We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace at last ... Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows to your Saves list
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows
Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7th Night Free*
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Peace at last ... Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you are looking for a place to recharge or just to get some rest out of your busy and noisy life, here you are.
The scenery is beautiful , the bungalow is like a dream house , the staff very friendly and the overall experience refreshing.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
76
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Why even bother with the often disappointing, overdeveloped Bali coastline? Instead give it a miss and head straight to Bali Eco Stay in the hills - this is the Bali tropical paradise you always imagined - your own native hut (constructed from local natural materials) in a beautiful, pristine, sustainable, jungle haven. No man-made swimming pool here - a clear freshwater stream (stunning waterfall with adjoining natural swimming hole included) runs through the resort - its water so pure you can see every rock on the riverbed. No "Bali belly" here either - food, including organic rice, is grown on the resort (to be fashioned into delicious restaurant dishes) and the more-than-drinkable, super fresh tap water comes from a local spring. Bali Eco stay is based on sustainability and non-exploitation principles meaning the local people benefit from the resort and are genuinely as pleased to meet tourists like you as you are to meet them. No visitor to Bali should miss an opportunity to stay at Bali Eco Stay - and doing so won't break your budget either!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Bali Eco stay was by far the best place we stayed in Bali. Besides the beautiful rooms that are hard to ever leave, besides the food that left me licking my plate, besides the many activities you can choose from, the Eco stay taught us about perma-culture and about being stewards of our community and the world. It was one of most memorable places we have ever stayed in, all over the world.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Firstly, apologies for the delay in writing this review. My family and I stayed here in September 2013 for my Mum's 60th. There were 14 of us in total, and as such we had exclusive use of the place and got to experience all of the bungalows (which were all amazing!) Bali Eco Stay was definitely the highlight of our family holiday, and I cannot fault it any way. It is an absolutely stunning location, and such a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Seminyak. We spent 4 nights here and spent our days going for walks, swimming in the waterfalls + creek, playing board games & snooker in the downstairs game room, getting massages and we even got the visit the local school. We also took the opportunity to do a couple of the activities on offer (wood carving and flute-making) which were both fantastic.
The food was beautiful - so fresh and delicious. Admittedly, ordering a meal ahead (e.g. you need to order lunch at breakfast time, dinner at lunchtime and so on) took a little getting used to, but was certainly not a big issue. On our last night, John organised a Balinese banquet for Mum's birthday which was amazing and such a special ending to our visit there. It involved yummy food, live music and at the end of the night John lit a paper lantern which floated away up in the sky. It was quite magical.
Overall, every single member of my family (ranging from 13-63 years of age) loved Bali Eco Stay and we will forever have such great memories of this place. Highly highly recommended.
Finally, I must also acknowledge the eco-credentials of this place. It was very refreshing to find a place so strongly committed to sustainable tourism.
Special thanks to John, and the staff, who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humpty Doo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My two sons and I stayed in the ricewater bungalow which was perfect for us, very clean, amazing open bathroom and spectacular views across rice paddies down the valley to the sea. The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful and arranged some fantastic activities for us including woodcarving and hindu offering making. Kakek (Grandfather) and another young man came from the local village to teach the boys traditional woodcarving techniques and spent all day between them working on some amazing carvings. We went on beautiful walks with new sights and vistas around every corner, and spent a morning swimming in the small waterfall with pristine spring water. The food here is amazingly fresh and tasty, with an incredible chocolate cake desert that defies description! There is also a great selection of excellent books at the restaurant and very comfy seats to kick back in and have a good read. The Eco Stay organised a driver to collect us from the airport and also to drive us to our next destination which was a great service that we would definitely use again. We had such a good time that we are booking another visit later in the year, and this time for a bit longer .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We couldn't believe we found such a marvelous place, where sustainability, "green living," and permaculture concepts are all being applied. Here is a way to the future, and we hope many more hotels will adopt this concept. The food was extraordinary; swimming in the creek was unbelievable, and from the massage in the outdoor hut, to Kedek's guiding us through the rice paddies, we had an unbelievable time. We cannot recommend this enough, and should we ever get back to Bali,, we will head for the hills to this place, right away!

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows is a magical place. We stayed in spring water, which is right next to the cree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Price
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in Harvest which is the biggest bungalow and was perfect for our family of 4. The grounds were beautiful, and after recent rains, the waterfall was raging which was an amazing sight. The food was delicious with lovely fresh salads. The owner and staff were very friendly also. We enjoyed watching the squirrel who lived outside our bungalow build a nest up in the coconut palm. We also had fun catching fireflies with the kids at night. The hot stone massage was great. One small criticism we had was that the sheets felt damp when we got into bed at night. I really don't think there is any solution to this as the bungalow is open and with the wet season it probably near 100% humidity. Another criticism was the cost of a day trip at 800,000rupiah for 6 hours. Elsewhere we had been paying 500,000 rupiah for whole day trips up to 10 hours. Unfortunately I read the outdated guide in the restaurant and thought it was only 600,000 rupiah so was a bit disappointed that it was as much as it was. Also, I would suggest that the owners make it clear that the costing for activities is an hourly rate. When we booked our son in for wood carving we were shocked to find the final charge to be 450,000 rupiah for a 2 hour lesson, although the staff member happily obliged when we complained and reduced the price to 300,000. However we did love the place and would recommend it for anyone who loves nature. We loved the restaurant including its gorgeous views over the rice paddies and with its wide range of books. You have done well to create such a beautiful piece of paradise in an out of the way part of Bali. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstone55, Owner at Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your input and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yes, unfortunately at this time of year the sheets can be a little damp but as you probably noticed once you jump in after about 5 minutes they dry due to your body heat warming them up !
Your son spent over 3 hours working on his wood carving project with Kadek. Thanks to your feedback, we will now charge kids under 16 years,150,000 IDR for a 2 hour session.
800, 000 IDR is too much to pay for a 6 hour trip, however you requested and prepaid a full day tour (12 hours) prior to your departure (which is why you were charged 800,000 IDR). When you paid your account, we were unaware you were going to later decide to reduce this day tour to 6 hours.
We do charge a little more for our transfers because the last 30 minutes traveling in to, and first 30 out of Bali Eco Stay are over a very challenging road which is notorious for killing cars.
Thanks so much for your tips regarding tropical fruit trees. ( ROLLINIA DELICIOSA )
All the best and we hope to see you all again one day.
Warm regards,
John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Address: Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Eco Stay, for those who would like to escape to a rich local culture, with stunning organic rice fields & spectacular views, mountain fed streams and cascading waterfall. Three uniquely crafted private bungalows set in paradise. Nourishing and sumptuous organic meals.This is a place for you to… Unwind… Get Inspired… Be Rejuvenated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.