We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Balinese Retreat for a time of reflection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows to your Saves list
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows
Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7th Night Free*
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A Balinese Retreat for a time of reflection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Little Padi overlooks a view that captivates both mind and spirit. We came to experience and learn what sustainable and eco friendly accommodation can represent. Where you are eating the food that is grown and prepared on your doorstep. Where the water used is recycled back to the gardens and our accommodation was self ventilated which diminishes the need for appliances and additional power usage.Eco friendly and locally made organic toiletries were refreshing too. Bali Eco stay is uniquely situated within a village surrounded by rice paddies, glorious nature, the mountain and a view to the ocean. Your senses are invigorated by the pureness of the water, the delicious and healthy meals Mini and her staff serve, the massages, cooking lessons and village life. The impression these make stay with you long after you arrive home to our western and busy lifestyle. We take back home with us a deeper appreciation of a kinder and more peaceful way of living and hope to bring this into our own lives here at home. We thank every one at Bali Eco Stay and will return again very soon. Namaste

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
76
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
the netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staying at remote Bali Eco Stay was a dream come true. Little Padi Bungalow with it's unforgettable view, waterfalls nearby, comfort and serenity well worth the bumpy detour! Balinese rural life going on as it did for centuries; lovely walks, stillness, rice paddies, natural beauty, swims, all one needs.
Hospitality, care and food very good, staff very friendly. We recommend it highly.
Willem and Annelied- Netherlands

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently spent four nights at Bali Eco Stay on the slopes of Mt Batukaru. This small and sustainable Eco retreat offers fantastic views across rice paddies down the slopes of the mountain and to the ocean in the distance. Accommodation is in open Balinese bungalows which are homely and comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing afternoons in our open living area and could not get enough of the views and the lush tropical landscape.

Be aware that this is a different style of five star accommodation. There is no airconditioning or mini bar and the narrow walkways can be steep and slippery in the humid climate. There is no pool but a lovely swimming hole that forms part of the river used to water the rice fields. And when you turn the lights on at night you will attract insects. Mosquito nets on beds are provided. Also be aware that while there is a lovely breeze which keeps you comfortable in your bungalow, outdoor activities will get you sweaty and wet and it takes a long time to dry your clothes. So pack accordingly. You can get your clothes washed and dried, though.

What is missing is terms of Western "creature comforts" is easily made up for by the serenity and beauty of the environment and the hospitality of your hosts. Right from my first inquiry via email we felt well taken care of. Transport from our other hotel on the North Coast was easy and it is recommended to use Bali Eco Stays drivers as the roads leading up to it are very steep and washed out by rain. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Mini, one of the owners and also the head chef of Kupe Kupe restaurant, and after quickly checking into the beautiful Rice Water bungalow we enjoyed lunch at the restaurant. Mini and her staff are excellent cooks and most of the food you eat is organic and grown on the property. The fiddle tip (fern) spring rolls with feta cheese and peanut sauce were a terrific example of modern wholesome fusion cuisine. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal and every heavenly smoothie or healthy juice drink at Kupe Kupe, and if you are willing to pay a bit more, wine and other alcoholic drinks are also available. They make a great gin and tonic. You normally pre-order your meals in the morning or evening since the restaurant is small. And again, the view from the restaurant is nothing but spectacular. Truly an experience, even if it rains. We were there at the start of the rainy season.

We did a great walk on the property up the mountain and back through the rice fields as well as a mountain bike trip down to the ocean which was great fun. Bali Eco Stay offers a plethora of activities from bushwalking to crafts and cooking classes. What is great about them is that they are run by the local community in Kinciana Village and your money helps to run a sustainable and environmentally friendly tourism and community development project. Our guide, Alit, was really friendly and explained a lot of details about Balinese culture and everyday life. He also shared our concern about the often unsustainable tourism that you encounter in other parts of Bali. To us it seemed that the partnership between Mini and Agung as local owners and John and Cath Blundstone originating from Australia is a viable and more sustainable alternative that helps sustain local communities while offering an Eco-friendly and welcoming experience. We would love to come back and definitely recommend Bali Eco Stay to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lovely place - very private - beautiful gardens- food - walks- the family are so lovely. I can't wait to go back. The drive up there is a bit hairy but this adds to the whole wonderful experience. Perfect for families- couples - or groups of friends. The local school is just a short walk as are waterfalls & other small villages.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent about 4 nights in the largest bungalow here. The accommodation was impressive and we appreciated all of the extra space to relax in.
The strengths of Bali Eco Stay are definitely the food, people & surrounds. Mini's kitchen served the best food I have had all trip. It was so delightful and I really made an effort to try and get through all local dishes on the menu and it's all amazing.
The people here are all beautiful & friendly.
All in all I strongly recommend Eco Stay. Just be aware if you are a city dweller like me, the night sounds may initially come as a shock to you, I assume this is especially the case during the wet season. Having said this, it is something you will easily adjust too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I must recommend Bali Ecostay. The time and effort put into this unique site resulted in a fantastic stay. Thanks so much to John, cath, mini and the whole crew for making us so welcome and serving some lovely food. The local walks and views are amazing and well worth the journey. We were picked up and dropped off making it so easy to access and all the more relaxing.
We stayed in the Harvest bungalow and loved the extra space and style of building. Just great.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

When you visit somewhere so beautiful, peaceful and absorbing it's pretty hard to write a review that does not come across a little corny. I'll merely endorse the previous 113 reviews and add that John and family, the delightful Balinese people and this amazing place on earth should be very high on the list of places you must visit. Truly amazing does not come close. And the food in the restaurant is magnificent.

Room Tip: All beautifully designed and not a single aspect I could find fault with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows

Address: Kemetug, Kanciana | Desa Gunung Salak, Tabanan, Bali 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Eco Stay, for those who would like to escape to a rich local culture, with stunning organic rice fields & spectacular views, mountain fed streams and cascading waterfall. Three uniquely crafted private bungalows set in paradise. Nourishing and sumptuous organic meals.This is a place for you to… Unwind… Get Inspired… Be Rejuvenated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.