunity for our guests to comfortably connect with nature. Screening our open rooms would deprive guests of this opportunity.

We should point out that you are the first guest since we opened 3.5 years ago to have a problem with mosquito's at Bali Eco Stay.

On our five acre property much energy is put into locating and preventing potential mosquito habitat, however it is very difficult to also do this on our neighboring land. An extended wet season has provided mosquito's with increased survival opportunities (we do not live in an insecticidally controlled environment like Noosaville).

When one encounters such conditions, we recommend you utilize the provided Neem incense sticks, citronella candles and personal insect repellent provided in all bungalows.

The most sensible thing is to cover up with light clothing; in the evenings of course all sleeping areas have natural cotton mosquito nets.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your yoga experience at Bali Eco Stay, we certainly enjoyed hosting your wonderful group, you were a lot of fun.

Warm Regards,

John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Since we have loved ecostays in other countries, we decided to give Bali Eco Stay a try. One month into our honeymoon, we hadn't yet had a chance to do any Bali research, and this seemed like a great opportunity to relax as we learned about Balinese culture...

It truly surpassed all our expectations. It was hands-down our favorite hotel in our two month trip in Southeast Asia. The rooms are beautifully built, open-air in the jungle, the food is amazing, the scenery is unbeatable and the people are some of the nicest you'll ever meet.

We highly recommend the amazing (and so cheap!) massage overlooking the rice padis and short trek to the beautiful waterfalls nearby. We were also lucky enough to witness a special ceremony for a local 3 month old baby while we were there. It's a short 10-15 minute walk into the village and the people were so warm and inviting. We would recommend Bali Eco Stay to anyone!

Room Tip: We loved the Buddha room! Nothing better than being lulled to sleep by the sound of a babbling brook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed in the beautiful "buddah' bunglow, just above the rushing stream. Surrounded by rice water ponds the home of lotus flower and gold fish, this place felt like a 'Garden of Eden".
I spent my days there nestled on giant boulders immersed in the flowing spring waters. Cleansing, rejuvenating and connecting.
All the food is grown in the flourishing permaculture gardens and cooked with a delicate knowhow by the locals. There's a thoughtful and entertaining range of books in the library and likeminded hosts who make you feel welcome and wanted.
And did I mention the majestic view to the ocean from the dining area or the waterfall...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Harvest Bungalow, nothing could be faulted. The bungalow overlooked the tiered rice paddies and beautiful mountain scenery. Everything has been thought of to make your stay an enjoyable experience. The tranquility and peacefulness is just what you need to recharge your batteries. The restaurant served beautiful fresh food. As this is a small property it is great to chat to other guests when in the restaurant. The staff can not be faulted all so helpful and accommodating. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Absolutely magnificent place! We really felt sorry that we booked it only for two days and we wanted to stay more. The bungalows are amazing, in the middle of organic rice paddies surrounded by a beautiful forest.

Very beautiful design in the bungalows, with all you need to spend hours overlooking the majestic views. Tranquillity and serenity!

The small waterfall and the natural small pond is out of this world. The walks in the forest an absolute mast and the activities provided extremely rewarding!

The food is also very good (one of the best we had in Bali) and the natural juices are the perfect companion after a long walk.

Staff is fantastic and makes you to feel at home.

I want also to commend the owners for their very good sustainability measures both on the environmental and social aspect. One of few places that they deserve to call themselves "eco". I do wish to the owners to continue extending their sustainability measures and be an example!

Highly recommended adn we'll go back for sure the next time we are in Bali!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Address: Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Eco Stay, for those who would like to escape to a rich local culture, with stunning organic rice fields & spectacular views, mountain fed streams and cascading waterfall. Three uniquely crafted private bungalows set in paradise. Nourishing and sumptuous organic meals.This is a place for you to… Unwind… Get Inspired… Be Rejuvenated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.